Re: HELP - B the C PMPS-67, +6.5-77, +11-263

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: HELP - B the C PMPS-67, +1-52, +2.5-85, +3-142

Libby is going to go to bed now that B is at 142 and she asked me to keep an eye on you all. Why don't you give her one hour from the last test to the next? She might come back down in a bit but this might also be the start of a bounce. We have a little breathing room for you to both take an hours break.

PMPS (+12.5) ~ 70
+1 ~ 52 fed LC
+1.5 ~ 40 syrup
+2 ~ 34 syrup
+2.5 ~ 85
+3: 142
 
Re: HELP - B the C PMPS-67, +1-52, +2.5-85, +3-142

PMPS (+12.5) ~ 70
+1 ~ 52 fed LC
+1.5 ~ 40 syrup
+2 ~ 34 syrup
+2.5 ~ 85
+3 ~ 142

That's better! You can probably wait an hour to test again. That test will give you a hint as to whether this number is syrup-induced, or the beginning of a bounce. I would get a +4 and +5 for sure. If by +5 she is really zooming (like 300s, or maybe high 200s) then you can probably sleep, but if she's still surfing you might want to watch her for longer than that.

I'm going to bed soon, but Sienne and Marje are around and will check on you.

Now, I would be hoping (?) that this= syrup + 0.75AM shot wearing off + 0.5PM shot not bringing her down as fast as she's going up.

Almost. When you're studying a Lantus spreadsheet, you have to learn to look at the patterns as "waves" of action rather than a cycle or two at a time. You're looking at 2-3 days worth of numbers at a time. Because of the insulin depot (which can be both a friend and a foe), there's kind of a delayed reaction with anything you do. The easiest way to think of it is to think that even though you only gave 0.5u tonight, really tonight's cycle is a 0.75u cycle because that was what she got this morning. Tonight might be a little more gentle than if you had shot the full 0.75u, but for the most part it is a 0.75u cycle. That is why we usually recommend stalling for a too-low preshot rather than shooting a reduced dose, because shooting a reduced dose really doesn't work very well in THIS cycle.

So, even though tonight was a little hairy, the 0.5u dose will probably be ok going forward. Of course B can change the rules on us at any time. ;-)
 
Re: HELP - B the C PMPS-67, +2.5-85, +3-142, +3.5-131

+3.5-131

again in 1/2 hour...

is there a point where it is safe to go to hourly testing?
 
Re: HELP - B the C PMPS-67, +2.5-85, +3-142, +3.5-131

Did you see mine and Libby's posts about waiting an hour?

I'd feed her a little LC and give her an hour now, ok? Ill be looking for your number.

PMPS (+12.5) ~ 70
+1 ~ 52 fed LC
+1.5 ~ 40 syrup
+2 ~ 34 syrup
+2.5 ~ 85
+3 ~ 142
+3.5 - 131
 
Re: HELP - B the C PMPS-67, +2.5-85, +3-142, +3.5-131

Thanks, Libby -- for all your help, and for making sure I have support moving forward. I send you sweeping waves of deep gratitude...and the same to Sienne and Marje for hanging in.

You guys are tremendously amazing!

I am an idiot and missed the second page of posts for a bit (duh!). Thus the 3.5 test. Will go to hourly...but starting after +4, so we can be on a comparative schedule. You are right -- B and I could both use the break. :)

UPDATE: I realized that the comparison isn't going to be terribly useful anyhow -- not like we can view this as a regular cycle. So will retest at +4.5. Back then!
 
Re: HELP - B the C PMPS-67, +2.5-85, +3-142, +3.5-131

No worries....I did the same thing at first :lol: I figured that was what happened and I was about to PM you.

That's fine if you want to check her at +4 to get her on an hourly test schedule.

See you soon. Sienne might have gone to bed, too. I'm the night watch :lol: :lol: and our other colleague, Carl, is also roaming around LL :-D
 
Re: HELP - B the C PMPS-67, +2.5-85, +3-142, +3.5-131

Yes, I'm roaming! I've been watching and enjoying reading all of the terrific advice from Marje, Sienne and Libby. I learn a ton every day here. :-D

I can stick around for 2-3 hours anyway, and I'll be roaming the room.

Carl
 
Re: HELP - B the C PMPS-67, +2.5-85, +3-142, +3.5-131

Carl....too late on Gracie not seeing your post about Gus. angry(2)_cat angry(2)_cat angry(2)_cat :lol:

It takes a family to deal with FD and that's what we are!
 
Re: HELP - B the C PMPS-67, +2.5-85, +3-142, +3.5-131

Uh, oh..... Now I'm doomed! I might even get the "stink-eye" for that one, lol.
 
Re: HELP - B the C PMPS-67, +2.5-85, +3-142, +3.5-131

Since I know that they are very hard to "earn", that's enough to make me feel special!

the +4.5 should be here shortly...

Carl
 
Re: HELP - B the C PMPS-67, +2.5-85, +3.5-131, +4.5-97

Thanks Marje -- and Carl, for being there!

We are back down to 97 (5.4, for my brain) for +4.5. Although that's not super far off what I would be expecting if this were "normal". Hourly tests still okay? Or back to half hourly?

If there's a level at which you think I should be giving her syrup, let me know...

While I definitely have wished this had played out a little less close to the wire (and appreciate we could still get there, although am hopeful), I have to say what Carl said -- I have learned a tonne tonight -- already!

And I just got a negative test for ketones -- yay! -- and the least glucose that has ever showed up on a urine strip. Scary progress, yes, but progress definitely. :smile:
 
Re: HELP - B the C PMPS-67, +2.5-85, +3.5-131, +4.5-97

The negative on the ketones is very good news!

I think you're good on once an hour. It does look like the syrup is long gone, and maybe another spoon of LC would be good?
Let's see what Marje thinks though.

Carl
 
Re: HELP - B the C PMPS-67, +2.5-85, +3.5-131, +4.5-97

Great news on the ketone test!!

If you think you can get her to eat, I'd give her a couple tsp of some 6-8% carb food. I don't like to use syrup or honey unless they are really low. She's getting towards mid cycle so lets see if some LC will flatten her out.

Although she is coming up mid cycle, she dropped 40 in an hour so I'd feed and test in 30 mins. Carl and I will be here. :-D

Good job! And is your name kotek?

PMPS (+12.5) ~ 70
+1 ~ 52 fed LC
+1.5 ~ 40 syrup
+2 ~ 34 syrup
+2.5 ~ 85
+3 ~ 142
+3.5 - 131
+4.5: 97
 
Re: HELP - B the C PMPS-67, +2.5-85, +3.5-131, +5-81

Sorry for the delay -- I was getting B to eat some of her regular food. I think it's around the carbs you say, although it's currently mixed with a/d which might bump it up a little...?

So here we are:

PMPS (+12.5) ~ 70
+1 ~ 52 fed LC
+1.5 ~ 40 syrup
+2 ~ 34 syrup
+2.5 ~ 85
+3 ~ 142
+3.5 - 131
+4.5: 97
+5: 81 fed LC

Yes, kotek! :)

Going to give the civilian her subQs, then test again...BRB.
 
Re: HELP - B the C PMPS-67, +2.5-85, +3.5-131, +4.5-97

Holding steady!

PMPS (+12.5) ~ 70
+1 ~ 52 fed LC
+1.5 ~ 40 syrup
+2 ~ 34 syrup
+2.5 ~ 85
+3 ~ 142
+3.5 - 131
+4.5: 97
+5: 81 fed LC
+5.5-81

And a question: if she doesn't bounce from this, that's kind of good? Hopefully that would mean we could get her closer to regulated, as opposed to another 36 hours of 400s. She's clearly been feeling *great* today compared to what she has been...

Yes, already thinking about the AM shot...and hoping it's not too scary...
 
Re: HELP - B the C PMPS-67, +2.5-85, +3.5-131, +5.5-81

Steady is good. I'd go for another tsp of LC to keep B there for a while longer.

Carl
 
Re: HELP - B the C PMPS-67, +2.5-85, +3.5-131, +5.5-81

How is she doing in terms of food...has she had more than you normally feed her or less? I don't want to underfeed her....so if she hasn't had enough to eat, you can give her some more of her LC food (a/d is high in carbs). So why don't you feed her and test in one hour?
 
Re: HELP - B the C PMPS-67, +2.5-85, +3.5-131, +5.5-81

Will give it a try...she's kind of had food available all along -- sorry if that's more chaotic than it should be. I'd say she's eaten maybe about what she would have, maybe a little less.

She's been on half evo/half a/d since her DKA, and I haven't wanted to drift her off until she's reliably better because (I was saying this before but am assuming you haven't memorized every detail of this thread :smile: ) that she is a very conservative eater, and not at all food motivated. She eats what she's used to, when she's hungry. The end. (And sugary things, if you turn your back on doughnuts or brownies or, say, rum cupcakes. And apparently she will usefully lick up corn syrup.) It took weeks to switch her to canned food, starting with tiny specks. Our civilian S the C came over and gobbled up all the high-carb canned while B wouldn't touch it.

Right now she isn't very interested in eating, but I will keep trying over the next bit...
 
Re: HELP - B the C PMPS-67, +2.5-85, +3.5-131, +5.5-81

And a question: if she doesn't bounce from this, that's kind of good? Hopefully that would mean we could get her closer to regulated, as opposed to another 36 hours of 400s. She's clearly been feeling *great* today compared to what she has been...

Yes, already thinking about the AM shot...and hoping it's not too scary...

Just saw your question. YES, if she doesn't bounce from this, that would be fantastic!
Don't know if anyone has said this already, but - one of the most important things you can do every day is what we call the WCR. The Whole Cat Report. Tell us how she's acting, how she's feeling. Note the "Five P's" which would be
Purring
Preening
Peeing
Pooping
Playing
As a cat starts to feel better, and becomes more regulated, you'll notice they play more, groom themselves more, pee less and poop regularly. They'll start playing or otherwise showing they feel better by jumping, running, things they did all the time before diabetes. Those are all visible indications that tell you that things are improving, even when you don't see the "proof" on the meter.

Carl
 
Re: HELP - B the C PMPS-67, +2.5-85, +3.5-131, +5.5-81

Yes I did read through the entire condo to see she is a conservative eater and the part about the sugared donuts cracked me up :-D I'm glad she's feeling well.

We all hate bounces BUT they are normal. They tell you the liver is doing its job. So ignore the bounce numbers as much as you can and focus on the nonbouncing numbers.

I'm going to be here another 30 mins then leave you in the very capable hands of Carl. Jane should be on in a while, too, and she can help you as well.
 
Re: HELP - B the C PMPS-67, +2.5-85, +6.5: 77

Didn't really eat, but still holding steady:

PMPS (+12.5) ~ 70
+1 ~ 52 fed LC
+1.5 ~ 40 syrup
+2 ~ 34 syrup
+2.5 ~ 85
+3 ~ 142
+3.5 - 131
+4.5: 97
+5: 81 fed LC
+5.5: 81
+6.5: 77 fed LC

Thanks for your WCR insight, Carl. She has been feeling better over the past few days despite her BG in the 400s. It's subtle, but she's slowly moving a bit more, peeing less. I am waiting for purrs...it has been too long. :( But it all gives me great hope as to what being regulated on Lantus might allow us! :)

Guessing I should still keep an hourly watch, especially since Libby was suspecting she had a late nadir...
 
Re: HELP - B the C PMPS-67, +2.5-85, +3.5-131, +6.5-77

I would keep testing.

I'm headed for a quick nap so I get up with Gracie tonight. You are doing great and Carl is awesome.

Have a great night.
 
Re: HELP - B the C PMPS-67, +2.5-85, +3.5-131, +6.5-77

Thank you for everything -- have a good nap! Good luck with Gracie.

I will keep posting. If things get into the 3s or 2s, I will be watching closely...2s might inspire some syrup...
 
Re: HELP - B the C PMPS-67, +2.5-85, +3.5-131, +6.5-77

Good that she's holding steady. She's having a super cycle once you got past the scary 30s!
With the tsp of LC, you should be good for one hour before the next poke.

I should be up for that test, and I've asked Jane to take a peek once she's had her coffee and caught up.

Carl
 
Re: HELP - B the C PMPS-67, +2.5-85, +3.5-131, +6.5-77

Hi everyone, Jane checking in :mrgreen:

Woke up at 5am this morning and couldn't fall back asleep, so my 2 giant mugs of coffee havent' even *touched* me yet :lol: But I thought I'd check in.

Hugs
Jane
 
Re: HELP - B the C PMPS-67, +6.5-77, +7.5-103

Hi Jane! Good morning, and thank you for checking on us!

Thanks Carl -- hope you can get some sleep!

Going in the up direction for +7.5:

PMPS (+12.5) ~ 70
+1 ~ 52 fed LC
+1.5 ~ 40 syrup
+2 ~ 34 syrup
+2.5 ~ 85
+3 ~ 142
+3.5 - 131
+4.5: 97
+5: 81 fed LC
+5.5: 81
+6.5: 77 fed LC
+7.5:103 fed LC (well..."ate") :smile:
 
Re: HELP - B the C PMPS-67, +6.5-77, +7.5-103

Perfect:-) I see some sleep in your not-too-distant future. :smile:

Carl
 
Re: HELP - B the C PMPS-67, +6.5-77, +7.5-103

Mmmmmm, sleep...

Yes, let us hope we arrive at that place! :-D
 
Re: HELP - B the C PMPS-67, +2.5-85, +3.5-131, +6.5-77

kotek said:
If things get into the 3s or 2s, I will be watching closely...2s might inspire some syrup...

For those using US (mg/dL) BG numbers:

3's = 70 - 54
2's = 53 - 36


Kotek, that's a nice BG you just got. I agree with Carl, some sleep is a deinite possibility. How would you feel about re-testing in 1.5 hours? You could get some shut-eye in between...

By the way, I'm intrigued by your name, where is it from?

Jane
 
Re: HELP - B the C PMPS-67, +6.5-77, +7.5-103

Let's meet half way...I'll wait 1.5 hours. That will get me back on a good testing schedule, and make my adrenalin satisfied. ;-)

Thank you for the US conversions...the different number systems are still hurting my head!

Oops, just saw your last question. kotek is "little cat" in polish, and has been my internet name for...an embarassingly long time... :oops: like before AOL long ;-)
 
Re: HELP - B the C PMPS-67, +6.5-77, +7.5-103

Good instincts. I mis-typed earlier, I meant 1.5h, so I changd it. I apparently do *not* do well on very little sleep anymore :lol:

I *love* the meaning of Kotek! What a great name :smile:

Jane
 
Re: HELP - B the C PMPS-67, +6.5-77, +9-176

Still going up...

PMPS (+12.5) ~ 70
+1 ~ 52 fed LC
+1.5 ~ 40 syrup
+2 ~ 34 syrup
+2.5 ~ 85
+3 ~ 142
+3.5 - 131
+4.5: 97
+5: 81 fed LC
+5.5: 81
+6.5: 77 fed LC
+7.5:103 fed LC
+9: 176

Hopefully not too high for the AMPS...but I think I might be able to have a 2 hour sleep??

Thanks, kotek definitely seems a good fit for here (and I have always liked the way it sounds)! It feels a bit odd to be internet-nym-y with folks around here, especially given I'm about ready to put many of you in my will ;-) ...but once you start out that way, it doesn't make sense to switch...and it's very familiar and comforting to me anyways. :)
 
Re: HELP - B the C PMPS-67, +6.5-77, +9-176

It's alright, Kotek - the higher numbers are just a bounce off the 30s, it's not a problem. We just ignore them, knowing they will pass.

Yes, you should be fine to sleep until (+11) now :smile:

GREAT job!
Jane
 
Re: HELP - B the C PMPS-67, +6.5-77, +9-176

It's my pleasure :smile:

I may not be on anymore in 2 hours, but I will let some folks know to look for you if I can't stay online, ok?

Get some rest! :mrgreen:

Jane
 
Re: HELP - B the C PMPS-67, +6.5-77, +9-176

No worries -- thank you for letting me know. It was wonderful to "meet" you!

Have a great day! :-D
 
Still up:

PMPS (+12.5) ~ 70
+1 ~ 52 fed LC
+1.5 ~ 40 syrup
+2 ~ 34 syrup
+2.5 ~ 85
+3 ~ 142
+3.5 - 131
+4.5: 97
+5: 81 fed LC
+5.5: 81
+6.5: 77 fed LC
+7.5:103 fed LC
+9: 176
+11:263

And at least we can predict an easy PMPS -- hopefully no need for agonizing!

Bit more sleep first...
 
have a nice nap. Well earned. :smile:

This is probably the start of a bounce. Hopefully it won't be as bad as the last one, since you did give insulin last night. Usually the bounces will get lower and shorter as time goes along. Since B is not a brand new diabetic and may have had some bounciness "trained" into her by the Caninsulin, we'll have to wait and see whether she wants to be a quick learner or take her time. With my own cats, I had one of each. Jazzy was flaaaaaaaaaat almost from day 1, while Lucy bounced until right before she went OTJ. Jazzy was a lot easier to deal with, but Lucy developed quite a fan club thanks to her dramatic "Lucy Show" that played here almost every night. You never knew what she would do.

Off to work but I'll try to check in later. Good job last night!
 
I am going to create a new post for today, but to complete the circle:

MPS (+12.5) ~ 70
+1 ~ 52 fed LC
+1.5 ~ 40 syrup
+2 ~ 34 syrup
+2.5 ~ 85
+3 ~ 142
+3.5 - 131
+4.5: 97
+5: 81 fed LC
+5.5: 81
+6.5: 77 fed LC
+7.5:103 fed LC
+9: 176
+11:263
+12:317

Bit scary there in the beginning, but we got through it -- and, in the end, in a strange way, it really helped me to know that I could shoot at a low level, and that even if things dipped they could be managed...at least, they could with diligence and boatloads of generous support from you fabulous people.

I learned a lot last night. And having spent so many nights up alone worrying, it was such a different and better feeling to go through it with you there. Thank you to each of you, from the very bottom of my heart. :smile:

Okay, new post now, and I need to get some more sleep!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top