Re: HELP - B the C AMPS-418 +2-275 +11-65
Thanks so much for your wisdom...and the encouragement. It has been an exhausting couple of months, as she had two crashes in a row with only about a week of really good time in between. It feels like it has been all kitty all the time, and while I love her more than the moon, the strain is starting to show. :sad:
I've read the dealing with low numbers post a few times now (thanks Libby!). I am seeing more and more clearly that this is part of me getting into the Lantus head space, and that I have to learn to shoot her far lower than I would have previously (i.e. on caninsulin), because that is the whole point. You'll see she came in at 4.0 (72) at +10. I have been staring at the chart and if it's not too early to draw any conclusions she seems to start really rising at about +14-+15...which seems not too far off from when she is dropping from a new dose.
Spoke to my vet (I called this morning about the ketones and she asked for an update later, so sent her the BG chart) and, particularly knowing my need to get all this on a more reliable schedule, she suggests that if B is still low at shot time I reduce to 0.5, still shoot her on time, and keep a close eye on her. This seems pretty much aligned with what Libby is suggesting, so seems like a good plan.
I was going to write "if she is still dropping I will reconsider", but just did my +11 test and of -- of course! -- she is a little lower at 65! Well, I will cross my fingers that she will come back up for +12...or at least stay steady? Will report back. But if this happens I will stall just until she starts to rise...that seems like a good compromise.
Incidentally, where does the wisdom lie on the test-over-test consistency of glucometers? I have done two tests about 2 minutes apart and gotten different readings...so how do we reliably know if going down is really going down, or if it could actually be going up, when the difference is small like in this case -- between 72 and 65?
I haven't been able to get another ketone test, because apparently she hasn't had to urinate since this morning...? I have been noticing this over the past few days...makes me wonder if the Lantus is working on some levels already. In any case, I absolutely agree that having had a trace ketones reading I am strongly disinclined to skip the shot.