Re: 9/5 Smokey PMPS 256, +1 236

Status
Not open for further replies.

SmokeyD

Member Since 2011
So, I've been feeding Smokey half a can of FF classic and half a can of FF kitten (supposed to be 0-0.5% carb) at every feeding. Yesterday, he decided he didn't like it. He didn't eat much during the day. I tested is BG at +10 and it was 192- historically low for that late in his cycle. I added some hot water to his food and offered it to him- he sniffed like he was hungry and walked away. I got out new food- a half can of FF classic and he wolfed it down. So, last night I gave him a whole can of FF classic (I think it was tuna/whitefish) with no kitten food and this morning his BG was about 80 points higher than usual (330's as opposed to 250's)- I'm hoping that this is just from the increase in carbs in the food... Crazy cat!

I tried giving him just FF kitten this morning and he seemed fine with it. We have all 5 P's and he is happy as a lark with his new bed by the window so I'm pretty sure we're not talking about an illness here. Thoughts? Could the food drive his BG up that much?

Hope everyone has a great Labor Day!!! Kitties be nice for your beans on the holiday!!!!!
 
Re: 9/5 Smokey AMPS 331 :(

A lot can depend on how carb sensitive your cat is. Some cats, like Jill's Alex, will get a good bump in her numbers from a piece of plain chicken breast. It's also possible that numbers dropped during the PM cycle and this is a bounce. Without any tests, we don't know.

I don't know about feeding kitten food routinely. I haven't looked at the percentages, but usually kitten food is fairly high in fat. Just something to consider...
 
Re: 9/5 Smokey AMPS 331, +2 303 :(

smokey also might have gotten lower mid-day yesterday. if i were guessing, i'd guess sienne's right that smokey went low during the night last night, or mid-day yesterday, and you're seeing a bounce from hitting low numbers. hard to know, though.

eventually he'll come down and then you'll be able to see what this dose really does.
 
Re: 9/5 Smokey AMPS 331, +2 303 :(

This also looks like a bounce to me from yesterday's blue number..I think the FF kitten food does have more carbs--But Please remember Today's number is just one number, one day, & it will get better..
Give this dose a few more cycles -should see more improvement--Have a good labor day!
 
Re: 9/5 Smokey AMPS 331, +2 303 :(

Thanks for the encouragement guys! I suppose I should have expected a bounce- while his bg isn't ideal, it is as low as it has been in quite a while and we're prob bouncing. I'll keep with the 2U for the week (I'll have to work and it will be really difficult to get a +6- might be able to at night).

+5.5 266
 
Re: 9/5 Smokey AMPS 331, +2 303, +5.5 266 :(

Glad he's coming down...I love his avatar..what a face.

I agree with Sienne that I would worry about the amount of fat in kitten food. It's too much for an adult. I hope you find a food he likes that keeps him in good numbers.
 
Re: 9/5 Smokey AMPS 331, +2 303, +5.5 266 :(

I guess it looks like we'll be stopping the kitten food. I had to go to walmart to get syringes for Smokers and I looked at the pate varieties of foods they had there (Friskies and 9 Lives) and they all had rice or carrots or yams or rice extract... I had tried feeding him Evo wet at one point and he didn't want anything to do with it. It looks to me that all of the FF classics are low in carbs (from Binky's). If today is a bounce and not from the food, I'm fine (and I think that Smokey is too) with switching to all FF classic and no Kitten.

So, here's the plan: Stick with 2U for a while and switch to FF classic and cut out the Kitten.

Advice is appreciated... :)
 
Re: 9/5 Smokey AMPS 331, +2 303, +5.5 266 :(

Carbs from the food should wear off in a few hours if that is what was affecting him altho I am with the others that it looks like a bounce.

Insofar as the 2.0u dose, I'd follow the protocol. If he's staying up there, I'd increase the soonest the protocol allows (3 days).
 
Re: 9/5 Smokey AMPS 331, +2 303, +5.5 266 :(

Thanks Marjorie! Smokey is quite the character and he's got a serious "stink eye"!
 
Re: 9/5 Smokey AMPS 331, +2 303, +5.5 266 :(

he's got a serious "stink eye"!
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Oh come on....that sweet face every has a stink eye? Not buyin' it. :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 9/5 Smokey AMPS 331, +2 303, +5.5 266, PMPS 256

Smokey's PMPS was 256. I'm thinking that we had a bounce this morning. I've been feeding FF with no kitten food this afternoon and his numbers aren't high so I'm thinking it was def a bounce. I gave his usual 2U shot and will check him in an hour and for a bit before I go to bed. I'm hoping I did the right thing!
 
Re: 9/5 Smokey AMPS 331, +2 303, +5.5 266, PMPS 256

PMPS +1 is 236 We are going down nice and slow, though he is usually up at +1. He has eaten about 1/3 can of FF. I've been a bit concerned today as he seems sleepier than usual and not as cuddly and willing to sit still for testing though maybe I'm being paranoid. He's eating, moving, hasn't used the litter box this afternoon but had last night and this morning. He's prob fine- this is just the first real bounce we've had and I've got no idea how he will react.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top