Re: 9/10 Reuben PMPS 192 +1/174 +2/176 Dosing Advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

Alexa and Reuben

Member Since 2012
9/9 Condo

9/9 Recap
AM Fur Shot
AMPS 393
(+1) 468
(+2) 451
(+7) 349

PMPS 318

(+1.5) 250
(+5) 180


Okay, so I just shot my first Blue Number! I fed 5 tsp of LC food mixed with 1 tsp HC gravy. Overkill? Underkill? Who knows. What percent carb mixture does that come out to be if we give a value of 2% to the LC and 30% (I think?) to the HC? I`m so sleepy my brain isn`t working. Well, not that it really works all that well lately anyway!! :roll:

But we carry on, and look! He wants to get well!!! WOW!

Reuben is recovering slowly from what now appears to be total bean fail to recogize an acute attack of Pancreatitis. I increased the dose of bupe and he turned back into a cat within 15 minutes. It wears off before the 8 hours is up, so I am going to increase further to get longer duration. I still don`t know what's up with the peeing, but hopefully it will resolve now.



WCR: All P's, poo a little runny and chose a little rug next to the box to do it ohmygod_smile ; Miraculous recovery after 4 days of ill health thanks to BUPE (and Jane for encouraging it).

50mg Clavamox bid
2.5mg Pepcid bid
.08ml Bupe as needed ( daily until 9/1then on 9/5; 9/6 )
9/9 .08ml
9/9@(+10) 0.12ml

miralax -
1/16th tsp 9/6 at 10pm. Prezzi followed shortly thereafter
9/8 teensy bit of miralax - 95% normal poo.
9/9 no miralax but had a similar reaction (runny at the end of a normal poo)
 
Re: 9/10 Reuben AMPS 173 +.75/166 +8/82 +9/107

Recap

AMPS 173 ------2T 5:1/LC:HC

(+.75) 166 ------3/4t 7:1/LC:HC
(+1.5) 145 ------(cat safe) tuna testing treat
(+1.75) -------------1t LC
(+2) 100 ------- 2t LC
(+2.5) ------------.25t gravy (had to put it in his mouth-won`t eat)
(2.75) 52 ---------.25t gravy 1 drop honey in the mouth again. Spilled coffee on the meter right after this test. It's not going! OMG!
(3.0) 46-----------2? drops honey with .75t food --- Took meter apart and dried w/blow dryer. I hope it's reading correctly
(3.25) 46------------hooooraaaaaaaaay no food, drinking water --- I think the meter is right -the number matches his behavior. fingers crossed.
(3.5) 53-------------oh YEAH baby! now i can have breakfast! --- not worrying about the meter so much now. no memory though, have to remember reading.
(3.75) 58------------okay, now just kinda surf buddy, okay? I didn`t give you Thaaaaat much banana split :-9
(4.5) 71-------------he`s sleeping. fingers crossed we level out here...
(5.5) 110-----------still sleeping - he now sleeps thru ear testing, just like people said he would back when I thought I would N_E_V_E_R be able to ear test
(5.45) -----------------0.1ml bupe. 7h45m since last dose. keeping up on it and overlapping by 15 min. he is relaxed. it's going well.
(6.5) 107--------------look at that. rise stops after bupe.... hmmmmm ///I let him free feed LC lunch (didn't see how much he ate)
Bean Fell Asleep and missed +7.5
(+8) 82---------------free fed LC lunch #2
(8.5) 92---------------don't know if that 82 was rising or falling, but the 92 makes me think maybe it was rising
(+9) 107--------------- tuna test treat. learning about food spikes. i think. not sure what yet, but! haha
(10) 156---------------gave .055ml bupe@+4 from last dose (0.10ml)
(11) 162
PMPS 192--------------He free fed LC dinner/jocoqui/labne for testing treat (lebanese thick cultured milk)
(+1) 174--------------5T tuna 'water' made from cat-safe tuna frappe'd in blender w)H20 (canned albacore from costco)
(+2) 176...............he does like his flat night time curves. the bean truly appreciates this. getting ready for bed :-) --- .05ml bupe
(+3) 135
(+4) 113
(+5) 104
 
Re: 9/10 Reuben AMPS 173

Hi Alexa,

Great AMPS! What a nice way to start the day. I'm glad to hear that Reubhen is feeling a little better! Do you remember I kept asking if you were giving the bupe like you were supposed to? :o Since you didn't answer me after I kept reminding and it was on your list, I assumed it just wasn't helping him. I'm glad Jane pushed the point again and you tried the bupe again. I couldn't imagine why it wouldn't work for him.

At any rate, I'm so glad Reuben is feeling better. Maybe he'll earn a decrease today? :razz:

Hugs,
Melanie & Racci
 
Re: 9/10 Reuben AMPS 173 +.75/166 +1.5/145

Hi Melanie!

Yeah, look at those NUmbers!! What do you think about the slow drop I`m creating... Too slow?

Gosh, about the bupe - the thing is it wears off soooo fast that it *seems* like it doesn`t work... Right now it`s +3.5 since dosing and he is getting pretty uncomfortable again. I'll ask Tracy/Leo about her dose.

Hope you guys are having a great day with nice numbers, I`ll come visit in a minute :razz:

Alexa%Reuben
 
Re: 9/10 Reuben AMPS 173 +.75/166 +1.5/145 +2/100

Hi Alexa,
Great to see Reuben getting nice blue numbers! Great job figuring out he needed bupe and he "turned back into a cat" so quickly :-D , good to hear he is feeling better.
Good luck with your custom carb blending to steer Reuben's numbers, I hope you both have a great day!
 
Re: 9/10 Reuben AMPS 173 +.75/166 +1.5/145 +2/100

Leslie - Well, 4.5 hours after the bupe he`s more like .25% cat. It just doesn`t last.......... angry(2)_cat
 
Re: 9/10 Reuben AMPS 173 +.75/166 +1.5/145 +2/100

Hi Alexa

I'm so glad Reuben seems to be recovering! It's odd that he doesn't seem to get the "normal" amount of duration from the bupe. (For the kitty-meds buffs: Any *other*, longer-lasting pain meds Alexa could try? I'm also wondering about injectable pain meds?)

Also, I do still wonder about Reuben's recent habit of IE (inappropriate elimination, i.e. - ha! - peeing outside the LB). Are you considering having him checked out with regard to a possible UTI?

Have a happy Monday!
Hugs
Jane
 
Re: 9/10 Reuben AMPS 173 +1.5/145 +2/100 +3/46 +3.5/53

Hi Alexa,

His numbers are beautiful! He earned a reducie!!!! Yaaaay! That's proof that you did it right without letting it get out of hand. You let him earn the reduction and come up again where he's safe. Just check often now and don't let him go too low. Try to keep him above 50. It would be perfect if he could surf around 60s-80s :razz:

Like Jane, I'm confused by how soon he is done with th bupe. How long does it say it should last? How often does the bottle say to give it? I've never used it so have no personal experience with it. I do know that some people react differently to pain meds than others and maybe that's whats going on with himl I don't see why it should be different with cats.

I think Jane is right and you should check for a uti and at the same time talk to the doctor about pain meds and see if there is something else hurting him.

Melanie & Racci
 
Re: 9/10 Reuben AMPS 173 +2/100 +3/46 +4/71 +5/110 +6/107

Congrats on the reducie! yay! Good work done today with the dropping numbers and good shooting! Have a great day!
 
Reuben earned a reduction today, and I would like opinions and advice about it. If there is solid reasoning Not to take the reduction is it advisable to continue with the same dose? My feeling about this is that he is just barely starting to get stable at this dose - and we have a variety of factors and situations we are dealing with that are not resolved (food, medicine, un-resolved health issues, bean stress etc etc) and if we make a changes to the dose at this point we might loose the opportunity to continue with the progress we are making. Does this make sense?
 
Re: 9/10 Reuben AMPS 173 +.75/166 +1.5/145 +2/100

Jane said:
Hi Alexa

I'm so glad Reuben seems to be recovering! It's odd that he doesn't seem to get the "normal" amount of duration from the bupe. (For the kitty-meds buffs: Any *other*, longer-lasting pain meds Alexa could try? I'm also wondering about injectable pain meds?)

Also, I do still wonder about Reuben's recent habit of IE (inappropriate elimination, i.e. - ha! - peeing outside the LB). Are you considering having him checked out with regard to a possible UTI?

Have a happy Monday!
Hugs
Jane

Hi Jane -

Sorry it`s taken so long to reply! Sienne mentioned that the duration of effect of bupe is determined by the dose: higher dose, longer duration. My solution is to overlap, since large doses are too strong for him. So far it`s working.

I agree that he needs to be looked at. As soon as he is stable and I`m not doing a bg reading every 20 minutes in the morning, we'll go.

No IE (love it :-)) today, so far (Anti-Jinx!). He is relaxed and has taken up residence in cubby on a bookshelf.

Thanks soooo much for your thoughts, and I^m so sorry I didn`t answer sooner, kinda having bean stress/fail on some levels over here, and just focusing on reuben`s bg as it is The Thing that needs to be right.

Hope you`re having a lovely morning, talk to you soon!

Alexa
 
Re: 9/10 Reuben AMPS 173 +1.5/145 +2/100 +3/46 +3.5/53

MelanieAndRacci said:
Hi Alexa,

His numbers are beautiful! He earned a reducie!!!! Yaaaay! That's proof that you did it right without letting it get out of hand. You let him earn the reduction and come up again where he's safe. Just check often now and don't let him go too low. Try to keep him above 50. It would be perfect if he could surf around 60s-80s :razz:

Like Jane, I'm confused by how soon he is done with th bupe. How long does it say it should last? How often does the bottle say to give it? I've never used it so have no personal experience with it. I do know that some people react differently to pain meds than others and maybe that's whats going on with himl I don't see why it should be different with cats.

I think Jane is right and you should check for a uti and at the same time talk to the doctor about pain meds and see if there is something else hurting him.

Melanie & Racci

Sorry to take so long to get back to you, kinda had some bean complications today on top of staying on top of Reuben`s bg...please forgive me!! The dosing for the bupe is .01ml per lb. But apparently higher doses are normally given, which Reuben feels badly on. I tried overlapping smaller doses today and it seems to be working. He does feel good on it at the right dose, so that`s what we`re working on.

So far today the possible uti situation is at bay and he is not exhibiting IE behavior, but I do feel I need to have him looked at. Just maybe not when I`m checking bg's every 20 minutes haha...

Again, sorry for not answering sooner!!

Alexa
 
I think you need to take earned reductions to keep the cat safe. BG below 50 in a newly diagnosed cat (less than 1 year) means there is too much insulin. If you don't take the reduction, you are putting the cat at risk.

I also have the attitude/belief that the correct dose is a moving target. So I don't expect to get the perfect dose and stay there. My attitude toward dosing is more like the three bears: if the nadirs are high, the cat needs more insulin. If the nadir goes too low, the cat needs less. If the nadirs are in a good range, then the insulin is just right.

You are doing a great job with Reuben, Alexa. Today's cycle shows tremendous progress. :-D :-D
Liz
 
Hi Alexa,

Sorry it took me so long to get back to you. I agree with Liz. I've felt all along that Reuben needed to be at 2U for now. This reduction is needed. As Liz said it is unsafe to ignore him going so low and it also is passing up an opportunity to lower his insulin intake and bring him that much closer to a possible remission. Sure it may raise his numbers a little temporarily but they will come down again once he's used to the new dose and stops bouncing. If given a reasonable amount of time it doesn't settle down, and the numbers are no good you can always go up again.

You should not have to give hc with every feeding. You should be giving lc only unless he dips too low. The fact that you have to give hc so often is also an indication that the dose is too high for him. When you cut his dose by .25u per the protocol for going under 50, you should not feed anything but lc unless it is really needed (under 60 or 70 and early in the cycle).

I'm glad you figured out what works with the bupe! I hope it works for him and he gets some continuous relief. He will stabilize now with the bupe and the decrease together and feeding just the lc. Between the 3 factors he should keep earning reductions.

Talk to you later.

Melanie & Racci
 
Thank you so much Anne :-) I really appreciate your explanation and support! We are trying very hard to do everything right; the level of carbs in his food is still too low and I wonder: once they are adjusted would this Be the right dose with the correct nadirs --and maybe I should just Hurry Up already and get that done!? Does that make sense?

Thanks again Anne, much appreciated!!

Alexa&Reuben
 
[/quote]......You should not have to give hc with every feeding. You should be giving lc only unless he dips too low. The fact that you have to give hc so often is also an indication that the dose is too high for him. When you cut his dose by .25u per the protocol for going under 50, you should not feed anything but lc unless it is really needed (under 60 or 70 and early in the cycle).

Melanie & Racci[/quote]

Thanks Melanie! Well, it certainly Would be nice not to be going through this any more!! What percent carbs should LC be, if I may trouble you to find out? It just all gets kind of confusing sometimes and sometimes I get overwhelmed. It would be terrific if it could become more simple!

- Alexa
 
reuben'smom said:
We are trying very hard to do everything right; the level of carbs in his food is still too low and I wonder: once they are adjusted would this Be the right dose with the correct nadirs --and maybe I should just Hurry Up already and get that done!? Does that make sense? Alexa&Reuben

Good morning Alexa!

A little feedback, if I may :smile:

(1) You *could* already have reduced Reuben's dose for this last PM cycle. He didn't bounce *right away* and give you a pink/red or even yellow pre-shot (which is *great* progress - compare it to the 8th of September, where he dipped into mid-range greens as well, but bounced into black!) and his dip into sub-50 on the preceding AM cycle would have justified you reducing the dose already. Please reduce Reuben's dose to 2.0u for his next cycle.

(2) I'm wary of the word "correct" - because as Anne rightly emphasizes, both nadir and dose are "moving targets" in the sense that what was the appropriate dose and visible nadir on Cycle A may be something different in Cycle B, or C, or D... You get the idea. If you can, try to think of your role in treating FD (including figuring out carb percentages, feeding schedules, dosing decisions, SS analysis) as that of an interpreter. All of us dealing with FD, in fact, are a lot like interpreters. So much is about context. Yes, sometimes a word really means only one thing (the FD example would be, if a cat is in DKA, one MUST ALWAYS take it and treat it very seriously). But when it comes to nadirs, carbs, SS interpreting, well... Let's see if I can give you some examples. Jill's cat Alex is so super-crazy-carb-sensitive that freeze-dried chicken can bump up her BG by twenty or thirty points - so for ALex, feeding HC for a dip to sub-50 is extra-hyper-overkill, whereas for many other cats, NOT feeding HC with low dips is dangerous and downright wrong. Marje's cat Gracie has had a nadir at (+10), (+2), (+7) and (+5) on four consecutive cycles (1-2 Jan 2012). That's why Jojo's mantra "KNOW THY CAT" really is a good one to bear in mind: We're all interpreters of our cats' FD-Language, and they all speak individual dialects, and we realize and try to deal with the fact that here and there things will inevitably be lost in translation. Yes, (almost) all of us in LL refer to the TR Protocol to base our decisions on. Yes, the beans and cats here share certain vocabulary. But even with the protocol (which consists, notably, of guidelines rather than immovable rules) words they share ("High Carb", for instance), the definition and deciding factors can vary immensely. We can think of those factors as "appropriate" rather than "correct" if you will - for now, Reuben's "appropriate dose" is 2.0u, and the deciding factor is *his specific dip into sub-50* as a newly diagnosed cat with little experience in green numbers. Does this all make sense to you?

(3) Because of the aspects I just mentioned, the idea of hurrying up, or hurrying things along, is not the best way to look at things. I understand your motivation to want to get the food issues right and the bupe issues right and the dose issues right as soon as you can. But again, remind yourself that what works today may not work tomorrow, or next week. Remember that you as Reuben's bean aren't the only one doing FD-interpreting. Old Mr. L has a say - while he may at first decide that "green" means "release lots and lots of glucagon and hormones because we're all in danger of hypo", he's learning more and more to interpret "green" as "oh, great, some time for the rest of the coloured wobbly things around me to heal, especially old Mr. P over there." Same colour, different interpretation, different meaning, different reaction. And there's no way to force the speed of getting from the first response to the second response. Reuben's body decides that. That's why it's so important to remember to be flexible in one's thinking: because from one day to the next, Reuben's system may have decided that he's added a new definition to part of the FD-vocabulary.

(And as an aside - that's *also* what makes the task of those around here who give feedback, advice and input specific to indivdual cats/beans as complicated and oftentimes precarious as it is: because they see the need for guidance, and fulfil it, knowing that they do so as lay persons (albeit with years of experience in dealing with FD) who are, simply, not "there" with the cat/bean in question. I point this out to address the frustration that can sometimes arise in especially in newbies, when all they want is a definite answer, and it simply sometimes isn't possible to give one, or to give *only* one. Personally, I thank each and every person here who has so often been there for me with their input and guidance, no matter how complicated and precarious this may have been.)

(4) You also asked what his LC carbs percentage should be. There's no way to know for certain, of course, but personally I would try going up in little steps. One way to do this while *knowing* the carbs percentages is to used canned food that we have the data for, but since you're restricted in what you can buy in terms of cat food, it will be more of a guessing game. Still, *documenting* data is key. If you take one meal of home-made food as your basis, you can variously try adding a quarter tsp, half a tsp, 1 tsp, and so on, of whatever you are using as your carbs-addition. (You tried that chicken/rice option the other day - cooked rice may be an option? Did Ann/Tess have feedback for you what you can try?) Whatever you try to add as the carbs-upper, I would suggest you be consistent for several days (i.e. not rice one day, peas the next) to see how Reuben responds. And again, remember that Reuben's numbers are indicative of ongoing responses from his body - a sub-50 dip one cycle *may* cause a bounce the next cycle, or it may not, or it may make him bounce a little but clear it really quickly, allowing him to drop again right away... So you might not get the chance to test out one carbs-variety two cycle or two mornings in a row (because the first cycle coule be a "drop/reduction-earning"-cycle, whereas the next could be, well, lots of things - bounce cycle, no-bounce cycle, another drop cycle...) I'm afraid the only way is to try an option, note down what it was, try to interpret Reuben's response, and use that knowledge to decide your next option.

Apologies for rambling on like this! Hopefully, you'll find it useful all the same. Do come back with any questions or anything that seems unclear, and keep asking for feedback. You'll keep getting it from various directions, voices, approaches - another fun interpreting task for you :lol:

You are doing absolutely wonderfully! It is a delight to see a bean caring so deeply for their darling cat, and being so conscientious in trying to absorb and understand the language of FD! You rock like granite!

Hugs!
Jane
 
Thank you soo much Jane, Rhiannon and Melanie!!! I'm sorry, I dozed off and missed all of you :oops:

Okay, decrease it is, I understand now!

Thank you all for explaining this situation, and for being so supportive and patient with me.

Sorry this is short, I`m barely awake. And the good news is Reuben is at 104 at +5. I get to go to sleeeeeeep for real!

Wow, I`m getting excited about the decrease. Feels like a holiday or something :-D

I`m sorry this is so short, but please know I appreciate all of your insights and suggestions immensely!

Thank you All for being there for us tonight :YMHUG: :razz:

-Alexa%Reuben
 
Just a quick note, Alexa. I also fell asleep and am shutting down now and going to bed. I guess you gave the reduced dose tonight? I hope so. With carbs in canned food, low carbs are usually 2-7% or so. I feed Racci 2% but would rather feed 4% to allow a 2% for when I needed it for when she was high but Racci is a real fusspot. Different cats act differently to carbs as Jane said.

The decrease will be like a vacation at first until he catches up with you and is ready for his next one. :lol:

goodnight,

Melanie & Racci
 
Melanie, as far as I know here in LL, LC is 10% and under, MC is 11-15%, and HC is 16% and above. Carla recently had a carb percentages discussion in her 9th September condo clarifying this.

Alexa has *not* shot the reduced dose tonight yet according to Reuben's SS as well as her post above. Also, I want to encourage being wary of predictive statements like "the decrease will be like a vacation at first." Reuben's shed may be fuller than we think, and he may need a few cycles to react to the decrease while it drains. During those cycles he may well dip low again, so even at first, and right after the reduction, being vigilant is as important as ever.

Jane
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top