Re: 8/5 Max PMPS 165 +2.5 185 +6.5 161 +11.5 167

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 8/5 Max Amps~160 +1~109

That 160 was 24 hours after the last shot? Wow. SS doesn't say, but did you shoot 1.75U?

Carl
 
Re: 8/5 Max Amps~160 +1~109 +2~58 +3~36

Yep, Carl, we sure did. So much for getting a break today. Testing again in 8 minutes. Don't worry if I don't post right away. I got this. Grandma just arrived! Perfect timing.
 
Re: 8/5 Max Amps~160 +1~109 +2~58 +3~36

Oh, Emma must have erased the changes I made to the SS. I try to keep it minimized at the bottom of the page, but she must have brought it up and erased it. I guess -- unless I'm losing my mind -- which is entirely possible!
 
Re: 8/5 Max Amps~160 +1~109 +2~58 +3~36

Max!!! You really wanted that reduction today!!! I think this might call for a little bit of that HC and some lather, rinse, repeat.

Love your calm voice, Dale.
way-to-go.gif


So Mr. Max gets 1.75u tonight!!!! Congrats
 
Re: 8/5 Max Amps~160 +1~109 +2~58 +3~36 +3.20~38 +3.35~40

Good grief! This is happening so fast.

Marje, isn't it 1.5 he gets tonight? He got a decrease to 1.75 yesterday, but we didn't give that dose until this morning. Do we give 1.75 twice, or do we go ahead with 1.5 tonight? Even if he bounces, I want to give him the decreased dose after this little surprise.
 
Re: 8/5 Max Amps~160 +1~109 +2~58 +3~36

Dale

I must have missed a decrease. Let me peek. BRB. And more of whatever you are using to bring him up and retest in 30, ok?
 
Re: 8/5 Max Amps~160 +1~109 +2~58 +3~36

Recap in case you run out of room on your subject line :smile:

AMPS 160
+1 109
+2 58
+3 36 (fed HC)
+3.33 38
+3.66 40 (fed HC)
+4 ___

Carl
 
Re: 8/5 Max Amps~160 +1~109 +2~58 +3~36 +3.75 54

Ok, feeding LC now if he'll eat it. We have about 2.25 hours to go before +6.

AMPS 160
+1 109
+2 58
+3 36 (fed HC)
+3.33 38
+3.66 40 (fed HC)
+3.75 54 (fed LC)
+4 ___

Thank you, Carl
 
Re: 8/5 Max Amps~160 +1~109 +2~58 +3~36

I see my confusion. Here is yesterday's condo: 8/4 Condo

We advised to NOT take another reduction yet ;-) ;-) That's why I thought you shot sk2u again this morning and advised a reduction for tonight.

Let's see how this cycle plays out and whether he comes up. The depot can affect up to six cycles so it is possible that even with the draining last night, you might have a bit of that going on. We've got plenty of time
to see what's going on today and decide for the dose tonight.
 
Re: 8/5 Max Amps~160 +1~109 +2~58 +3~36

Looks like the first serving of HC may have showed up a little bit. Is Max acting just fine?

Carl
 
Re: 8/5 Max Amps~160 +1~109 +2~58 +3~36

Oh, I see, I should have used 2.0 this morning. That would have been scary for me. After the +0.5 I got last night, I would have been freaking out no matter what his BG was at PMPS. (((Can you tell I'm not completely, totally, honest-to-God convinced that the shot you give has no effect whatsoever on the cycle that occurs directly after you give it? ;-) :smile: nailbite_smile )))

Carl, he seems fine. He ate almost all the tablespoon of LC I gave. He can't really get the part at the edge of the bowl, and he doesn't even try. He seems fine, but lethargic. I tried to make him walk, and he did and jumped up on a chair. That's a good sign I think. He has neuropathy. So, the walking alone isn't a very good indicator, but jumping is good.
 
Re: 8/5 Max Amps~160 +1~109 +2~58 +3~36

Jumping is very good!
Is it +4 yet?
 
Re: 8/5 Max Amps~160 +1~109 +2~58 +3~36 +4.25~62

Ok, he was at 64. I'll wait 1/2 an hour and test again, I guess. I'm not feeding more food right now. Do you think I should? Do you think if I don't I should test in 15 minutes? I fed him the LC at +3.75.

AMPS 160
+1 109
+2 58
+3 36 (fed HC)
+3.33 38
+3.66 40 (fed HC)
+3.75 54 (fed LC)
+4.25 62
 
Re: 8/5 Max Amps~160 +1~109 +2~58 +3~36 +4.25~62

See how he does with no more food at 20 minutes. What you've given him so far hasn't all hit the bloodstream yet, I don't think.
Carl
 
Re: 8/5 Max Amps~160 +1~109 +2~58 +3~36 +4.25~62

Thanks, Carl. It's 55 at +4.75. More food? The HC didn't do much did it?

Marje and Carl, and Everybody, Ahhhh, it's going to be an interesting day I suppose. I'm glad I slept last night. I asked my husband to take the +2 test last night, and I didn't make it clear that I wanted to take more tests at +3 and +4. I said that if it was 65 or lower to wake me up. It was 87, and he let me sleep. I didn't say "Wake me up at +3 or when you go to bed." Oops. Neither did I set my alarm for +3 nor even take my phone/alarm into the room. Bad, Dale, bad, bad, Dale!

AMPS 160
+1 109
+2 58
+3 36 (fed HC)
+3.33 38
+3.66 40 (fed HC)
+3.75 54 (fed LC)
+4.25 62
+4.75 55
 
Re: 8/5 Max Amps~160 +1~109 +2~58 +3~36 +4.25~62

Dale,
Us guys need step by step extremely detailed instructions. It's a survival instinct! :lol:
Max is looking good! brb, checking on Mike and BJ...
Carl
 
Re: 8/5 Max Amps~160 +1~109 +2~58 +3~36 +4.25~62

The LC should be hitting soon, but if you don't see an increase after 20, maybe just a spoonful of gravy?
Carl
 
Re: 8/5 Max Amps~160 +1~109 +2~58 +3~36 +4.25~62

Oh, boy! I messed up the times. My Relion Micro's clock is off by an hour. I was using the Ultima, and I got more strips for the Micro last night. So, all my times were off in the previous posts on this thread. Here are the right times:

160 @ AMPS
109 @ +1
(I must have been abducted by aliens!!!!! I lost an entire 56 minutes of my life right here in this slot. I'm so glad they brought me back in time to catch Max's test at +4. Whew. Checking for implants . . . none in the usual places. That's a relief.)
58 @ +3
36 @ +4.1
38 @ +4.20
40 @ +4.35
54 @ +4.75
62 @ +5.25
55 @ +5.75
49 @ +6 (Gave one tsp HC (and one tsp LC but he didn't eat the LC)
 
Re: 8/5 Max Amps~160 +1~109 +2~58 +3~36 +4.25~62

(I must have been abducted by aliens!!!!! I lost an entire 56 minutes of my life right here in this slot. I'm so glad they brought me back in time to catch Max's test at +4. Whew. Checking for implants . . . none in the usual places. That's a relief.)

LOL! Have you ever flown over the International Date Line? I got deployed to Japan way back when, and lost a whole day! I didn't get it back until I returned 6 months later and had to live the same day over twice. :smile:
 
Re: 8/5 Max Amps~160 +1~109 +2~58 +3~36 +4.25~62

What a bummer. I was going to spend the sunny afternoon with Emma or take a nap or both.

160 @ AMPS
109 @ +1
(I must have been abducted by aliens!!!!! I lost an entire 56 minutes of my life right here in this slot. I'm so glad they brought me back in time to catch Max's test at +4. Whew. Checking for implants . . . none in the usual places. That's a relief.)
58 @ +3
36 @ +4.1
38 @ +4.20
40 @ +4.35
54 @ +4.75
62 @ +5.25
55 @ +5.75
49 @ +6 (Gave one tsp HC (and one tsp LC but he didn't eat the LC)
43 @ +6.3
 
Re: 8/5 Max Amps~160 +1~109 +2~58 +3~36 +4.25~62

Ha, no, but what else was strange was it was in the 70's when I took off, and it was snowing when we landed. I was thinking we'd gotten really lost...

Hey, Max, turn around buddy, you're supposed to be climbing some, it's past nadir...

Carl
 
Re: 8/5 Max Amps~160 +1~109 +2~58 +3~36 +4.25~62

I think he's leveling out, Carl. At the moment, he's eating LC -- more than just a tablespoon. He's hungry. He was at 54 (on the meter that reads low) at +7, and the last time I gave him HC was an hour before that.

This is what he did yesterday:
+0.00 fed Low Carb
+2.00~47
+2.25 fed Low Carb
+2.75~59
+3.25~56
+3.75~57
+4.25~54
+5.00~58
+5.75~47 fed Low Carb
+6.00~62 fed Low Carb
+6.75~48 fed High Carb
+7.50~69 fed Low Carb
+8.00~54
+8.25 did not want food
+8.50~53
+9.00~55 fed High Carb
+9.50~59
+10.0~67
+11.0~80
+12.5~57 Ate Low Carb (57 on the Micro or 65 on the Ultima)
+13.0~65

Even at +6.75 yesterday he was too low. This is despite having LC food 45 minutes prior AND one hour prior. That concerned me and still does, but that was nadir.

Then, at +8 through +9 he stayed in the 50s despite the LC I fed him at +7.5. At +9 I got worried, fed HC, and it gave him very little boost by 1/2 an hour later. By one hour later he wasn't even at 70 or above (at +10) So, that could be the second dip coming into play there, I suppose, and may be nothing to worry about, but I don't like it, of course.

Now then, at +12.5 he dips into the 50s again?!!!! If the Micro's right that's low; if the Ultima's right that not so bad, but think about this: I was using the Ultima all day yesterday except for that 57 retest/double check that I got on the Micro at +12.5. This means that on the Micro, all the numbers would have been 8 points lower? The 53 at +8.5 would have been a 45; the 59 at 9.5 would have been a 51. Pretty darn low for being at +9.5.

Also, what's going on at +12.5? If at +8.5 he was getting his second dip, what the H E double hockey sticks is going on at +12.5? Maybe the HC I gave him at +9 bumped him up, but otherwise he would have surfed the 50s and 60s right on through to +13. That's probably it.

Is surfing the 50s just fine -- even down to 51 -- no matter what time of day? Can they suddenly drop into the 30s from the 50s even if they have been in the 30s or 40s earlier in the day around nadir and its now +8.5? (I know if there is another unknown medical condition it could drop, but I'm talking reasonable expectations under typical circumstances. It's like watching a baby for crib death -- you can drive yourself crazy and never let the baby sleep or you can accept that you have done all you can to prevent it and try to sleep yourself.)
 
Re: 8/5 Max Amps~160 +1~109 +2~58 +3~36 +4.25~62

I wish I could explain all of that to you Dale, but I'm still a newbie when it comes to lantus and how it works and keeps on working. Although it doesn't scare me like it used to, it's that whole "depot/shed" thing.... Like there's this untapped source of insulin inside that can jump in a affect the numbers any time of day? I know it isn't really like that, but I think I understand what you're saying.

When I look around the "room", and just look at subject lines.... I don't know if it is always like this, or this is just a run of lots of kitties with low numbers all at the same time? But it seems like there are double digits all over the place here! On my part, it's still some "residual prozinc think", I'm sure, because lows all day long just don't happen in PZI (except maybe when a kitty is really close to OTJ), so that part of this is foreign to me. But overall, there's a lot of "calm" here in the face of low numbers, and I guess that calm is contagious. Of course, I'm not the one dealing directly with the 40's or 30's, so it isn't as stressful to me.

I can tell you that it's pretty incredible to "watch" on a daily basis though.

Carl
 
Re: 8/5 Max Amps~160 +1~109 +2~58 +3~36 +4.25~62

160 @ AMPS
109 @ +1
+2.25 (Max ate LC on his own)
58 @ +3
36 @ +4.1 (fed HC)
38 @ +4.20
40 @ +4.35 (fed HC)
54 @ +4.75 (fed LC)
62 @ +5.25
55 @ +5.75 (fed
49 @ +6 (Fed one tsp HC (and one tsp LC but he didn't eat the LC)
43 @ +6.3
54 @ +7.0 Fed LC - let him have all he wanted
59 @ 7.5

Yep, Carl, I suppose coming from PZI it would seem pretty weird. Even when I started using Lantus, I expected the BG to be "regulated" when it was 110 in the morning, 50 at midday, and 110 at night. Pretty amazing that scientists have created a substance that keeps BG more stable for humans, and that it works on cats, too!
 
Re: 8/5 Max Amps~160 +1~109 +2~58 +3~36 +4.25~62

OK, hopefully by +8, "all the LC he wanted" will push him up into the 60s or 70s and he can just cruise at that level.

Carl
 
Re: 8/5 Max Amps~160 +1~109 +2~58 +3~36 +4.25~62

maxandemmasmommie said:
Also, what's going on at +12.5? If at +8.5 he was getting his second dip, what the H E double hockey sticks is going on at +12.5? Maybe the HC I gave him at +9 bumped him up, but otherwise he would have surfed the 50s and 60s right on through to +13. That's probably it.

Nope...he didn't get a second dip at +8.5. Second dips usually come later in the cycle. The carbs were wearing off from earlier.

Dale....where is he now....can you please update the subject line so I can keep an eye on him with Carl? Dyana has been watching but she needs to go night night...she has to work tomorrow.

The other thing I want to address is this:
maxandemmasmommie said:
(((Can you tell I'm not completely, totally, honest-to-God convinced that the shot you give has no effect whatsoever on the cycle that occurs directly after you give it?)))

Well, that isn't exactly what we said :-D ;-) If you are giving, for example, 2.5u and you give it cycle after cycle, then each time, you are adding to the depot with that dose. So the dose becomes cumulative and the shot you
give in a cycle CAN and DOES affect the numbers because you've been building on that dose. BUT, if you've been giving that 2.5u dose for several cycles, building that depot, and then you give .5u, well, it takes a while to
stop that freight train of the 2.5u dose. So the BCS (or skipping a shot) affects the subsequent cycle as the freight train slows down a bit. See the difference?

I'll be able to help you out tonight but right now, I've got to give Gus fluids and give Gracie juice. So I'll be back but Carl's been doing an awesome job keeping you company and helping out!! YAY Carl...thanks!!! And you've been doing a great job, too, Dale.

See you soon....definitely long before you have to shoot the next dose. Leaning towards you reducing again but we still have some time.
 
Re: 8/5 Max Amps~160 +1~109 +2~58 +3~36 +4.25~62

Sigh, well, I'm sorry guys . . . I put his (edited) +8 (not +7) in the spreadsheet, and I tried to add it to the headline. I don't know what happened with that. He was at 69 at (edited) +8 (not 7) so I took a break. Marjorie posted at what the board thinks is 5:45 -- about an hour and 1/2 ago for me (I think). Anyway, at +10 he's at 128.
 
Re: 8/5 Max Amps~160 +1~109 +2~58 +3~36 +4.25~62

googly_eyes-2142.gif


They said there would be no math involved here. ;-) ;-) ;-)

Ok...so bottom line is he is 128 at +10? Right? I'm not sure I understand what happened to editing the subject line (need my googly eyes emoticon again) but that's ok.
 
Re: 8/5 Max Amps~160 +1~109 +2~58 +3~36 +4.25~62

Now, he's at 178 for +11. I'll give the shot tonight. The depot isn't full. Which should I give 1.75 or 2.0?

The headline. Grrr. When I go to the subject line of the very first post in the thread and modify it the modifications show up on the board as the headline. If I add new test results to any of the other posts' headlines (or just the new one I'm posting at the time) it doesn't show up on headline that you will see when you look at all the day's posts. So, I frequently go to the first post's headline, and add test (or delete to make room for new tests) after each of my new posts in the thread.

When I go to that first headline now and click on it, a couple of options for a headline pop up, and I can choose from them or I can just edit the headline. When I click on this one I see the new one I made with the +8~69 at the end as an option, but it's not the one showing. I must have messed it up, and somehow didn't make it change. (Emma hits my keyboard about 20 times every time I'm on it! If I left everything she does to what I type in these posts, you guys would kill me.)
 
Re: 8/5 Max Amps~160 +3~36 +10~128 +11~178

Great...you got it.

Options:

Door A.....shoot 1.75u through the bounce tonight and reduce to 1.5u tomorrow morning

Door B....reduce to 1.5u tonight and see how he does; if after a few cycles, he stalls, you can take him back up.

Caveat to Door A...he could come back down tonight. No guarantees that he won't.
 
Re: 8/5 Max Amps~160 +3~36 +10~128 +11~178

I'm exhausted. Today has been awful. My husband is irritated, and the baby still won't eat well which means she's going to nurse about 100 times tonight. I haven't had lunch in two days. However, I don't want to prolong this process either.

If I go with, I mean 1.5 not 1.75, and he stalls, am I going to possibly lose my chance of getting him OTJ?
 
Re: 8/5 Max Amps~160 +3~36 +10~128 +11~178

Dale

1.75u is the higher dose that you would shoot through the bounce one time..tonight IF you choose. Then his regular dose will be 1.5u. Or just shoot 1.5u tonight and hopefully take a break.

If he stalls, we take him back up. I can't tell you that for any dose you shoot whether he will go OTJ. We hope but I like to have more short term goals right in front of me :-D He's moving along at a pretty good clip....if I had to guess, I would think he'd just pick right up and keep going...but Inhave no crystal ball.

I think if you are exhausted, give yourself a break..shoot 1.5u.

But your call....I'm here to help you tonight if you need it.
 
Re: 8/5 Max Amps~160 +3~36 +10~128 +11~178

Hmm, well he was at 165 at PMPS and I gave him 1.5u, but I still have 7 minutes to change my mind.
 
Re: 8/5 Max Amps~160 +3~36 +10~128 +11~178

If you gave him a shot, why would you change your mind? I think you did a good job with it. See if he will let you get some rest. I would get a +2 though just to see if he's still going up.
 
Re: 8/5 Max Amps~160 +3~36 +10~128 +11~178

Nah, I'm sticking with 1.5. I'm putting the Hubs on BG watch tonight!

Carl,

You said,

Ha, no, but what else was strange was it was in the 70's when I took off, and it was snowing when we landed. I was thinking we'd gotten really lost...

Didn't it snow in the 70s? I remember that it did in the U.S. (ROFLOL; I KILL myself!! :lol: )
 
Re: 8/5 Max Amps~160 +3~36 PMPS 165 +2.5 185

+2.5 is 185 Ahhhhhh! Don't like the number, but I'll take the sleep!

You, too, Marjorie. I hope no one is plunging tonight. Gracie's giving you a break. Sleep tight.
 
Re: 8/5 Max Amps~160 +3~36 PMPS 165 +2.5 185

I know you don't want to know this but that number is not that much different from PMPS. NCAA DH check him about +5 or +6?

Cleo is running low tonight :-D :-D at least you two don't do it the Sam night. One night I had FOUR low kitties at the same time :shock:

Hope you get some sleep.
 
Re: 8/5 Max Amps~160 +3~36 PMPS 165 +2.5 185

Yep, it's pretty close, huh?

Four at a time -- wow.

Good luck getting some sleep!
 
Re: 8/5 Max Amps~160 +3~36 PMPS 165 +2.5 185

Thanks! I'll be thinking of Max :lol: :lol: :lol:

And of those four, three are OTJ :-D :-D :-D :-D

Sleep tight.
 
Re: 8/5 Max Amps~160 +3~36 PMPS 165 +2.5 185

Hi Dale! Great job!

I'll look out for that (+5) or (+6), k?
I'm around if you need something. (If I ever don't respond to an in-thread reply, try a PM - my iphone does this little BING noise when I get one, and I haven't missed that so far even when I'm, I don't know, cooking or off the board writing or something.)
Jane
 
Re: 8/5 Max Amps~160 +3~36 PMPS 165 +2.5 185

Marje, thanks for being here:-)
I'm on the early shift this week so 10pm is about all I am good for.

Dale, hoping you get a break today:-)
Carl
 
Good morning. I just got up.

His +11.5 is 167. So I guess the reduction didn't hold, but I'll probably get a break today I hope. What do you all think about the dose I should give him this morning? If I don't get an answer by AMPS which is in 0 minutes, I'll give him 1.5. I can give him an extra .25 within 10 minutes if necessary, and then we'll figure out what to do tonight. At least he's in the mid 100s! That's pretty good in my view.

Jane, thanks. I didn't post the 161 at +6.5. Sorry, I just went back to bed.

Carl, have a good week.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top