Re: 5/7 Zeke AMPS/ 115; PMPS/ 105 - Don't know what Zeke got

Status
Not open for further replies.

MrZ

Member Since 2013
Good afternoon LL

Sending out positive :mrgreen: BG vines to all and feel better vines to all kitties in need of them.

Zeke's previous condo

Well, looks like we’re in a holding pattern with Zeke. His numbers are still not consistently below 100 so I guess a reduction at this time is not an option. Just wondering - since he's getting a f0.1u, would a reduction mean (a) no shot or (b) give a 1 drop shot?

Zeke's on day 27 of this low dose so we'd like to make some changes as there's no way of knowing how long we're going to have to stick with this dose. We need to make some changes to make this more manageable for us. Because Zeke's drops occur early in the cycle, and his shots are at 6AM/6PM, we've not been able to do anything before 9. We'd like that to change - we'd like to be able to go out for dinner together at least occassionally.

Zeke's current feeding schedule is hourly at +1, +2 & +3 at each cycle. Each cycle (in total) he's fed 3T and 3t plus 1t snack (4% Turkey Wellness). Do you think we should try a lower carb food, maybe 2% to see if that will help keep his BGs from rising above 100?

We’ve backed off on the testing a bit and would like to do even more of that as long as it’s safe. Based on the pattern shown below, do you think it's safe not to test after +3 even if the numbers are not rising? As Zeke is only getting a f0.1u, can we assume that he will not be making huge drops after +3? We don't leave food out after his final feeding which occurs at +3ish. Do you think that's ok or would you suggest (if we're gonna cut back on the testing) that we should leave food out for his safety?

Any suggestions/advice welcomed.

Here's a recap of what’s been going on with Zeke.

Today so far :
AMPS / 115; +2 / 96; +4.25 / 76

May 6:
AMPS / 99; +2.25 / 94; +4 / 68 ; +8.5 / SNACK

PMPS / 83; +2 / 95; +3.25 / 86; +4.75 / 95; +8.5 / SNACK

May 5:

AMPS / 93; +2.25 / 73; +3.25 / 78 ; +4.5 / 81; +8.5 / SNACK

PMPS / 108; +2.25 / 87; +3.25 / 64; +4 / 70 ; +8.5 / SNACK

May 4:
AMPS / 89; +1.25 / 96; +3.25 / 52; +4.5 / 53; +8.5 / SNACK / 70

PMPS / 118; +2 / 103; +3.25 / 72; +6 / 76; +8.5 / SNACK

May 3:
AMPS / 89; +1.25 / 117; +2.25 / 83; +4.25 / 74 ; +8.5 / SNACK

PMPS / 106; +1.75 / 85; +3.5 / 59; +4.25 / 58; +5.75 / 70; +8.5 / SNACK (I think)


May 2:
AMPS / 91; +1.25 / 103; +2.25 / 89; +4.25 / 74

PMPS / 89; +1.25 / 104; +3.25 / 69; +4.25 / 78; +8.5 / SNACK

May 1:

AMPS / 85; +1.5 / 99; +4.5 / 72; +9.25 / SNACK / 63

PMPS / 70; +1.25 / 93; +2.25 / 95; +5 / 98;

April 30:
AMPS / 91; +1.5 / 123 (Food spike); +2.25 / 95; +8.5 / SNACK / 96

PMPS / 106; +1.25 / 164 (Stress induced); +2.25 / 134 (I feel so bad that I caused him this much stress); +8.5 / SNACK / 69 & 72 (RT)

April 29:
AMPS / 94; +1.25 / 91; +2 / 79; +3 / 68; +5.25 / 66; +8.5 / SNACK / 76

PMPS / 134 (No idea why. Initially thought due to the snack. Considered eliminating the snack but decided to stick with the program and just see how it goes - so glad I did.); +3 / 105; +6.5 / 72; +8.5 / SNACK / 83

April 28:
AMPS / 112; +1.25 / 108; +2 / 81; +3 / 71 ; +4.75 / 71; +8.5 / SNACK / 83

PMPS / 97; +1.25 / 124; +2 / 108; +2 / 66; +4.75 / 73; +8.5 / SNACK / 83

April 27:
AMPS / 108; +1.25 / 99; +2.25 / 62; +3 / 56 ; +4.5 / 56; +8.25 / SNACK / 69; +10.75 / 104

PMPS / 108; +1.25 / 112; +2 / 79; +3 / 62; +5.5 / 67; +8.5 / SNACK / 58; +10 / 64

Wishing everyone a great day.
 
Re: 5/7 Zeke AMPS/ 115; Any suggestions?

I had a "out of my own experience" thought.

Have you ever checked your current dose by making a test syringe and seeing if a drop is actually coming out of the syringe?
I found that when I was down to that last "supposed dose" that when I actually tested it, I had nothing coming out of the syringe at all. ( and I was having numbers in the's low 100's too)
I had to backtrack and give 2 drops to actually get a drop out of the syringe.....( note: I have terumo syringes which have no extra in the cone area)
 
Re: 5/7 Zeke AMPS/ 115; Any suggestions?

You do realize that a week of mostly green (and below 120) numbers qualifies for a dose reduction, don't you?
 
Re: 5/7 Zeke AMPS/ 115; Any suggestions?

Can I ask why you're not trying OTJ? Most vets would probably suggest it since you're barely giving any insulin at all and his numbers are looking great.
 
Re: 5/7 Zeke AMPS/ 115; Any suggestions?

today is the 7th day past the 164 on the 30th . . . and everything since then is under 120.

i don't have any suggestions other than to give the OTJ trial a go. :mrgreen: if you wanted to do that, you start on a green preshot number. what do you think about it?

Zeke looks awfully good, laura!
 
Well DH has been doing the shots for over a week. DH is out of town until Friday night so tonight I resumed shot duties. Well I had big time problems tonight. It looks to me like this batch of syringes is not the same as the ones I last used (the marked doses looks very off). I did have the calipers set but the dose was gonna be so much larger than what we'd been giving (based on markings on past syringes) that I just wasn't comfortable giving Zeke that dose. I opted to short him vs risk overdosing him. Well see how the night plays out.

As for why no OJT trial yet - I hadn't felt that Zeke's numbers were good enough for an OTJ trial as he was having food spikes over 120. I felt it might be best to just wait and see if his numbers would improve to the point of staying consistently under 100 before trying OTJ. However, based on tonight's issues, if he does well nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile then I guess I'll skip the shot tomorrow. I'm really nervous that Zeke may not be ready to go juice free.

I did notice something else out of the ordinary with the syringes tonight. The lubrication was so thick that there were drops of it coming out of the syringe needle. I've never noticed that before. I went through 5 syringes before I finally decided to just give Zeke a reduced dose and found one that didn't have so much lube.
 
Re: 5/7 Zeke AMPS/ 115; Any suggestions?

so much lubricant that it was dripping? that sounds disturbing! what brand are the syringes?

if you do a trial and it doesn't hold, you're not any worse off for the attempt. You can always go back on.
 
Re: 5/7 Zeke AMPS/ 115; Any suggestions?

Hi Laura,

No advice from me. Just know that whether it begins tomorrow or at a later time, my paws are crossed for a solid remission for Zeke! I did stalk Dwight's Boots today to see how things were going. I noticed greens on the SS for the last several tests, even though Boots mostly had blues during the OTJ trial. I don't know if it's common for kitties to bring down their numbers even more on their own the longer they are OTJ, but I thought it was interesting.

Sending anti-stress vines to you!
Shelly
 
Julie, yes it was very disturbing. We've been using UltiCare syringes from the ADW website. This is the first time I've ever noticed this happen. Should I change Zeke's feeding routine? Maybe breakout his meals even more than normal?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top