Re: 5/3 Do Lou pmps 305+1 235+2 278+3 199

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 5/3 Do Lou amps 255 +4.5 103+5 100+6 117

Hour by hour, each hour you make it, is one hour of withdrawal you won't have to repeat ever again. Happy Day 4!!!
 
Re: 5/3 Do Lou amps 255 +4.5 103+5 100+6 117

Oh I'm glad you tried the grinder! It does make a difference in taste and if you have to go decaf at least you can have a better tasting decaf!

4 days is a big deal! Congratulations! You're past the worst of it now so hopefully it gets easier. You can do it! It sucks that there's not an easier way to get off that stuff, it sucks even more that you had to start using it in the first place =( I wish they could come up with some better drugs for pain without the addictive side effects.

I don't claim to be an herbalist or anything like that so I don't know about interactions and such, so do your own research and talk to your doc but I have had good experiences with eating spicy food... I know it sounds nuts but Thai food, Pad Thai or oh heck... green curry? Whenever I eat it I find my back pain has disappeared. My sis says the same thing. Something in the pepper is a pain reliever. If you've gotta be addicted to somethin'.... spicy Thai food is a much better way to go ;-)
 
Re: 5/3 Do Lou amps 255 +4.5 103+5 100+6 117

HI Lisa and Do Lou! Wow lots of excitement here this morning, sorry I missed it!!! Lisa you did great! I absolutely panicked the first time I saw low numbers! Believe me you will start to welcome them, I would get so excited when Scrabble would drop below 50 because I knew he was doing so well and healing!! Hope you have a happy Monday and I am sure you are breathing again now, lol! Take care!
 
Re: 5/3 Do Lou amps 255 +4.5 103+5 100+6 117

You didn't give him any dry today right? I could be wrong, especially since I haven't read anything (that I can remember) on this but I think when a cat switches from dry food to wet LC that the positive effect (lower numbers) can show up progressively. It is something I have noticed in SSs. Yellow is not a bad place to be during this transition -- my gut says, 5.5u and the numbers will come, less dramatically but I believe they will come. NOW if he is headed to the moon at PS time then you might want to stick with the 5.75u for one cycle. Then again, think of stress level -- nothing done in one cycle will screw up his future. Please weigh your own needs along with his come shot time.
 
Re: 5/3 Do Lou amps 255 +4.5 103+5 100+6 117

D and Noisy said:
You didn't give him any dry today right? I could be wrong, especially since I haven't read anything (that I can remember) on this but I think when a cat switches from dry food to wet LC that the positive effect (lower numbers) can show up progressively. It is something I have noticed in SSs. Yellow is not a bad place to be during this transition -- my gut says, 5.5u and the numbers will come, less dramatically but I believe they will come. NOW if he is headed to the moon at PS time then you might want to stick with the 5.75u for one cycle. Then again, think of stress level -- nothing done in one cycle will screw up his future. Please weigh your own needs along with his come shot time.
He has had the freeze dried raw today in addition to his raw this morning I agree if he is high tonight I will stick with the 5.75 or go with 5.5 if he stays blue I will wait and see
 
Re: 5/3 Do Lou amps 255 +4.5 103+5 100+6 117

Now THAT is a beautiful surf!!! Guess what? Proof positive that Do Lou is getting better!!
CELEBRATE WITH A BIG PIECE OF CHOCOLATE (a Must for anyone on this board!!)
You are having a great numbers day now!!!
Do a little Happy Dance!!--It's all OK now!! BREATHE!!!!! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 5/3 Do Lou amps 255 +5 100+6 117+7 155

Hi Lisa,

You are doing great. I nearly needed a defribrilator when Tizon went green the 1st time.... it's totally normal for the bean to be a mess... we've all been there! :YMHUG: I was also worried that Tizon would get out of bed to eat... and well, he got out on his own eventually.... at 50, the cats often wonder why we are in a panic.... did you get the "what's wrong with ma mamabean?" look from Do Lou this morning?

I was told a million times that if one follows the protocol properly up the dosing scale (and everything else held equal), the dose can only be off by 0.25U. The body reacts to the tiny overdose and the liver kicks in (well, the liver kicks in a lot at the start). Because we monitor, we can see that our cats have overgrown their dose and an adjustment is made. I know that you've switch Do Lou's food, but D and the others are keeping a close eye on you.... Make sense?

Do Lou is doing fine and you will learn to love green! You are in good hand on the board and with gravy, a meter and lots of strips, you are pretty much invincible!

Yay to Super Lisa!
 
Re: 5/3 Do Lou amps 255 +5 100+6 117+7 155

D walked me through Gabby's first set of low numbers, too. It can be harrowing! She taught me a great deal.

Let me do a bit of summarizing so you can have some guidelines to go by in the odd chance that no one is around. Others feel free to chime in. When low numbers occur (i.e., early vs. late in the cycle) and how much momentum there is (i.e., how big is the drop since a drop from 400 to 50 at +2 is a lot of momentum vs. 100 to 50 which isn't bad) are all factors to take in consideration.
  • Green numbers in the 50s and 60s or above are a great place for Do Lou to surf. Often a few bites of LC will keep the surf going.
  • Below 50, try LC first if numbers are in the higher 40s and see if the numbers come up.
  • If it's early in the cycle and there's momentum or if you have experience with higher greens and know LC won't bring numbers up, use MC food to steer the numbers. (Remember, LC + HC = MC)
  • If numbers are below 40, MC or HC should be used to bring numbers up.
  • Karo is useful if there are symptoms of a hypo. Remember that it acts quickly and is gone just as quickly. Getting food on board at the same time will help to stabilize numbers. (If you looked at Putty's condo today, I don't believe that Miriam fed Karo even with Putty being in the 20s.)
Whether you use MC or HC will depend on how carb sensitive Do Lou is. How you know this is from experience with steering the numbers using food.

I know you are scared about hypo based on your experience with N. Remember, Lantus is a very different insulin than N. You've watched a lot of kitties here have very low numbers and be completely asymptomatic -- even with overdoses. You've also seen how those numbers can be managed with food. A couple of times doing this and you will be a pro.
 
Re: 5/3 Do Lou amps 255 +5 100+6 117+7 155

Yep... what she said :mrgreen:

Print Sienne's post and tape it to your fridge or cabinet door. Seriously, it'll make you feel better just to see it there and know that you have the information you need, even when your brain is in panic mode and you think you can't think straight. It'll help you breathe and calm down.

Take a sharpie and write carb contents on the can tops so you can decide which food to feed which numbers, again you won't have to think or find the list to look up the number. It'll be there when you need it.

I printed off the List and color coded it 0-5 % is all highlighted in green, 6-10% in blue, 11-15% in yellow and the stuff that's left not highlighted is high carb. At the top of the list I wrote that on the corner so son and hubby could see at a glance what the colors meant. I need to make myself two more copies, one for my purse and one for my desk because I'm tired of trying to remember where I left the single copy I have which goes between those places and the kitchen.

I found that I felt more confident that I could do whatever needed to be done, that I was in control and had planned as well as I could using the experiences of other people that I'd read about here. I never really needed to worry because someone really was always here when I had a question, but it helped to print stuff off and leave myself notes.
 
Re: 5/3 Do Lou amps 255 +5 100+6 117+7 155

Sienne and Gabby said:
D walked me through Gabby's first set of low numbers, too. It can be harrowing! She taught me a great deal.

Let me do a bit of summarizing so you can have some guidelines to go by in the odd chance that no one is around. Others feel free to chime in. When low numbers occur (i.e., early vs. late in the cycle) and how much momentum there is (i.e., how big is the drop since a drop from 400 to 50 at +2 is a lot of momentum vs. 100 to 50 which isn't bad) are all factors to take in consideration.
  • Green numbers in the 50s and 60s or above are a great place for Do Lou to surf. Often a few bites of LC will keep the surf going.
  • Below 50, try LC first if numbers are in the higher 40s and see if the numbers come up.
  • If it's early in the cycle and there's momentum or if you have experience with higher greens and know LC won't bring numbers up, use MC food to steer the numbers. (Remember, LC + HC = MC)
  • If numbers are below 40, MC or HC should be used to bring numbers up.
  • Karo is useful if there are symptoms of a hypo. Remember that it acts quickly and is gone just as quickly. Getting food on board at the same time will help to stabilize numbers. (If you looked at Putty's condo today, I don't believe that Miriam fed Karo even with Putty being in the 20s.)
Whether you use MC or HC will depend on how carb sensitive Do Lou is. How you know this is from experience with steering the numbers using food.

I know you are scared about hypo based on your experience with N. Remember, Lantus is a very different insulin than N. You've watched a lot of kitties here have very low numbers and be completely asymptomatic -- even with overdoses. You've also seen how those numbers can be managed with food. A couple of times doing this and you will be a pro.
Thanks Sienne wonderful advice and yes I did panic
 
Re: 5/3 Do Lou amps 255 +5 100+6 117+7 155

Marvie and Tugger said:
Yep... what she said :mrgreen:

Print Sienne's post and tape it to your fridge or cabinet door. Seriously, it'll make you feel better just to see it there and know that you have the information you need, even when your brain is in panic mode and you think you can't think straight. It'll help you breathe and calm down.

Take a sharpie and write carb contents on the can tops so you can decide which food to feed which numbers, again you won't have to think or find the list to look up the number. It'll be there when you need it.

I printed off the List and color coded it 0-5 % is all highlighted in green, 6-10% in blue, 11-15% in yellow and the stuff that's left not highlighted is high carb. At the top of the list I wrote that on the corner so son and hubby could see at a glance what the colors meant. I need to make myself two more copies, one for my purse and one for my desk because I'm tired of trying to remember where I left the single copy I have which goes between those places and the kitchen.

I found that I felt more confident that I could do whatever needed to be done, that I was in control and had planned as well as I could using the experiences of other people that I'd read about here. I never really needed to worry because someone really was always here when I had a question, but it helped to print stuff off and leave myself notes.
Yes its been printed and I will take the J&B chart to the cupboard and mark my cans I bought some more at petsmart while I was out
 
Re: 5/3 Do Lou amps 255 +5 100+8 224+10 241

+10 241 well he has certainly gone yellow now guess I gave him way too much stuff I have learned from this if nothing else I guess but man I freaked :roll:
 
Re: 5/3 Do Lou amps 255 +5 100+6 117+7 155

Helene & Tizon said:
Hi Lisa,

You are doing great. I nearly needed a defribrilator when Tizon went green the 1st time.... it's totally normal for the bean to be a mess... we've all been there! :YMHUG: I was also worried that Tizon would get out of bed to eat... and well, he got out on his own eventually.... at 50, the cats often wonder why we are in a panic.... did you get the "what's wrong with ma mamabean?" look from Do Lou this morning?

I was told a million times that if one follows the protocol properly up the dosing scale (and everything else held equal), the dose can only be off by 0.25U. The body reacts to the tiny overdose and the liver kicks in (well, the liver kicks in a lot at the start). Because we monitor, we can see that our cats have overgrown their dose and an adjustment is made. I know that you've switch Do Lou's food, but D and the others are keeping a close eye on you.... Make sense?

Do Lou is doing fine and you will learn to love green! You are in good hand on the board and with gravy, a meter and lots of strips, you are pretty much invincible!

Yay to Super Lisa!
Yes this was exactly how I felt this morning and its was like OK I know green is good but I am having a breakdown anyway
 
Re: 5/3 Do Lou amps 255 +5 100+8 224+10 241

pmps 305 :sad: :sad: well I do hate to see that pink he is eating his meat gave him his shot and have learned from today I hope anyway hope we are slowly getting on track I can see I must have given him way too much stuff as the day went on as I was able to get him to eat <sigh>
 
Re: 5/3 Do Lou pmps 305

It's ok! You'll know what to do next time now =) Don't upset yourself over it, just make note of what you fed and when on your ss. That way, next time you can see what you did and try something different =) Everything we do is a learning experience for the next time!
 
Re: 5/3 Do Lou pmps 305

Lisa, you did just fine. It isn't easy to be in those shoes for the first time (it does get better, but there is still anxiety!). When you look at your today's condo in a few months you will be amazed at how far you have come. Now, just sit back, kick off your shoes, and have a nice evening. So what if Do Lou has a bounce. That's part of the healing process, too. And just think of the terrific learning process!! Send your boy off to Max's party so he can regale all his pals with today's story!!

Ella & Stu
 
Re: 5/3 Do Lou pmps 305

Hi, Lisa & Do Lou too!! Awesomely amazing day, eh? Way to go!! Sooooooo excited for you!! This is what we want & lil man is on the right eating plan too!! Lil Rebound from seeing lower #s today.. Liver Training School ;-) Most of us go thru it.. kitties graduate when they want though!
 
Re: 5/3 Do Lou pmps 305

I saw your notes on SS. To put it bluntly -- you are wrong, a good wrong! The reason you are seeing pink is not from the karo, the MC, or any other intervening -- if it were those things they would be gone by now. You are seeing pink because Do Lou had a fast drop in the early part of the cycle and bounced from it. There's nothing we can do about that except be thankful he has a liver that will step in when needed.
You didn't do anything wrong. I don't like using Karo but MC and HC yes. It wasn't the food or the karo. It is important for us to know why a cat's numbers went were they did so this is a case of bouncing from a fast/low drop. If he dropped to BG 55 at +3.5 from now, would you feed, yes you would. Karo is the only thing I wouldn't do unless it was a dangerously low number. Karo doesn't stick around very long, which is one the reasons we don't like it. Food can hold them steady for a few hours.
This is a good time to get a +1 or +2 -- see if he was still headed up. 305 is a very low pink and he is looking for a dosecrease.
 
Re: 5/3 Do Lou pmps 305

Just got that + 1 235 and Ok I am glad I did not do anything wrong and its another learning FD experience for me to remember that this was a bounce I will not use karo again unless last measure I was of course in a panic mode and he would not eat so that is why I did that plus I did not have a lot of flavors in the house that he really likes of mc/hc I do now.
 
Re: 5/3 Do Lou pmps 305

Well Lisa you made it through your first day of green....pretty soon you will be upset when you don't see green.
As D said you did not do anything wrong. Take a look at Putty's numbers from today. He went very low and I only gave him HC but he is 303 because of the bounce just like Do Lou.
Great job.....and congratulations on Day 4 for you. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 5/3 Do Lou pmps 305

D and Noisy said:
Just saw the +1 235. I forget did you say you have 18% wet food in the house?

Well I thought I was buying 18% this is what happens when you do not take the chart with you so this is what I have I 18%, 2 17%, 6 15%, 5 11% plus I overlooked the fact that I had g/d and w/d in the house and g/d is 32 and w/d is 25 but he does not like them so chances of getting him to eat them slim but I have some. I will make sure to get more 18% taking the chart with me next time jeez I thought I was getting the right thing today
 
Re: 5/3 Do Lou pmps 305

Will DL mind if we get a +2 and +3ish -- want to see if he's headed back down or headed up. Might be a very good night to show how food gives you control.
 
Re: 5/3 Do Lou pmps 305

What you have is a nice variety we can work with that until you get more.
How are ya feeling? Are you eating?
 
Re: 5/3 Do Lou pmps 305

Lisa I hope you are OK..This all is what we all encounter--Part of the deal, and once you learn to control it, more or less, it will become easier-
Hope the rest of the evening goes easier for you--HUGS!!!!
 
Re: 5/3 Do Lou pmps 305

D and Noisy said:
What you have is a nice variety we can work with that until you get more.
How are ya feeling? Are you eating?

No he is really good about testing I can get a +2 and a +3 no problem there and yes I ate dinner DH insisted I think I am better mentally tonight if he does this again.
 
Re: 5/3 Do Lou pmps 305

Nicole & Baby said:
Hi, Lisa & Do Lou too!! Awesomely amazing day, eh? Way to go!! Sooooooo excited for you!! This is what we want & lil man is on the right eating plan too!! Lil Rebound from seeing lower #s today.. Liver Training School ;-) Most of us go thru it.. kitties graduate when they want though!
Thanks Nicole its been really hard to not give him dry since he still runs to the closet and begs for it he loves the prairie freeze dried so I just break off a little one of these when he just has to have something and its seems to be working for now until I can think of something better
 
Re: 5/3 Do Lou pmps 305+1 235+2 278

That +2 actually looks pretty good. If you look at the sticky with the "usual curve," the pre-shot # and +2 should be about the same. The Lantus should be kicking in soon.

You are doing great on every count.
 
Do Lou is looking great and you were great today too. Look at that, back in the blues already. He must not care for RBC very much. Here's to a blue surf! drinking24 But going up again is pretty common too, so don't worry!

I don't know why more of us aren't taken to the ER ourselves when we go through this the first time.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top