Re: 5/11 Vesta AMPS 357 PMPS 98 +12.5 68 +13 71 HELP PLEASE

Status
Not open for further replies.

Weather Girl

Member Since 2010
yesterday:

So do we shoot and feed? Just feed? Suggestions please.... (for now we're just feeding dinner... and plan on checking in 1/2 hour to determine if shooting pm)

There is a slight possibility that there is meter error- DH dropped it just prior to dispensing a strip and getting the reading. He's doing a control test right now. Alright, just finished the control, which read 105 which means the meter isn't broken. Good times.
 
Re: 5/11 Vesta AMPS 357, PMPS 98 HELP PLEASE

are you able to monitor tonight? have plenty of test strips? And do you have high carb wet food on hand in case we need to steer the cycle?
 
Re: 5/11 Vesta AMPS 357, PMPS 98, +0.5 68 HELP PLEASE

Libby and Lucy said:
are you able to monitor tonight? have plenty of test strips? And do you have high carb wet food on hand in case we need to steer the cycle?

yes, yes, and no on the high carb wet- we do have dry food though. She's with my DH at my parents house so we're limited on food options, but I know there's kibble available if need be.

Should I use the 911 symbol? It doesn't seem like a major emergency...but this is our lowest number EVER and are a little nervous. She's behaving normally.
 
Re: 5/11 Vesta AMPS 357, PMPS 98, +0.5 68 HELP PLEASE

it has been 1/2 hour, I would test again and if the number is about the same or higher, shoot! Then get a +1 and +2, because that's what we do when we shoot our lowest preshot. Any time you see a number you don't like, you can intervene with food.

If you don't have high carb wet food, do you have syrup you can mix in with the low carb food if needed? Dry food takes too long to kick in, and stays in the system too long.
 
Re: 5/11 Vesta AMPS 357, PMPS 98, +0.5 68 HELP PLEASE

No, it's not an emergency and we're following.

Do you have any syrup in the house? In a pinch, you can mix it with LC food or drizzle it on the top instead of HC. HC is better but syrup will do. (You can use Karo, maple syrup, honey, etc.)
 
Re: 5/11 Vesta AMPS 357, PMPS 98, +0.5 68 HELP PLEASE

Did the 1/2 hour, it was 68. She's not exhibiting anything unusual behaviorally.

As far as syrup options, we have maple syrup and sweetened condensed milk.
 
Re: 5/11 Vesta AMPS 357, PMPS 98, +0.5 68 HELP PLEASE

I would use the maple syrup if you have to. Some kitties are lactose intolerant! (Go figure!!)

I would also give Vesta a bite or two, not much -- maybe about 1/16 of a can of FF, about a teaspoonful. You want to keep her surfing and some LC may do that. You do not want to over-feed.
 
Re: 5/11 Vesta AMPS 357, PMPS 98, +0.5 68 HELP PLEASE

just to summarize, you are not there with Vetsa? DH is there - is he the type who will test and feed her cycle for several hours?

I'm thinking that because you're not there, and because you didn't work up to your dose in 0.25 increments the way we do (you jumped from 1 unit to 2), we don't have enough data for you to shoot green. That leaves a choice between stalling until she gets over about 100, or shooting a reduced dose tonight. What do you think?
 
Re: 5/11 Vesta AMPS 357, PMPS 98, +0.5 68 HELP PLEASE

Sorry if I confused you. I somehow missed a post and thought you'd shot. (I saw the +.5 vs. a +12.5). Don't feed until Libby advises you to.
 
Re: 5/11 Vesta AMPS 357, PMPS 98, +0.5 68 HELP PLEASE

+1 was 71. Hold steady? Feed?

Thank you all so very much in advance...
 
Re: 5/11 Vesta AMPS 357, PMPS 98, +0.5 68 HELP PLEASE

Sienne and Gabby said:
Sorry if I confused you. I somehow missed a post and thought you'd shot. (I saw the +.5 vs. a +12.5). Don't feed until Libby advises you to.

I edited the title to avoid confusion.
 
Re: 5/11 Vesta AMPS 357, PMPS 98, +0.5 68 HELP PLEASE

Did you see this post? I'm wondering what your thoughts are. Stall or shoot? Also, what is your schedule in the morning (how long could you stall tonight and still be able to shoot at +12 in the morning?)

Libby and Lucy said:
just to summarize, you are not there with Vetsa? DH is there - is he the type who will test and feed her cycle for several hours?

I'm thinking that because you're not there, and because you didn't work up to your dose in 0.25 increments the way we do (you jumped from 1 unit to 2), we don't have enough data for you to shoot green. That leaves a choice between stalling until she gets over about 100, or shooting a reduced dose tonight. What do you think?
 
Sorry- missed that one :(

I'm at work right now, and was planning on spending the night at a friends closer to my office (we're refinishing the floors in ours condo right now and DH and the cats are at my parents) He's willing to stall for another 4 hours or so if need be (midnight, what would have been +5) and still shoot at 7am (our usual +12).

I really have no idea what to do right now- obviously shooting when she's around 70 isn't a good option, but just not sure where to go from there.
 
Re: 5/11 Vesta AMPS 357, PMPS 98, +0.5 68 HELP PLEASE

Libby and Lucy said:
I'm thinking that because you're not there, and because you didn't work up to your dose in 0.25 increments the way we do (you jumped from 1 unit to 2), we don't have enough data for you to shoot green. That leaves a choice between stalling until she gets over about 100, or shooting a reduced dose tonight. What do you think?

I feel ucky about not working the dose up slow now... frustrated I listened to a vet I didn't have a ton of confidence in to begin with. We're good to stall for another 3 1/2 hours or so (what would have been +5). When she gets up over 100, what should we shoot? We've been using the solostar pen, but have syringes with 1/2 unit increments as well.
 
if you stall 4 hours, you can't shoot at your usual +12, you have to shoot 12 hours after the time you actually shot. I'm not sure what time zone you're in or what time it is now. If you shoot now then the shot is due 12 hours from now.

Vesta is surfing at around 70. Has she had her dinner already? Has she been eating normally today?

This is a shootable number *if* DH is willing to stay up and monitor for as long as necessary. Since this is the first time you've been in this range, a reduced shot is probably the way to go. Then you would need to get a +1 and +2 to see which way she's going, and those will tell us whether additional tests are needed.
 
Libby and Lucy said:
if you stall 4 hours, you can't shoot at your usual +12, you have to shoot 12 hours after the time you actually shot. I'm not sure what time zone you're in or what time it is now. If you shoot now then the shot is due 12 hours from now.

Vesta is surfing at around 70. Has she had her dinner already? Has she been eating normally today?

This is a shootable number *if* DH is willing to stay up and monitor for as long as necessary. Since this is the first time you've been in this range, a reduced shot is probably the way to go. Then you would need to get a +1 and +2 to see which way she's going, and those will tell us whether additional tests are needed.

+13.5 (1.5 past when we would have shot) is 75. Eating totally normally.

Pacific time zone. She usually gets her shots at 7am/pm. It's 830pm now. We are available, time-wise, to do a +12 as late as 1pm tomorrow, so that's not an issue.

DH can stay up till midnight-ish, and I can get there just after that if things aren't smoothing out.

I guess the main question is, what would you do? Shoot a smaller dose, or hold off until the am? Whatever you think would be more effective both short term and long term is what we'll make work.
 
if it were my cat, I would shoot at this point. Stalling messes up the shed a little bit, but skipping messes it up more. She's surfing, not dropping, and assuming that you feed when you shoot she should start to go up. Usually with Lantus, if you shoot low they just keep surfing at a nice number for hours. Sometimes they drop. If they drop, then you can intervene with low carb food, or with high carb food if needed. You can control the curve with food, as long as you are testing so you know you need to control the curve. :smile:

This will get a lot easier after the first time. You'll find that you LOVE shooting lower numbers because of the nice flat curves you'll get. The first time is scary, though.
 
Shooting sounds like a plan- what should we shoot? 1 unit?

And now we'll do the am shot at 9am (+12 from now)? Can we work her back to the 7/7 schedule? That's pretty much the only times that work for us long term (we've moved stuff around to make sure we're there at those times).
 
that sounds like a plan, 1 unit is good for now. Tomorrow you'll go back to your regular dose. Yes, tomorrow's shot will be due at 9:00, but if she's high enough you can shoot as early as +11.

I would also get at least a +1 and +2 tonight. As I said before, you can control the cycle with food. +1 is usually a little higher than PS, +2 should be about the same. If she's dropping at those tests, then you should go ahead and feed a little more to try to get her to surf. If she drops more than you want, mix a drop or two of syrup into her food and that should give her a bump.

I'm going to bed, but others should be around if you need help!
 
Thank you thank you thank you.

DH just gave her 1 unit, along with a small amount of wet w/kibble mixed in (not a lot of kibble- just enough to get her excited about eating so soon after dinner).

We'll see how it goes in the morning- whether we shoot at +11 (which I don't think DH will be home for but maybe... if not, I'll be able to get there for +12).
 
Looks like we may be stabilizing. She read a 98 at the new +1 (which should have been +3 if we had given her the shot at normal time). One more good number like that at +2 and we can head to bed.

Thanks again...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top