Re: 4/17 Angel's pmps~434,+3.5~396

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lynn and Angel

Member Since 2009
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=12182

I'm getting very discouraged and am almost back to the crying stage. What is going on? I switched to flank shots earlier this week and started getting much better results. Then he started over-reacting to those (meaning biting me, jerking, hissing) and I'm not sure now if I've just been giving fur shots about every other cycle. A +5 in the 400's??? that's just killing me. I guess I will go back to scruff shots tonight even though that seemed to be having a poorer absorption. I'm poised to give a dose increase, but until I feel like he's getting a true cycle (meaning I'm sure it's not a fur shot or a new bounce) I'm not willing for him to suddenly be getting too much insulin. Please check my ss and tell me what you think.
 
Re: 4/17 Angel's amps~416,+5~424 :(

Doesnt look like the flank shots are working for you! Go back to the scruff, as in the flank, you may be hitting the muscle, which does hurt them...Lynn, dont get discouraged, you got some nice blue numbers on this dose..Be consistant & patient, isnt that our motto??
I feel your upset & understand--Hope Angel does a turnaround..She did well on 2.75 and 3.00 before. Hope you can find the answer.
 
Re: 4/17 Angel's amps~416,+5~424 :(

I agree with Roni about going back to the scruff shots. I tried the flank shots for BigMac... and he cried out and flinched, so I never did it again. I decided it was more important to get the insulin in safely and surely rather than worry so much about absorption rates. If the scruff is slower absorption or not as effective for your kitty, then find a dose that works in the scruff. Fur shots and Angel's discomfort say to me... move back to another easier location.

(((Lynn)))
 
Re: 4/17 Angel's amps~416,+5~424 :(

hmm, what is your gut feeling about the fur shots? are you thinking fur shot because of the numbers, or because you really don't think you got it in? It does look like more insulin is needed, but if you do really think you've been giving fur shots then it might be best to wait a couple of cycles. If you're just suspecting fur shots because of the numbers, then go ahead and increase and monitor, and just be prepared to drop the dose again if it's working too well, kwim?
 
Re: 4/17 Angel's amps~416,+8~416 :(

Thanks for all of your thoughts. This has shaped up to be the ugliest cycle on his whole spreadsheet - which goes back to last July!!!
So I will definitely go back to scruff shots tonight. Libby, I feel physically like I'm not getting the insulin in, plus the nos. kind of bear it out. I think if he'd gotten some he would have dipped down a little and not be this high and flat.
The question I have now is this should I do as D has once suggested to me - shoot early (+11?) as well as change locations; or do I change locations and give him a dose increase (3.25)? I certainly can't change all 3 things in one cycle. I can't continue for very long the +11 shooting, but could do so most of this weekends as long as the nos. dictate. I feel like it could possibly be a good idea for this one cycle at least - got to break out of this. So +11 is in 2.5 hours so I'll check back to see if anyone has an opinion. Thanks again.
 
Re: 4/17 Angel's amps~416,+8~416 :(

Hope her numbers get better I sure understand the crying stage it appears thats where I have been. I did my first scruff shot today my vets push the flank area. Hang in there hope things turn around soon for you two :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 4/17 Angel's amps~416,+8~416 Dose Help?

More or less bumping this up to see if any of the experienced folks can advise re earlier shooting vs. increase?
 
Re: 4/17 Angel's amps~416,+8~416 Dose Help?

I'm just posting to give you some (((hugs))) and wish you good luck.
 
Re: 4/17 Angel's amps~416,+8~416 Dose Help?

Lynn --

I'm seeing if I can round up D or one of the other folk who are more experienced with shooting early than I am.

I had a similar experience with giving Gabby flank shots last week. Gabby had a very good cycle with the first flank shot. Beyond that, I wasn't confident that I was getting the insulin in or if I'd given a fur shot. We're back to scruff shots.
 
Re: 4/17 Angel's amps~416,+8~416 Dose Help?

whether to shoot early depends on what the +11 is. If he's on the way up from +8, then SHOOOOOOOOT! But if not, then don't. I wouldn't shoot at +11 AND do an increase at the same time. Also, remember that if you shoot at +11 tonight, you'll be an hour off schedule. If that means you'll have to do a +13 to move back, then it might not be a good idea.

Is it +11 yet? Or can you get a +10 to see where he is?
 
Re: 4/17 Angel's amps~416,+8~416 Dose Help?

oh lynn .. I am sorry you are having such a nasty cycle ... not real sure what to tell you about the dosing/location ... I hope whatever you decide to do shows some improvement ... I know this is frustrating ...
 
Re: 4/17 Angel's amps~416,+8~416 Dose Help?

It's 10.75 and he's 434.

I can be off schedule for the next 3 cycles if need be. ie do a +12 then maybe a +12.5 and then another to make up
 
Re: 4/17 Angel's amps~416,+8~416 Dose Help?

Wow, you're a brave soul going with flank shots! I tried that once with Shadoe and never again!
I don't think the scruff is poorer absorption but rather slower. And if I had a choice of slow and steady over quick and sudden, I'll take the first choice!

While the numbers may be lousy, how's Angel? I can't say anything towards fur shots or shooting early, but just wanted to ask how Angel's acting with the changes in her numbers.
 
Re: 4/17 Angel's pmps~434

Thank you! He was just hooted in the scruff at +11 (no dose increase). As nos. dictate I can do about anything in the way of creative schedule changes for the next few cycles.
 
Re: 4/17 Angel's pmps~434

See what he does with his numbers but shooting 15 minutes late, until you get back on schedule should be fine.
Sometimes due to numbers you might want a different plan.
 
Re: 4/17 Angel's pmps~434

Gayle, He acts like he feels fine. The biggest difference in him when his nos are high is that he acts a little restless and doesn't sleep much. He's out in the front yard just shifting around and changing positions and talks to me when I go out to check on him. I noticed that when he first started getting lower nos that he'd actually curl up and sleep for a few hours like the rest of my cats (and dogs). All my other 5 pets have slept the whole afternoon away but not him. Don't know if that happens with other cats or not. He's not drinking excessively or peeing too much (though he's been outside so I can't really tell).
Sienne, I probably got the whole shooting in the flank for a change idea from your condo to begin with. I hadn't seen that you were having trouble with it and had gone back to the scruff. Angel just doesn't seem to have very loose skin in that area and it takes me too long to try to get it pinched right and by then he's twisting and trying to bite.
 
Re: 4/17 Angel's pmps~434

Lynn,
I had to laugh at your saying skin tight and can't pinch any because Shadoe is tight like a little football and that was my big issue! At least the scruff has some give! So yeah, I just stick wiith the scruff and be done with it.

I asked how Angel is doing because often, people look so closely at the numbers that they completely lose sight of the cat! It's better to look at how Angel is acting and what changes you see because the numbers will come when Angel's good and ready, and not when you want.

I think that Angel acting out of sorts on higher numbers is a good sign in a way because it makes me think that Angel has not had a problem for long. The high numbers feel wrong. I had a problem with Shadoe acting good with high numbers but when we got lower ones, she acted like whoa what's going on here??? It took some doing but now she is acting like the right numbers are the right numbers.

Always watch for those visual changes because they can tell you so much. Sure the numbers are important, but cats are tricky and often hide their feelings. Always ask if something has changed or looks odd; someone will have a reply.
 
Re: 4/17 Angel's pmps~434+3.5~396

Moving down a little but I'm not expecting much from this cycle... lots of shed rebuilding to do. I'm setting my alarm for +11 so that if he's over 300 I will shoot early again... does that sound like a good plan? Let me know if that's a bad idea; there won't be many people around at 5:00 am eastern standard tomorrow to ask! Maybe 2 back to back early cycles will help and then tomorrow night I'll do +12 again and give an increase if needed.
 
sheesh Angel, come down from there!

Shooting early sounds fine to me, if he's still high. Maybe that will help kick start something.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top