Re: 3/9 Tawny pmps 238; +282; Still assist feeding

Status
Not open for further replies.

DD & Tinkerbell

Member Since 2009
Yesterday

From yesterday:
Sienne and Gabby said:
Ummmm......

Desi -- don't you work for an attorney? Not that I'm saying you should threaten legal action, but dropping that you're in the legal field may get the vet's attention... -- especially if you have a friend or employer who would like nothing more than to go after someone that's treated you badly.
I do, but (1) they travel in the same circles, he would not confront her (think "small rural community") & (2) we have a like/hate relationship, which is usually more hate than like (I am usually 2 steps from walking out the front door for good), so no way will he go up against the only local vet for me.

As Dyana mentioned yesterday, it is important to not feed the same food kitty normal gets when assist feeding as they may develop an aversion to it. Tawny is getting chicken Friskies LC which is not her normal food.

Yesterday also Tina mentioned bile duct inflammation, the vet did mention inflammatory bowel disease as a possibility, but I don't think she explored this option.

This morning Tawny still will not eat on her own, so I am finger feeding her. She got off the bed last night about midnight & went to lay in her favorite basket. When I woke up this a.m. she wasn't there and I found her downstairs lying next to the water bowl which hopefully means she wanted a drink and went after it, tho it was as if the trek to the water bowl wore her out. I had but one upstairs too but she must not of realized it, I've showed it to her this a.m.

I brought her back upstairs & checked her BG, 107. There was no shot last night & altho I don't like one bit that I had to do this with her dropping like she was and not eating I didn't know what else to do. I have backed her off to her pre-vet 5u (she was getting a hair over 5 actually but I backed it to 5) mainly b/c I have to consider the work week and being gone 10-11 hrs a day. If she's too low and not eating I can't shoot and just leave food out for her. So far this a.m. I have managed to get a little over an 1/8th of a can of chicken Friskies LC into her.

I gave her some Tramadol last night which seemed to help, she laid next to me & switched her tail for a long time last night.

I just pray she starts eating on her own today.
 
Re: 3/9 Tawny amps 107; +2/161 Still assist feeding

Lots of HUGS, pets, headbutts and prayers for all of you right now. PLEASE start eating better sweet girl - Mama has enough on her shoulders right now.

Another BIG HUGE HUG Desi....
 
Re: 3/9 Tawny amps 107; +2/161 Still assist feeding

Have you tried non-cat food -- things like KFC or Libby's favorite for Lucy, Chik-fil-A? Does Tawny like baby food?
 
Re: 3/9 Tawny amps 107; +2/161 Still assist feeding

Hi Desi,
I hope Tawny will be feeling better today. Perhaps try some Beechnut Stage 1 Babyfood? I give Rusty this when I feed him his daily "lung treat" (Allerplex). Either Turkey and turkey broth or Chicken and chicken broth are good choices, because they don't have added onions, etc. it would be easy to syringe feed (i finger feed it). Of course it doesn't have the added vitamins and stuff that cats require, but whatever works in situations like yours, especially since it would only be temporary.

I hope you can get your girl to a vet that you trust. it's hard to believe that an ER vet would want a referal from your "regular" vet. What's an ER for, after all?!

Hang in there. Maybe you can persuade Sienne to take a field trip :lol:

Hugs, scritches,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 3/9 Tawny amps 107; +2/161 Still assist feeding

I tried some straight chicken broth yesterday but she turned her nose up at it. I will get some baby food when I go to town later. She peed & there are still NO KETONES!

Any flavors of baby food OK?

The ER vet is only an ER after hours, during the day they are a regular clinic. I tried to get her an appt during regular clinic hrs Friday morning, since it was 7:30 am when I called them and it would have been at least 2 hrs before I got there I was hoping to get an appt instead of having to go thru ER. That's when they said take her to the regular vet & since it is on the way to work I thought well, OK, whatever.

I got between 1/8 & a 1/4 of food into her.
 
Re: 3/9 Tawny amps 107; +2/161 Still assist feeding

Desi,

I always used Beechnut Chicken and Chicken Broth to try to get my cats to eat, it only has chicken and chicken broth as the ingredients.

Terri
 
Re: 3/9 Tawny amps 107; +2/161 Still assist feeding

Sending eating vines to Tawny.
Come on Tawny, eat your food, please.
 
Re: 3/9 Tawny amps 107; +2/161; +44/152; +8/191 Ass't feedin

She is still really lethargic but that may be the tramodil; the +8/191 was taken after about a half hour of assist feeding, so that # is a post-feeding #.
 
At pmps she ate 25ml of the liquidated chicken broth w/chicken LC Friskies still. That was all I could get into her, I do not want to make her vomit. She just pee'd on the floor again in the laundry room (it's OK, my entire house is all concrete floors), which I'm actually glad she did, b/c I swiped a Keto stick thru it - still NO KETONES !!! I know it was hers b/c I went to the barn after pmps and shut the door to that room (it's huge) and she was the only one in there. Left some Recovery out (my last can) but she didn't touch it.

She seems to be up and around a bit more since late this afternoon, when I came back she was just inside the laundry room door wanting out, she came right out and laid down on the bedroom floor, then went downstairs. Then stopped at the bottom of the stairs and plopped down, it must have tired her out. I don't know if she's heading for the water bowl again or what, I am syringing water into her too tho maybe not enough?

Today she has had her Cerenia 16mg, Pepsid 10mg, mirtazapam and insulin of course. Oh, and 2 doses of Tramadol in the last 24 hrs (1/4 of 50mg tab each time). Maybe the Tram is helping w/the pain which allows her to move around a bit more?

The vet said to give her mirtz every 24 hrs, I don't think this is the usual protocol, some here have commented on that, any additional thoughts?

Desi
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top