Re: 3/9 Do Lou amps 492 +6 365 PMPS 378

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lisa and Do Lou (GA)

Very Active Member
Well we are going into our second full day of being on Lantus I sure wish his numbers would come down some confused_cat
amps492 2U I checked urine for ketones this morning and he was neg.
+6 365 my first out of the 400's number since starting lantus :-D
+10 346
pmps 378 2U
 
Re: 3/9 Do Lou amps 492 high number worry?

I know you all have told me I have to fill my Lantus storage shed and I have read and read the above sticky over and over so I guess I am just wondering when I might start to see his numbers go down?? :?
 
Re: 3/9 Do Lou amps 492 high number worry?

We hear you, we were all in the same boat. Please keep checking for ketones.
This morning was you 4th cycle - c4 - of 2U of lantus. It really does take a few days for the dose to settle... pls hang tight.... it will work eventually I promise.

Go visit Randi/Max's condo.... for a touch of encouragement..... you are not alone.
 
Re: 3/9 Do Lou amps 492 high number worry?

Good morning Lisa. Just a little housekeeping......we like to have everyone post their condo from the day before. That way it is easier for us to look back the day before if we have any questions etc. No worries ;-)

Here is yesterdays condo: Yesterday's Condo
 
Re: 3/9 Do Lou amps 492 high number worry?

Lisa please forgive me if this had already been discussed. I am a little late to your condo. When you started the Lantus two days ago, how did you decide to start on 2 units bud? Did you get any advice from here or was this a decision that you and the vet came to?

Also on your spreadsheet I see you commented about getting Do Lou off the kibble. Is he still eating dry food?
 
Re: 3/9 Do Lou amps 492 high number worry?

paige said:
Lisa please forgive me if this had already been discussed. I am a little late to your condo. When you started the Lantus two days ago, how did you decide to start on 2 units bud? Did you get any advice from here or was this a decision that you and the vet came to?

Also on your spreadsheet I see you commented about getting Do Lou off the kibble. Is he still eating dry food?
He is still eating a wee bit of kibble but not much we are now I guess you would saw getting to be 80% wet ever since I had him get too low a couple of weeks ago I had keep his kibble out for him btw its blue buff wilderness but he is slowly doing so much better with the wet and yes my vet picked the dose
 
Re: 3/9 Do Lou amps 492 high number worry?

paige said:
Good morning Lisa. Just a little housekeeping......we like to have everyone post their condo from the day before. That way it is easier for us to look back the day before if we have any questions etc. No worries ;-)

Here is yesterdays condo: Yesterday's Condo
Ok I am confused about the condo thing I guess was I supposed to use yesterdays condo and just change the date to todays??? :oops: let me know so I do not make the same mistake each day
 
Re: 3/9 Do Lou amps 492 high number worry?

Helene & Tizon said:
We hear you, we were all in the same boat. Please keep checking for ketones.
This morning was you 4th cycle - c4 - of 2U of lantus. It really does take a few days for the dose to settle... pls hang tight.... it will work eventually I promise.

Go visit Randi/Max's condo.... for a touch of encouragement..... you are not alone.

Thanks so much I am just worried and will go check out the other condo ~O)
 
Re: 3/9 Do Lou amps 492 high number worry?

Hehe, don't worry it is really confusing at first. :mrgreen:
Every day you will start a new thread (aka-condo) with that days date and Do Lou's name. Like you did today :-D
Then, you will want to add a link to the previous days condo in the new days condo. Okay I admit that sounds really confusing. :lol: Check out some of the other condo's from today and you can see what I mean.
 
Re: 3/9 Do Lou amps 492 high number worry?

ohhhhhh did I read kibbles.... grey hair is all they are good for. If you can, put it away never (almost never) to be used again.

Don't worry about the logistics of the condos, you'll get it and we'll keep reminding you! :lol:
 
Re: 3/9 Do Lou amps 492 high number worry?

Helene & Tizon said:
ohhhhhh did I read kibbles.... grey hair is all they are good for. If you can, put it away never (almost never) to be used again.

Don't worry about the logistics of the condos, you'll get it and we'll keep reminding you! :lol:


Yes you did read it correctly since he is not off kibble all the way but its our goal. And you all keep reminding me about how to do a condo until I get it right :mrgreen:
 
Re: 3/9 Do Lou amps 492 +6 365

Lisa and Do Lou said:
Well we are going into our second full day of being on Lantus I sure wish his numbers would come down some confused_cat
amps492 2U I checked urine for ketones this morning and he was neg.
+6 365 my first out of the 400's number since starting lantus :-D
 
Re: 3/9 Do Lou amps 492 +6 365 I have ????

paige said:
Thats great. >100 point drop!! :thumbup
I have a ?? also on timing with lantus I was doing pretty much every 12 hours with N as well but from what I have read its more important with lantus my times for giving insulin when I am off is later then on work days now that I am on lantus should I try to make it all as close as possible for the 7 days week even for my off days before on my off days Do Lou would get his morning shot about 7-8 but on work days it has to be at 6 so this is a big change and after reading the note about time change I can see the way we were doing it before confused_cat
 
Re: 3/9 Do Lou amps 492 +6 365 I have ????

Lisa and Do Lou said:
paige said:
Thats great. >100 point drop!! :thumbup
I have a ?? also on timing with lantus I was doing pretty much every 12 hours with N as well but from what I have read its more important with lantus my times for giving insulin when I am off is later then on work days now that I am on lantus should I try to make it all as close as possible for the 7 days week even for my off days before on my off days Do Lou would get his morning shot about 7-8 but on work days it has to be at 6 so this is a big change and after reading the note about time change I am worried so advice needed on having a schedule?? confused_cat
+10 346 plus if I was wondering about changing times on days when you work and when you do not??
 
Re: 3/9 Do Lou amps 492 +6 365 +10 346

With Lantus you want to keep the times of the shots as close as possible every day of the week. It is okay to shift about 15-30 minutes here and there. If you know ahead of time you can adjust your shooting times by 15 minutes every cycle.

With Lantus, when you give your shot earlier than your normal scheduled time, the body thinks is is an increase in dose. And for giving shots late you start to dip into your "shed"....

Here is a link and quote (below) from one of the stickies up top called: LANTUS & LEVEMIR - INSULIN DEPOT -AKA- STORAGE SHED

"There's a storage shed/insulin depot under your cat's skin. It has first dibs on the insulin. Once it is filled, the insulin that you shoot doesn't have to go into the shed. It can be used. The shed HAS to be filled before the Lantus or Levemir gets to use the extra on cat's BGs. So by skipping shot, or waiting too long to shoot, or giving a fur shot... the cat starts dipping into it's shed and the next shot or shots have to partially go to refilling shed before they can work on BGs."

Hope this answers you question....I see he is still dropping. Congrats - this is the first time <400!! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 3/9 Do Lou amps 492 +6 365 +10 346

paige said:
With Lantus you want to keep the times of the shots as close as possible every day of the week. It is okay to shift about 15-30 minutes here and there. If you know ahead of time you can adjust your shooting times by 15 minutes every cycle.

With Lantus, when you give your shot earlier than your normal scheduled time, the body thinks is is an increase in dose. And for giving shots late you start to dip into your "shed"....

Here is a link and quote (below) from one of the stickies up top called: LANTUS & LEVEMIR - INSULIN DEPOT -AKA- STORAGE SHED

"There's a storage shed/insulin depot under your cat's skin. It has first dibs on the insulin. Once it is filled, the insulin that you shoot doesn't have to go into the shed. It can be used. The shed HAS to be filled before the Lantus or Levemir gets to use the extra on cat's BGs. So by skipping shot, or waiting too long to shoot, or giving a fur shot... the cat starts dipping into it's shed and the next shot or shots have to partially go to refilling shed before they can work on BGs."

Hope this answers you question....I see he is still dropping. Congrats - this is the first time <400!! :mrgreen:
Ok I see I need to start adjusting then since my work days are so diff I will do as instructed and yes I am so glad we are finally under 400 :mrgreen:
 
Ok if I need to change Do Lou's times to be more exact since my work days are so diff from off days example work days he will get dose at 6 am and off days with N he would get it from 7-8 so now I have not worked since the start of Lantus but I work this friday so I need help in getting his sch changed by friday?? Do I change it each day by 15 min I did not realize lantus was so time sensitive or I would have started with my work times to begin with <sigh> :oops: :oops:
 
Don't sweat it. I started Webber at 8am & 8pm and had to adjust over the weekend back to 7am.

Example:
Tuesday AM Shot 8am/PM Shot 8pm
Wednesday AM Shot 7:30/PM Shot 7:15
Thursday AM Shot 7:00/PM Shot 6:30
Friday AM Shot 6:00/PM Shot 6:00

It's okay this early in the game and life does get in the way sometimes. He will be fine. Just try to keep the shot times as close as possible every day of the week. Alot of us will get up early on our days off and go back to bed.
 
You will need to pick a time that fits every single day of the week, even if it means to set an alarm, get up, test, shoot, then go btb.
The time I picked for Shadoe's shots are 6am and 6pm, and I ensure that any appts or other issues allow me to be at home for those times.

I don't even drive but I keep coming back to using cars and gas tanks for examples.

If you fill your car with gas, putting enough for 12 hours, what will happen at hour 13? Your car will sputter and it won't go any further. You have to refill your gas tank at that 12hour mark.

Maybe we can use a plant. All plants need water, and if you let the plant dry out, take too long to water it, the plant wilts. If you give the shot late, then you will see high BG numbers.
If you watered that plant too often, the poor roots drown, and it can't use all that water. if you give the shot early, you are giving too much insulin and you don't want that either.

OK not the best examples, but you get the idea. The 12/12 plan keeps a nice steady level.
 
pink is progress! Maybe he'll come down from here tonight. :mrgreen:

How much do you need to adjust your schedule by, an hour or two? And is this an adjustment you'll have to make every week, or will it be pretty much a one time shift this week and then you'll be able to hold that schedule most of the time?

It's actually not too hard when Do Lou's numbers are this high, because you can shoot an hour early without much harm. What I would probably do if you can, is shoot at +11 tomorrow morning if he is higher than about 350. I suggested to go ahead and do it tomorrow morning because that will get the time shift done before we'll be ready to increase his dose. Worst thing that will happen is that shooting at +11 will give him some extra overlap and bring his numbers lower for a few cycles, but we have plenty of room for lower numbers so it's unlikely to take him anywhere near a danger zone.
 
Libby and Lucy said:
pink is progress! Maybe he'll come down from here tonight. :mrgreen:

How much do you need to adjust your schedule by, an hour or two? And is this an adjustment you'll have to make every week, or will it be pretty much a one time shift this week and then you'll be able to hold that schedule most of the time?

It's actually not too hard when Do Lou's numbers are this high, because you can shoot an hour early without much harm. What I would probably do if you can, is shoot at +11 tomorrow morning if he is higher than about 350. I suggested to go ahead and do it tomorrow morning because that will get the time shift done before we'll be ready to increase his dose. Worst thing that will happen is that shooting at +11 will give him some extra overlap and bring his numbers lower for a few cycles, but we have plenty of room for lower numbers so it's unlikely to take him anywhere near a danger zone.

Ok sounds like a plan will keep all posted to our progress :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top