Re: 3/4 Frank AMPS 261, PMPS 107,+1 103, +3 110

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 3/4 Frank AMPS 261

Hi I don't believe we've met.

Very nice to meet you Mr. Handsome Frank....and what a lovely amps to start the day.....
 
Re: 3/4 Frank AMPS 261, PMPS 107 need PM shot advice

well, i'm stuck again..dont know what to do...his PMPS is 107

Maybe shoot..test and if low , feed him food.
 
Re: 3/4 Frank AMPS 261, PMPS 107 need PM shot advice

Hi Delma

I'm not sure what ur schedule is like in the evenings, ur spreadsheet only goes up to +3..

will u be able to grab at least a couple of checks tonight? Starting with a +1

hang on for others feedback..
 
Re: 3/4 Frank AMPS 261, PMPS 107 need PM shot advice

Ronnie & Luna said:
Hi Delma

I'm not sure what ur schedule is like in the evenings, ur spreadsheet only goes up to +3..

will u be able to grab at least a couple of checks tonight? Starting with a +1

hang on for others feedback..

my ss only goes to 3 since I'm in bed then.............
 
Re: 3/4 Frank AMPS 261, PMPS 107 need PM shot advice

yes, he has eaten most, but not all, of his food..........i need to feed him so he is agreeable to test...he can be grumpy..

I won't test him after +3.......
 
Re: 3/4 Frank AMPS 261, PMPS 107 need PM shot advice

Once you start shooting these low numbers, you will need to get a few checks after the PM +3. I had to go out and buy a new alarm to get those checks! I'd wait for more experienced advice before you shoot anything.
 
Re: 3/4 Frank AMPS 261, PMPS 107 need PM shot advice

how much time has passed since the 107 test and food?

my best suggestion would be to retest

normally when u get a lower than usual preshot number, you dont want to feed until you have shot, or retested if need be.

can u retest? its coming up on half hour now since the 107 or so?

unfortunately, the others are right, once the lower numbers come, by the way, no need to be afraid of them - you will need to grab a late nite spotcheck, since there are none in the day time (work?) evenings will give a lot of info...any chance for these on the weekends?
 
Re: 3/4 Frank AMPS 261, PMPS 107 need PM shot advice

ok, he's not dropping anymore, though some of that is probably food spike.

If he's surfing low, you might have to test after +3. Is that ok, or not?
 
Re: 3/4 Frank AMPS 261, PMPS 107 need PM shot advice

2.5U has brought him low before. I increased his food slightly since (1/4 can more FF) but I think he needs to be given 2.25U......am I thinking right?
 
Re: 3/4 Frank AMPS 261, PMPS 107 need PM shot advice

Kitties often drop low at night. If you test at +3 and he is at 50 or even 70, going to bed and not planning on any more checks could be quite dangerous for Frank, especially since you don't know how he does with low numbers.

How do you feed him after you go to bed? Do you leave out a lot of food or do you have a timed feeder? Kitties usually feed their lows, but again, this is all new for you and Frank...
 
Re: 3/4 Frank AMPS 261, PMPS 107 need PM shot advice

Frank hasn't earned a dose reduction yet, so normally we would shoot the 2.5 and monitor to see if Frank is ready to earn a dose reduction. You do have to be able to keep testing and feeding the curve, until his numbers turn upward, which could happen right away (he's probably going to start his bounce soon), or it might take several hours. This is what we mean by "shoot low to stay low" and it's how we get those nice flat Lantus curves in the healing range. What do you think?
 
bump

looks like by the time you shoot, you will be almost an hour late in shooting....will u be able to make up your stalled time for the morning? do u get up, shoot and off to work in the mornings?

I think it may help a lot for others to know what your schedule is like, so after tonight's shot, if you could put together some info on your schedule,,we dont want to keep asking for spotchecks after +3 if it's absolutely not possible for you, ok?
 
Re: 3/4 Frank AMPS 261, PMPS 107 need PM shot advice

Ronnie brings up a good point, if you stall tonight, will you still be able to shoot 12 hours after this in the morning?
 
Re: 3/4 Frank AMPS 261, PMPS 107 need PM shot advice

I already shot 2.25U about 15-20 minutes ago...which messed up everything. I'll test him and if he is low , I will feed him 1/2 a can of FF to raise his BG. If he is lower I will do what i need..i won't be able to sleep well from fear anyway. Tomorrow AM i will be able to shoot him to make up for the stalled time.
3 days out of the week I am up, feed the cats, shoot, and get ready to leave for work. I am old(well, old to me) and stressed and can't possibly stay up past the +3 or +4 most nights. I would not even be able to think straight if I set an alarm to wake me up in the middle of the night to test Frank. I need to sleep or I am a wreck the next day.
I admire you guys ...how do you keep sane....sigh
 
Re: 3/4 Frank AMPS 261, PMPS 107 need PM shot advice

Who says we are sane? The +3 should give you an idea of what he will do for the rest of the cycle. More spot checks during the day, or on weekends, will help you learn how he does with low numbers. It will also help to know when he usually hits the lowest point of the cycle, the nadir.
 
Re: 3/4 Frank AMPS 261, PMPS 107 need PM shot advice

no problem. Let's stick with this 2.25 dose for a while so we can ease you into shooting low. We need to find a dose that you can shoot consistently every 12 hours, and 2.5 was leaving him too low for you to comfortably shoot. We'll probably end up raising the dose at some point, but this will let you work up (or down!) to it.

Please test at +1 so we can see which way Frank is going tonight.
 
Re: 3/4 Frank AMPS 261, PMPS 107,+1 103

you can feed him a little bit to try to get him to surf. Please test at +2.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top