Re: 3/15 Tawny pmps 155; +4/39; +4.5/56; +7.5/78

Status
Not open for further replies.

DD & Tinkerbell

Member Since 2009
Yesterday

Tawny is bright, alert & talkative this morning. amps was higher than I expected or would have liked, but she could still be kibble bouncing. She only nibbled her pate this morning, 2 different flavors, and would only eat if I stayed in the room w/her. I am going to try to wean her completely off the kibble this weekend.

Once I get the kibble problem cleared up and can get some true non-food or kibble-spiked #s I will see about a dose increase.

Have a good day all. I have a booth at a local flea market so I'm off to put out more stuff for sale. I am downsizing big time, planning on bailing out of here to either Fl or HI as soon as I can, probably take a couple more years. But I have had enough. I'm done.

D
 
Re: 3/15 Tawny amps 333

You're moving to Florida or Hawaii?

Good luck with the flea market. I hope you sell out ;-)
 
Re: 3/15 Tawny pmps 155; +4/39!!!

Earlier (pre the 39 #): Apparently the kibble has cleared b/c Tawny dipped into the blues today. She still acts like she wants kibble but I kept her out of it today. I am not sure if she wants the kibble or she just wants to be w/everybody else. She ate some of her Friskies pate but only nibbled, then stopped for 5 or 10 minutes and walked away, then went back and nibbled some more, and on and on this went for over an hour. I stayed in her room w/her during this time clean which allowed me to watch her and see how she ate.

ETA: well scratch all of the above, I grabbed a test just b4 I hit "Submit" on the above and @ pm+4 she is 39! I took her into her room and gave her some pate, which she took about 3 bites of and stopped, piddled around the room for 2 or 3 minutes, took 2 or 3 more bites & then stopped again, even w/me staying in there w/her, so I broke down and went and got her some kibble, which she proceeded to scarf down in no time. I put the kibble on her plate next to her pate, and for the 1st few bites she would eat some kibble, then take a bite of pate, then eat some kibble again, and back and forth it went for the first few bites until she settled on the kibble. I hate giving her kibble almost as much as I hate skipping her shots (which is a lot) but sometimes you just gotta do what you gotta do. I guess I could have HC'd her b4 I kibble'd her but I knew it was kibble she wanted b/c she'd been trying to get to it most of the night. Oh well...we'll try again tomorrow.

I am thinking of giving her some mirtazapam for another week or so, maybe stimulate her appy enough to be hungry enough to eat her pate and forget about the kibble, any thoughts?

She was like this the last time too when she was back & forth in & out of the hospital in late 2011, I remember there was only one kind of dry food they could get her to eat, even sent a bag home w/me. She has always had a passion for kibble and I've often caught her trying to sneak it, and 2 of the civvies are mad for her canned food ... wish they could get it straight...or I'd win the lottery & could put them all, even the ferals, on canned LOL kinda hard to win the lottery when you don't even buy tickets...:)
 
Re: 3/15 Tawny pmps 155; +4/39!!!

Desi

I'd try and get her up sonner than later and the dry food will take lomger than wet food with karo. Can you please give her LC with a drop of syrupand retest in 30 pls?up
 
Re: 3/15 Tawny pmps 155; +4/39; +4.5/56;

Marje and Gracie said:
Desi

I'd try and get her up sonner than later and the dry food will take lomger than wet food with karo. Can you please give her LC with a drop of syrupand retest in 30 pls?up

Marje I over-reacted & had kibble on the brain and ran for the kibble b4 I even remembered the HC or the Karo or the LC/Karo mix DUH. I retested @ +4.5 tho & she was already up to 56. That was about 20 min's ago so I will go retest again and post. - Thanks.
 
Re: 3/15 Tawny pmps 155; +4/39; +4.5/56

julie & punkin (ga) said:
I wonder if any of Dr. Lisa's tips on Transitioning Dry Food Addicts to Canned Food would be helpful.

You could try pulverizing the dry food and sprinkling it on the canned food, if the dry food is incredibly yummy to her.

Julie that's a great idea about pulverizing the kibble...I will try that. She's always tried to sneak it but has always eaten her pate well until recently. I still think she's just decided that she doesn't want it anymore if Tinkerbell isn't there to share it w/her. Tho that seems odd it took this long, it's been a couple of months since I lost Tink, I would have thought she'd have gone off the pate right away if that was the reason.

We're having a lightening storm so if I go offline for 10 or 15 min's that's why, I'm on satellite and it's already crashed once.
 
Re: 3/15 Tawny pmps 155; +4/39; +4.5/56

If she's already on the way up due to the dry food, it would be unusual for her to come back down, Desi. Usually the dry food keeps them up for a while.

You're doing a great job! You probably want to reduce her dose tomorrow morning unless she bounces and you decide to shoot through the bounce.
 
Re: 3/15 Tawny pmps 155; +4/39; +4.5/56; +5/53

She went to 56 @ +4.5, 58 @4.75 & now @ +5.5 she's back down to 53. I, like you, thought the kibble would drive her up & keep her up at least thru the rest of the night, so it's hard to tell if these #s are just slight variations in the meter or if she's going back down. I'm going to try to get her to eat a little HC & I'll check her again shortly thereafter.

I will probably shoot thru the bounce & reduce her tomorrow night, #s allowing. You think I oughta go .25u or .5u? I guess I should go .5u down, isn't that what the protocol advises, '...if kitty dips below 40 (and has been on insulin for a while) you go down .5u?' I can't remember off the top of my head, but the guidelines are thumb tacked to the wall in there by all our supplies. Or I'll look it up here if I can find the sticky.
 
Re: 3/15 Tawny pmps 155; +4/39; +4.5/56

Well that is a surprise that she's surfing there with dry on board. Looks like it will be a PJ party for you, Desi.

It's just a 0.25u reduction. :-D Good luck with it and I hope you aren't up all night.
 
Re: 3/15 Tawny pmps 155; +4/39; +4.5/56

Marje and Gracie said:
Well that is a surprise that she's surfing there with dry on board. Looks like it will be a PJ party for you, Desi.

It's just a 0.25u reduction. :-D Good luck with it and I hope you aren't up all night.

Yes, I just checked the sticky and see that I had it wrong @ a .5u reduction, it is indeed .25u, so that's what we'll do. Thank God it's no work tomorrow, cuz it looks like it's gonna be an all nighter.

I wondered too as you mentioned if she was just surfing, she surfs good usually so I'm hoping now she'll just surf this out. She's come out of her room and gotten onto the bed w/me, I might hold off on the HC for a little while and just see if she'll continue to surf it out. She's gonna bounce, I've no doubt.

Thanks!
 
Good luck with the new dose ;-)
I hope you get some sleep in time or some naps in today.
 
Desi --

If Tawny is missing having Tink as her dining partner and if the civvies like canned food, why not feed Tawny with one of your other kitties? There are some cats who are social eaters and Tawny may be one of them.

It's great to hear she's eating!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top