Re: 12/15 OliverTwist - pmps 265, +2.25 229,+4 203

Status
Not open for further replies.

ecurie

Member Since 2012
yesterday's condo
TODAY
amps 293
3 281
7 254
9 242
pmps 265

Good morning!
All is good! All Ps. Including more pee. The last 3 days Ollie's pee balls have been bigger and more smelly. (not complaining,..i'll never complain about smelly lb action again!) Just a note to watch. It's noticeably larger..not as bad as at diagnosis, but larger than he's had.
I've got my fingers crossed for this new dose. it's been looking like no matter what his dose is, his numbers stay about the same. come on 2.5..!!!
I bought a laser toy for some more exercise. He immediately followed it to my hand, looked at me as if to say What? do you think i'm gonna run around like a goofball because you're holding that thing? And i thought i was so smart! oh well, the little boys LOVE it. Greg chases it forever. Marble gets on the couch and pounces on it from above. They are funny.

Saying prayers for all our kitties not feeling well, and for all our under the weather beans.
and one more for those poor babies and their families in Ct.
mary and oliver
 
Re: 12/15 OliverTwist amps 293,

Morning happy Caturday!!! So funny with the laser toy, I am too smart for you mama! I hope this is the magic dose for you guys!!! Paws crossed! Hope the pee isn't any cause for concern but like you said take note and watch! Hope you have a great day and Ollie sees some good numbers!
 
Re: 12/15 OliverTwist amps 293,

Great start for the day, hope the new dose kicks in my dear. Funny on the laser. I bought one for Scratchie about a month ago, and while he followed it for a few minutes he got 'bored' very easily with it. I think I have more fun with it than him. He'd rather have one of his catnip toys - then he's in 7th heaven.

Have a great day Mary!
 
Re: 12/15 OliverTwist amps 293,

Morning Mary,

Fingers and paws crossed that the 2.5 will be a good dose for Mr. Oliver. You can do it buddy, show your momma how you can work that juice.

So cute about the laser. Ollie is one smart cookie :smile: I bought one for Zeus and Smokey... Zeus wasn't interested.

Have a great day. Hugs and prayers,
Kathie
 
Re: 12/15 OliverTwist amps 293,

Good luck with the new dose, and I hope that Oliver starts showing you some very lovely #s. Hang in there. I just took a peek at his SS, and it looks like that there's less pink, and more yellow showing, with a sprinkling of blue. It's getting there! Keep up the excellent work!

I have a few kitties (civvies actually) that'll take to a laser toy, but not Lil' Miss Prim and Proper Blackie. :lol: Oh no! :lol: Her favorite exercise following me all over the house, and talking to me. This shtoopud hooman doens't listen to her, I tell ya. :lol: (I do, but don't listen, ya know! :lol:)
 
Re: 12/15 OliverTwist amps 293,

Good morning Mary. Hang in there and don't let Oliver's numbers get you too excited. I'm sure he'll settle into this dose. If he doesn't you'll find the correct dose eventually. PurrFace has been trying my patients these past weeks also. But just like me, you are only along for the ride, Oliver no longer has his head stuck out of the rear window; he's driving.

I had to laugh at Oliver not playing with the laser but the other two did. We had the same experience. We did buy some of those "Cat DVDs" for PF. There is one that he loves. As soon as hears the music when we put it on he comes running. He attacks the screen when the blue jays come on. You might try that. There are 3 but he only likes the first one.

I hope Oliver brings his yellow number down into the blue zone for you and stays there awhile.

Have a great day and give ole Ollie a hug.
 
Re: 12/15 OliverTwist - Furshot smell? , and today's song

Hi again,
I think we gave Ollie a furshot. I just picked him up and one area on his back (close to where we give him his shot) smelled funny. (a little like acetone). I squirted some insulin on a papertowel and that's what ollie smells like.. So i'm assuming he got a furshot? I guess there's nothing to be done? We will wait until tonight and see if we can't actually get the insulin into the cat.
Great, just great.


So here's Ollie's song for today... with a furshot, our progress on the protocol is Stranded on a Sandbar
 
Re: 12/15 OliverTwist - Furshot smell? , today's song

That's too funny on the laser toy. What a smart kitty Oliver is. I hate fur shots, but Oliver will recover. I've learned to run my hand over the spot where I give Furball her shot to check for wetness so I'll have an idea if I've given a fur shot or not.
 
Re: 12/15 OliverTwist - Furshot smell? , today's song

Hi Mary, thanks for the song! :-D Good luck on this dose. Maybe some of the juice still got in Ollie. I did a furshot not that long ago, and it won't take long for Ollie to recover if so. Hope you have a wonderful day and do something nice for you, too!

P.S. I couldn't listen to "Stranded on a ..." it was asking me for a password. I did get the top one though. :-D
 
Re: 12/15 OliverTwist - amps 293,+3 281,+7 254,+9 242

Today - 2.5units
amps 293,
+3 281,
+7 254,
+9 242

Nervous Nellie is rearing her ugly head again. I thought before the last second i'd ask if Ollies numbers today should make me concerned about shot time tonight? and falling numbers? I smelled something funny on his fur this morning and think it was insulin. So now i'm nervous that he's not coming back up at +9. How can i possibly be nervous with middle 200s? well, i already am.
If you could please look and let me know what you think, i'd be so very grateful..
thanks,,, the wimp and ollie
 
Re: 12/15 OliverTwist - amps 293,+3 281,+7 254,+9 242 ?#?

Hi Mary, if you look at Oliver's mid yellow numbers today, there are all within the acceptable percentage of error of each other. I had one drop of blood yesterday that I tested with the same meter but two different test strips and got 30 points difference. So, Oliver has pretty flat numbers today. Sometimes a flat cycle (especially flat yellows) can mean he's saving up for an action packed next cycle. If you are really nervous about him dropping, get a +11. Neko's been known to have a nadir at +9 sometimes.

Funny on the laser toy. Neko will play with her paws and watch the one I bought yesterday, but it has to come to her. Only the civvie will run around after it.
 
Re: 12/15 OliverTwist - amps 293,+3 281,+7 254,+9 242 ?#?

Mary

Sometimes, when we are adjusting the dose before we give the shot, some of the insulin dribbles down on the syringe and then when you give the shot, it runs down the syringe and onto the cat....thus you smell insulin and think you gave a fur shot. That's why it's important to do as you did today....that is, nothing. Because sometimes you actually DID get insulin into the cat. So good job resisting the temptation to pick up a syringe and shoot again. Just for other new members who might not know, even if you know, 100% that you gave a fur shot, do not try to give another shot. If numbers are really, really high because of the fur shot, you can shoot an hour early; otherwise, wait until the next shot time to shoot.

Insofar as Ollie's numbers today, as Wendy said, they are close. But....my question to you, dear one, is why do you fear shooting a dropping number? You have data, you test, you know how to control numbers and shooting a dropping number can often result in taking advantage of overlap. So put away your Nervous Nellie pants :-D What I like to see members do when kitty is high like this, is just test about 15 minutes early and post if his number worries you so we can help you shoot it. If numbers are much lower, I'd recommend a +11 but no sense in overpoking.

You are doing super!!!
 
Re: 12/15 OliverTwist - amps 293,+3 281,+7 254,+9 242

Wendy and Marje
THANK YOU SO VERY MUCH.
i will put the N.N. pants in the back of the closet. at least for tonite. It's just there's so much to know.
xoxo :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 12/15 OliverTwist - amps 293,+3 281,+7 254,+9 242

There is a lot to know. But, if you don't ask you won't get the information nor will you develop the confidence you need. The only time shooting a dropping number is an issue is if your cat is in the low green range.
 
Re: 12/15 OliverTwist - almost pmps 265,

Thanks also Sienne,
You are so right, it's a confidence thing. Thanks for draggin me along. I swear i'll get up to speed. just not sure when.
have a great night
mary, mark, oliver

Marje, holding the lancet correctly ....not even a wince from Ollie. I was never sure why he jumped sometimes and didn't seem to mind sometimes. well, that mystery is solved.
xoxo
mary , mark oliver
 
Re: 12/15 OliverTwist - pmps 265,

Hey Mary,

I'm laughing at the N.N. pants. I'll definitely have to get some of those and keep them in the closet by my patience pants! I swear I can dream up all sorts of things to worry about at any given shot time. I guess it comes with the territory.

I got a laser toy for Buster at one point. He looked at me with that "stoopid human" look and went for a nap. My two droolers, however, thought that thing was awesome! You never know with toys.

C'mon down to the blues Ollie!
 
Re: 12/15 OliverTwist - pmps 265, +2.25 229,

Hi Mary and Ollie! Good call on the "no re-shoot" decision today. Looks like Ollie is coming down nicely tonight. Hope you get some really nice blues and maybe (?) a little green. Blessings!
 
Well, good thing i was worried about shooting a falling number :oops: :oops: :oops:
Thank you everyone who stopped by and offered encouragement, good wishes, advice, support and smiles. I'm sorry i can't respond to you all tonight. I'm just so tired and going to bed. "the boys" have already gone upstairs and i have to catch up or i'll get the crummy pillow. :razz:

Ann, Carla, John, Angela, Kathie, Joe, Michelle, Sienne, Marje, Deborah, Tara, Wendy thank you so very much.
I really learned a lot today. thank you for your time and sharing what you know.
Very many hugs
see you tomorrow
xoxo
mary and oliver
 
I hope you are I-) I-) I-) all that worrying can be exhausting ;-) :lol:

I'm glad the testing went better! Yay! And I'm glad the PMPS was a non event.

One of these nights, I hope I have the chance to work with you on shooting a low number or a dropping number. Once you know you can do it and you are in control, then you really gain alot of confidence. But Sienne is right...if you don't ask, we can't teach exactly what YOU need to know.

:-D :-D :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top