Re: 11/28 Silver +2=3 +3=4.9

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 11/26 Silver AMPS 21.9

Ok will do....but I think he will be okay actually. This dose seems to suit him for now.

Have a happy Thanksgiving - you already have a houseful of cats, how are you gonna fit any people in!!?

Juliet and Silver
 
Re: 11/26 Silver AMPS 21.9

Its a BIG house...lol But for the company that is coming I would stack them like firewood. I got the call late last night that my son's leave came through and he, the wife and grandkids are getting to come home for the Holiday. Yipee!!!! My son is in the military and because he got an emergency leave 2 years ago to come home when his grandmother was dying, he wasn't able to get leave to come home last year, so this will be the first year in about 6 that he and the entire family will make it back home to celebrate Thanksgiving, of course we lose them again for Christmas, but at least I finally get to see the new baby ( who is now pushing 4 years old)

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 11/26 Silver AMPS 21.9 PMPS 23.1 - GRR FUR SHOT :-(

Oh man I gave a fur shot!!! I hope I haven't set him back too much..His PMPS is horrible!
 
Re: 11/26 Silver AMPS 21.9 PMPS 23.1 - GRR FUR SHOT :-(

Not a bad comeback after my fur shot....lets hope tomorrow morning is nice and sunny. Or even blue would be nice. Pinks and reds can take a hike please.

Juliet and Silver
 
Re: 11/26 Silver AMPS 21.9 PMPS 23.1 Lights out 7.7

once again i see Tibbs has dragged Silver over to the trampoline at pmps. they are having way too much fun on that thing.
 
Re: 11/26 Silver AMPS 21.9 PMPS 23.1 Lights out 7.7

Well I don't think I can blame Tibbs for this one Nadine. Poor old Tibbs needs to catch a break :-). I gave a fur shot at AMPS.

Timirrid is another day. Lower bounces please!
 
Re: 11/27 Silver AMPS 4.5 Skipped shot

Happy Thanksgiving Mel, I know you probably won't be online today and not many will be so I had to make the decision today NOT to shoot as SIlver was only at 4.5. I would worry all day if I had shot and gone out. So I hope this won't set him back too much. He was in the red yesterday at AMPS and PMPS due to my fur shot and a bounce. Do you think I should reduce the dose again or wait til I do the curve at the weekend.

If you get a chance to see this let me know. I posted a 911 in TR this morning to see if anyone was there to advise. Ended up going with my gut and not shooting.

Juliet and Silver
 
Re: 11/27 Silver had a great Thanksgiving

24 hours with no dose and I was expecting a high number....had I been home I likely would have shot the green number but as I was going out all day I didn't. Tonight his PMPS was just 135 after 24 hours no dose. Can't wait to see what his full curve at the weekend might show.

Juliet and Silver
 
Re: 11/27 Silver had a great Thanksgiving

Hmn. Maybe he's wanting to go off the juice.

Dusty went OTJ between weekly visits to his home. I went to test, found him under 150mg/dL on a human glucometer, and decided to just check him that day with no insulin ... and he was OTJ. Went back a week or so later to confirm it, and he was still in normal numbers. Took him all of 4 to 6 weeks of low carb food and Lantus to do it.
 
Re: 11/27 Silver had a great Thanksgiving

Juliet

This is great news. I know you were so worried that being out all day may mean that you might not get his numbers under such great control but you and Silver are doing great.
 
Re: 11/27 Silver had a great Thanksgiving

No so great this morning - he throws me a 397 for an AMPS after his nice green start yesterday morning. For some reason he likes to be high in the mornings and I don't like that. Should I go back to 1u?

Juliet and Silver
 
Re: 11/28 Silver AMPS 397 - not such a great start

He looks great on the 0.5 unit, and you are doing a great job monitoring him. I totally agree that this looks like a cat who doesn't want to do the sugar dance for very long.

you might even want to skinny that .5 a bit.

Linda
 
Re: 11/28 Silver AMPS 397 - not such a great start

I agree, he looks great on the 0.5u but the mornings aren't good. Been reading up on "Dawn Phenomenon" and Somogyi effect....one of them must be affecting Silver but which one? Is he bouncing high from having gone too low the night before, or is he naturally higher in the morning? I was half thinking of putting him back to 0.75u to get his morning highs down? Perhaps I need to get up at 3am for a few nights to see how low or how high he is in the middle of the night. That would at least explain if Somogyi or Dawn thingy is going on.
 
Re: 11/28 Silver AMPS 397 PMPS 102.6

Low in the evening and high in the morning...my boy is either enjoying the trampoline or something else is up.
 
Re: 11/28 Silver AMPS 397 PMPS 102.6

I wouldn't increase him yet

He's getting into some nice numbers and really looks like he's going low at night and then bouncing (although it seems that sometimes he takes a couple of cycles before he bounces)

Getting some tests in overnight will really help fill out the picture

Now we just have to hope Silver will cooperate and let us "catch" him going low overnight!....LOL
 
Re: 11/28 Silver AMPS 397 PMPS 102.6

Chris & China said:
I wouldn't increase him yet

He's getting into some nice numbers and really looks like he's going low at night and then bouncing (although it seems that sometimes he takes a couple of cycles before he bounces)

Getting some tests in overnight will really help fill out the picture

Now we just have to hope Silver will cooperate and let us "catch" him going low overnight!....LOL

BUT....as I just researched today - there are two options. If he is low in the middle of the night for several consecutive nights and high in the morning then yes, its bouncing (Symogyi effect)...but if he is mid to high between 2-3am then its more likely dawn phenomenon. Once we know which one, then we know what to do about it. Will do my best to get up and test at 2:30am! Personally I dont think he is going that low at night as his daytime curve doesnt put him close to being too low.

Juliet and Silver
 
Re: 11/28 Silver AMPS 397 PMPS 102.6

Hi Juliet....

I thought I would share an old post/discussion on somogyl


It is normal for cats to have higher numbers in the am.
The ambg is usually the very last one to get lower for most kitties.

The only thing you can do to control it would be lose sleep and steer with food late in the pm cycle which is usually when you are sleeping.
Try not to worry about it.
This isn't a dance you can lead , Silver is leading.....

I can very much relate to wanted to be able to control it.... but we can't.


I agree that you don't want to increase....
if you do, you'll really get some wonky cycles.... seen it done....

we'll have to teach you about patience pants.....
 
Re: 11/28 Silver AMPS 397 PMPS 102.6

Lol, thanks Rhiannon. Patience is something I dont have in this.

He is down to 54 at +2 and making me nervous tonight.
 
Re: 11/28 Silver AMPS 397 PMPS 102.6

Looks like he's answering the question about whether he likes to go low at night. :mrgreen: Time to surf Silver.

Some cats just like to go low at night then do a mini bounce during the day. Neko did that for 3-4 months in a row last year. Wasn't great for sleep.
 
Re: 11/28 Silver AMPS 397 PMPS 102.6

Wendy&Neko said:
Looks like he's answering the question about whether he likes to go low at night. :mrgreen: Time to surf Silver.

Some cats just like to go low at night then do a mini bounce during the day. Neko did that for 3-4 months in a row last year. Wasn't great for sleep.

Lol, he is scaring me.
 
Re: 11/28 Silver +2 = 3 (54)...getting nervous

You might want to give him a tsp or two of high carb food then test again in 1/2 hour. He's below 90 which is your cutoff for reductions on the SLGS protocol so nothing left to prove tonight. I think he wants to try .25U tomorrow.
 
Re: 11/28 Silver +2 = 3 (54)...getting nervous

I did - thanks Wendy....I am chatting to Chris (and China) on Facebook and she said the same thing. I will test again in 5 mins.
 
Re: 11/28 Silver +2 = 3 (54)...getting nervous

Nice little drop there Silver!!

Don't get too nervous...You've done this before....a little food should help slow him down and get him surfing

Up a little higher now Silver! You're making your mamabean nervous!
 
Re: 11/28 Silver +2 = 3 (54)...getting nervous

nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile
 
Re: 11/28 Silver +2 = 3 (54)...getting nervous

Wowza! Like watching a submarine show - Dive! Dive!

I think he may've earned a reduction of at 0.25 units - What say you, Mel?
 
Re: 11/28 Silver +2 = 3 (54)...getting nervous

BJM said:
Wowza! Like watching a submarine show - Dive! Dive!

I think he may've earned a reduction of at 0.25 units - What say you, Mel?

I think I'll wait for dosing advice from someone who has been following and commenting on Silver's condo from the start. Thanks anyways.
 
Re: 11/28 Silver +2 = 3 (54)...getting nervous

Chris & China said:
Yep...according to the SLGS protocol, he's earned the reduction back to .25

Congratulations on the reduction!

I wont be reducing. Not until I have done a curve and Mel has said to reduce.
 
Well, you could read over the protocol for SLGS and follow what it says ... which is what Mel is going to suggest, you know.

And not posting does not equal not reading.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top