Re: 11/28 Silver +2=3 +3=4.9

Status
Not open for further replies.

KittyMom777

Member Since 2014
Yesterday's condo

Okay so I shot green at 5.4 but I rushed out to get a hypo kit in case he drops too low. Will be staying up a few hours yet. Mel, I hope you pop in soon....

No food spike at +1 - thats unusual.

Juliet and Silver
 
Re: 11/23 Silver PMPS 5.4 - SHOOTING GREEN

Congratulations on shooting your first green!!

You want to make sure to get a +1 and +2 to start with, and we'll just have to wait and see what happens.

Hopefully Mel will be around to help soon too
 

Attachments

  • balls of steel (Custom).jpg
    balls of steel (Custom).jpg
    28.4 KB · Views: 676
Re: 11/23 Silver PMPS 5.4; +1=5.0

Thats right - but he dipped at PMPS and thats what worries me. And what concerns me is whether or not to shoot tomorrow morning before work. No-one is online that early. Its 8:30pm here.
 
Re: 11/23 Silver PMPS 5.4; +1=5.0; +2=4.6

Since he's still coming down, let's go ahead and give him a teaspoon or so of his regular food and see if we can slow him down and get him up on his surfboard

You'll want to feed, then retest at +3
 
Re: 11/23 Silver PMPS 5.4; +1=5.0; +2=4.6

Ok. he's loving the extra attention and food. Will test again in another hour.
 
Re: 11/23 Silver PMPS 5.4; +1=5.0; +2=4.6

Hi Juliet!

I'd second Rhiannon's comments. Having 39 views just means it got looked at 39 times - by you or people lurking online. New people shouldn't give advice on whether or not to shoot, lurkers aren't even signed in, and plenty of experienced people are reluctant to advise about shooting a green number for a cat they aren't familiar with. Our tradition on the TR board is that if someone encourages a person to shoot, they are committing to being available to help in case that cat goes into low numbers.

Just explaining all of that - it sounded like you're thinking people are refusing to help you and that's not likely to be the case. Could be lots of other things going on why a person doesn't post.

Having said all of that, it looks like Silver went from pmps 97 to +2 83, meaning that the insulin has already begun to onset (take effect.)

This would be a great cycle for you to dole out regular low carb food, a couple of teaspoons at a time, every hour for the next few hours. I know you don't normally feed small meals, but i would tonight.

For tomorrow, you're going to be faced with the usual dilemma on what to do at amps. Since you're following the SLGS (right?) the suggestion there is to decrease the dose when you've had nadirs under 90, which you are having today. Because you are gone for long hours to work and can't leave food or have anyone to test, I'd err on the side of caution and skip shots if you are in any doubt about being able to keep Silver safe.

Start Low Go Slow


Silver had a great day today! What a nice blue surf.
 
Re: 11/23 Silver PMPS 5.4; +1=5.0; +2=4.6

julie & punkin (ga) said:
Hi Juliet!

Just explaining all of that - it sounded like you're thinking people are refusing to help you and that's not likely to be the case. Could be lots of other things going on why a person doesn't post.

Silver had a great day today! What a nice blue surf.

Not at all - I was scared and needed immediate help.

Yes Silver had a good day but I wish he had stayed in greens. I am following the start low protocol so likely will drop him to 0.5 in the morning depending on what I see. I am hoping Mel pops in to take a look before lights out. I just fed him 2 teaspoons of food and will test again in 40 mins. I'm in EST so cant stay up too late - probably another couple hrs. I am wanting to get a +5 first.
 
Re: 11/23 Silver PMPS 5.4; +1=5.0; +2=4.6; +3=4.4

Two teaspoons of his regular food must have slowed him down a bit.
 
Re: 11/23 Silver Lights Out 4.7 (84.6)

Okay so I think its safe to go to bed now....he sure gave me a ride tonight and my nerves are shot nailbite_smile but overall he's had a very good day. Mel if you see this, please let me know if he's earned a reduction and if I give 0.5 in the morning.
 
Re: 11/23 Silver Lights Out 4.7 (84.6)

Just doing one last sweep of the board for tonight...Wow! what a ride but what a pretty ride. :-D But yes, because he went under 90 (5) he has earned himself a reduction, normally only a .25 reduction, but you don't have half unit marked syringes yet do you? So yeah, lets take him back to .5u in the morning if he's over 150. If he's under 150, just skip the shot for now.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 11/23 Silver Lights Out 4.7 (84.6)

Oh thank goodness. I was hoping you would check in. Thanks Mel.

Are you sure re skipping the dose if under 150 (I shot lower than that this morning and he had a smooth sailing day). I would be more comfortable giving him 0.5 if in the low blues and none at all if in green???
 
Re: 11/23 Silver Lights Out 4.7 (84.6)

Hon, it's always your call, you hold the syringe, but right now with the beginning of the week starting where all you're going to get on the a.m. cycle is the preshots, I would error on the side of caution and skip if under 150, normally I would say give .25 if under 150, but you aren't going to be able to eyeball those doses yet.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 11/23 Silver Lights Out 4.7 (84.6)

Ok..

I think I probably could eyeball it...Just been looking at the syringes.

0.5 if over 150
if under 150 but still in blue - .25
if in green - nothing.

I hope he's safely in blues. I don't like him playing on the grass.
 
Re: 11/23 Silver Lights Out 4.7 (84.6)

Hang in there Juliet. I have to be up early for medical tests, will check on you.

Steering with food is very handy, just to help them flatten out a bit.

Can you buy syringes at Walmart where you are? The equate (walmart) brand w/ half unit markings, is cheap, about $12, USD, for 100 of them. It's all I've used for almost 2 yrs, all I can afford. Don't know if you need a prescription for them there, here, in NC, we don't. There are pics floating around here somewhere that shows how to draw .25. In time you may need to draw 'skinny', 'fat', .15 and .25, you'll need those syringes with the .5 markings.

You have the hypo kit now right? As long as you're prepared, there's nothing you can't handle. This time next year, you'll wonder why you were so stressed out. :)
 
Re: 11/23 Silver Lights Out 4.7 (84.6)

Thanks. I'll get the half unit syringes when I run out of the ones I have.

I'm not really concerned shooting green but I'm concerned leaving him for 12 hours to go to work. I'll be testing in about sn hour.
 
Re: 11/24 Silver AM(S 19.8 - He bounced

Ok - looks like Silver bounced from last night's low....I gave the 1u. Mel was this correct? I couldnt remember what I'm supposed to do in a bounce. If I need to drop down to .5 u can you let me know before tonight's shoot?

Off to work now.

Juliet and Silver
 
Re: 11/24 Silver AMPS 19.8 - He bounced

You did good Juliet, and you're right...looks like a bounce to me too

Let's see where he's at tonight before talking about dose...a lot of the decision will be determined by how quickly he clears this bounce
 
Re: 11/24 Silver AMPS 19.8 - He bounced

Well I'll always worry - just cant wait to get home to check on him.
 
Re: 11/24 Silver AMPS 19.8 - He bounced

Yep you did good. Without knowing it you just did what we call "Shooting through the Bounce" Now Silver has earned himself a dose reduction by SLGS protocol, but has not by Tight Regulation which says he doesn't earn one until he fails below 50 (2.7). With the hours you are working plus commute time the safest is to probably give Silver the dose reduction earned under SLGS. I think you and I would both feel better about leaving him for 12 hours a day if you were shooting low yellow to high blue preshots. So on his next blue or yellow preshot, give him the reduction down to .5u

You know I don't think Mister Silver is going to turn out to be much of a dancer. ;-) The way he is coming down in both numbers and dose, wouldn't surprise me any if you find yourself celebrating the New Year insulin free. :-D

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 11/24 Silver AMPS 19.8 - He bounced

MommaOfMuse said:
Yep you did good. Without knowing it you just did what we call "Shooting through the Bounce" Now Silver has earned himself a dose reduction by SLGS protocol, but has not by Tight Regulation which says he doesn't earn one until he fails below 50 (2.7). With the hours you are working plus commute time the safest is to probably give Silver the dose reduction earned under SLGS. I think you and I would both feel better about leaving him for 12 hours a day if you were shooting low yellow to high blue preshots. So on his next blue or yellow preshot, give him the reduction down to .5u

You know I don't think Mister Silver is going to turn out to be much of a dancer. ;-) The way he is coming down in both numbers and dose, wouldn't surprise me any if you find yourself celebrating the New Year insulin free. :-D

Mel and The Fur Gang

Well that sounds good - although hmmm, I just won a bid for 550 strips on eBay that I may not need lol!

Okay I can do that - so when I next see a yellow or blue preshot, I go down to 1u.
 
Re: 11/24 Silver AMPS 19.8 - He bounced

You go down to .5u since you are already at 1u. Now aren't you glad he isn't still at 2u? lol

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 11/24 Silver AMPS 19.8 - He bounced

You go down to .5u since you are already at 1u. Now aren't you glad he isn't still at 2u? lol

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 11/24 Silver AMPS 19.8 PMPS 14

Ok, had a yellow PMPS so I gave just 0.5 unit....I hope this is okay. I was really tempted to give a full 1u but you'd said to give the reduction if I saw yellow or blue preshot. I hope this works out and he will still go lower. Will do two more tests tonight before bed. I hope I wont have set him back because I have to go out to work. I know he will be safe but I dont want to undo yesterday's great day.

Hoping he will come down into blues or greens later this evening.

Juliet and Silver
 
Re: 11/24 Silver AMPS 19.8 PMPS 14; +2=3.7

Ok, there is down and there is down - how did he get from 14 to 3.7 in two hrs??? I guess I am not going to get an early night after all..and I am glad I only shot the 0.5u

Mel are you about??
 
Re: 11/24 Silver AMPS 19.8 PMPS 14; +2=3.7

If you get a number that's really "out of whack", it's always a good idea to test again too. Sometimes it can be a bad strip

Since you just dropped him to .5, if he really did drop that far, it's probably due to the depot being "over-full" so the reduction tonight will help tomorrow since it will start to "drain the depot"

Since you did just reduce tonight, I think you should go ahead and give him some food and see if you can get him to slow it down again.
 
Re: 11/24 Silver AMPS 19.8 PMPS 14; +2=3.7

I dont think its out of whack for Silver as he's prone to dropping suddenly. He was very happy to get two teaspoons of extra food. Trying to keep my fatso other cat away not so easy!
 
Re: 11/24 Silver - My boy doesnt want me to sleep tonight

Gave two teaspoons of food at +2...he is now at 4 (72), Will do a +4 to make sure its not just the food raising him.
 
Re: 11/24 Silver - My boy doesnt want me to sleep tonight

ZZZZZZzzzzzzz nailbite_smile nailbite_smile
Thanks Chris
 
Re: 11/24 Silver - Lights Out +4 = 4.7

Ok he's on the way up again. Am off to bed. Mel, if you have any tips on what I should be shooting in the am, let me know. If I don't hear back, I'll shoot 0.5u.

Juliet
 
Re: 11/25 Silver - whopping bounce :-(

hi Juliet
i think that ,just like Tibbs, it's just a bounce and we keep the dose consistent. i'm sure someone else will advise you soon too.
 
Re: 11/25 Silver - whopping bounce :-(

Yeah, I think so too....just wish he would settle down. My wee boy is leading me a merry dance! :dizcat
 
Re: 11/25 Silver - whopping bounce :-(

Yep he's fine, he's just bouncing and he's already shown us that he clears them pretty quickly.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 11/25 Silver - whopping bounce :-(

Thanks Mel, I remember he did this when he was on 2u and think it was his way of saying its time for a reduction. Maybe this is the same.

Hopefully not a huge drop tonight though...he's getting too bouncy!

I wanna go home to my baby........working sucks when you're caring for a diabetic :sad:
 
Re: 11/25 Silver - AMPS 26; PMPS 11.3

Well he's come down quite a bit from his bounce this morning...wonder if he is done?

+2 =7.4
+3 = 6

I think he is coming down better today...hopefully no bounce tomorrow.
 
Re: 11/25 Silver - Lights Out 5.4

I know he is still coming down but this mommy seriously needs to get to bed....his nadir is usually at +5 and I just did a +4 so I am just gonna have to trust he's okay. Nice looking curve if I could have stayed up to do a full one :-)

I think 0.5 is suiting him nicely - right Mel?
 
Re: 11/26 Silver AMPS 21.9

Only bounced into pinks today - not as high as the red yesterday morning.

Still staying at 0.5 units - that ok? Will do a curve again at the weekend.
 
Re: 11/26 Silver AMPS 21.9

Yep, just keep the dose steady he'll clear the bounces, and the longer he stays in the lower numbers the more he'll get use to those numbers and bounce less and less high.

Speaking of this weekend, I will try to check in as much as possible but I'm going to have a house full of people here for the next 4 days so not sure how much or when I will be able to check in. If you have any thing that requires an immediate answer, please cross post to either TR or Health, and link the two condos. That way when I get a chance to check in I can see what has already been said and what advice has already been given.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top