Re: 11/16 portia +10 200 AMPS 172- change dose?

Status
Not open for further replies.

portiarita

Member Since 2013
Hello LL,
Good morning LL. What a horrible dreary saturday morning in Baltimore :((
Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=108177
I just checked Portia's AMPS at is it;s 172. Her +10 reading from last night was 200. I was wondering if I should give her any insulin at all this morning. Please let me know ASAP

Rita
 
Re: 11/16 portia +10 200- increase lantus by 1U???

Hi Rita,

The reason why you don't want to increase by 1U is that the "good dose" may be somewhere in between 1U and 2U and you don't want to jump right over it.

BTW great job on the testing and getting the +10. :thumbup

Yes give 1U lantus now and lets see where she is tonight.
 
Re: 11/16 portia +10 200 AMPS 172- should I give 1U lantus?

I agree. Good job on getting the +10, and I would shoot the 1 unit. Try to start today's testing with a +2.
 
Thanks guys!! Thank you so much!! I just gave her the 1U. I also fed her about 1.4oz of food after the +10 reading. So hopefully that'll keep her from dipping too low. A couple of questions:

1. Do you think she needs a dose change at all?

2. If she does require a dose change,should I increase by 0.25U both morning and evening or just morning and then see. If yes, when should I start the change? You guys had recommended I wait a few days. Should I wait a few more, especially in light of yesterday's delay in PM shot?

Rita
 
The counting of the cycles starts over again, with the late shot last night, so yes, I would wait for 6 cycles ... Uh, did you just shoot at +9? ETA, my mistake, I thought for a minute that your ss said 12:30pm last night and 9:35am this morning.. Whew!
 
Hi Dyana,
I dint shoot early. I was 3 hours late yesterday. However, I have a problem. I have to leave for work at 7:15am on monday and somehow need to work the insulin schedule back so I can give her the am shot at 7:15am. How on earth am I goign to do that when Im at 12:00am-12:00pm cycle now? Im so mad at my husband for making me so late on her evening shot last night. We would have been golden otherwise! Any thoughts?

As for the dose change... I should wait 3 days until I can regulate the cycle and then think about changin? Any idea by how much I should increase?
Rita
 
Let's wait on the increase for right now, and see how she does in the next few days.

Late shots act like a dose reduction and early shots act like a dose increase. Another words, she had to drain her shed a little last night because of that late shot.

We usually recommend adjusting the shot time in either 15 minutes increments every cycle (shot), or 30 minutes once per day.

That would be:
AMPS 12:30pm today
PMPS 12:15am tonight
AMPS 12:00pm Sunday
PMPS 11:45pm Sunday
AMPS 11:30am Monday

Or:
AMPS 12:30pm today
PMPS 12:00am tonight
AMPS 12:00pm Sunday
PMPS 11:30pm Sunday
AMPS 11:30am Monday

Either way, doesn't help you to move the shot time fast enough. You may have to skip a shot and adjust your shot time to your desired shot schedule all at once. So, if you were to skip tonight, you could shoot at +17 (5:30am tomorrow morning). What time do you get up? A 5:30am would give you a chance to get another test in before you have to walk out the door, and if need to post a question or room to stall. Does your DH test and shoot? Maybe he can help.

Let's see if others have any suggestions for you.
 
Hi Dyana,
Skipping a shot may be the best way to get back to schedule. I will skip tonight's shot and start the cycle count from tomorrow. I'm not a morning person at all but like everyone here, I would do anything for Portia including waking up at then unearthly hour of 5am :lol:. However, thats not a sustainable schedule for me so what if I just give her insulin at 7am tomorrow. Ill check her levels before. That schedule I can keep. Ill keep that schedule for 3 days and then re-post about changing.

I'll wait for other other to respond as well but this sounds like a plan. Thanks for your help.

Rita
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top