Re: 10/19 Garland AMPS 86 +1 95 +6 143 PMPS 195 +3 316

Status
Not open for further replies.

Violet and Garland

Member Since 2011
Wow! Starting out a green. I gave her her usual dose 4.5. I tested 2x 15 minutes apart. Its a rising number. Went from 80 to 86. Will check again in 30

Ill get a meter ketone test a bit later. I did not give her any SQ yesterday. Wanted to take a day off and make sure all the past fluids are fully absorbed. I will be giving her some today.

Eating- She is meowing begging for food like crazy!!! But is not wanting to eat her usual LC FF. I dont want to give her the HC stuff when I know she will eat the LC... Im trying to figure out the best way to go about this. She is eating the LC, but Ive been having to open a new can everytime, and Ive been having to throw out the left overs $$$$$$$

Happy Wednesday everyone!

Yesterday
 
Re: 10/19 Garland AMPS 86

Hi Violet and Garland,
Wow on that 86! (don't forget that, taking into consideration meter variance, 80 and 86 are basically the same number, so keep a close eye this morning so Garland doesn't drop too much).

I always get several meals out of a 5.5 oz. can. First I put the contents of the can into a small plastic storage dish with a tight lid and mash it up to distribute the juices. Then I transfer some into Rusty's dish and add some hot water to bring up the smell and taste. I refrigerate the rest and take some out for the next meal, add hot water, etc. etc. I find that this works much better than sticking the unused portion in the 'fridge in the cat-food can. It seems to make the food more enticing.

Wishing you all a really good day today. You are doing a fantastic job!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 10/19 Garland AMPS 86

Wow, that is a big improvement for Garland. I hear you on the pain of throwing out food. Cheaper than a vetty visit. :lol: :lol:
Liz
 
Re: 10/19 Garland AMPS 86

You could try some flavor enhancer you can get at PetSmart or PetCo.

It's a sprinkle like Halo Brand "Dinner Party" Wild Salmon with herb seasoning.

Basically, it's powdered dried protein. It comes in Chicken flavor also.

Or, if you have some dehydrated protein treats, you can pulverize one of those
and sprinkle on the canned food serving.

Push it down into the food a bit with your finger or the back of a spoon--
so she has to dig in to get it, thus eating the FF, also. Sometimes if you
can get her started, she will eat more of the FF.

When you have a partial can of FF, remove it from the can to a glass or
ceramic container. Refrigerate it.

When it's meal time again, warm it in the microwave oven to room temperature.
It only takes a few seconds in the microwave (5 secs ?). Be sure to stir it before
serving, so there are no hot spots.
 
Re: 10/19 Garland AMPS 86

Hi guys and wow on that green start to the day! How beautiful! I feel bad for all you guys who have to deal with picky eaters .. Thank goodness mocha is a hoover .. have a great day!
 
Re: 10/19 Garland AMPS 86 +.5 95

Thanks for all the tips guys! I definitely need to try them out. Shes usually such a piggie, not sure why she has these random weeks of pickiness

+.5 95 Still rising
 
Re: 10/19 Garland AMPS 86 +.5 95

That's called balls of steal shooting there Violet LOL. I'd try a new brand or flavour. Special Kitty turkey and giblet is the favourite here with the two civvies. You got some great ideas already though.
 
Re: 10/19 Garland AMPS 86 +.5 95

Karrie and Maverick said:
That's called balls of steal shooting there Violet LOL.

LOL You know whats funny? When I saw that number, I didnt even hesitate to shoot her normal dose. Green wont scare me off ;-)

After DKA (x2) FHL, R dosing, SQ fluids, etube and some syringe feeding her over the last 2 months, a little green is something I can totally handle :lol: Besides, her numbers seem to rise during her mid cycle instead of go down.. so weird. I knew they would get higher after her shot

Got the Karo on the counter :smile:
 
Re: 10/19 Garland AMPS 86 +.5 95

Whoa! that is some serious BOS shooting!
Please keep a close eye on her BGs today. you may have to steer the numbers later.
some fabulous ideas about making "leftovers" appealing!
 
Re: 10/19 Garland AMPS 86 +1 95 +2 115

These numbers are such an improvement over last week - I was nail-biting with you Violet.

Big happy hugs!
 
Re: 10/19 Garland AMPS 86 +1 95 +2 115

Great numbers!!! Luckily, I have a labrador who is more than willing to eat leftovers. :lol: I actually mix 1/2 can chicken classic FF to 1/2 can flaked chicken FF and then add hot water and mix it all up. Tarragon loves it like that. He won't eat just classic.

Hope you have a wonderful day!
 
Re: 10/19 Garland AMPS 86 +1 95 +2 115

Melissa & Tarragon said:
Great numbers!!! Luckily, I have a labrador who is more than willing to eat leftovers. :lol: I actually mix 1/2 can chicken classic FF to 1/2 can flaked chicken FF and then add hot water and mix it all up. Tarragon loves it like that. He won't eat just classic.

Hope you have a wonderful day!
Flaked chicken is on the list?? I should try that, she likes the flaked stuff
 
Re: 10/19 Garland AMPS 86 +1 95 +2 115 +4 121 +6 143

+4 121

+6 143

Just as I suspected would happen. Her numbers just keep getting higher after her shot. Thats why I wasnt nervous shooting this morning. Its sooooo weird....
 
Re: 10/19 Garland AMPS 86 +1 95 +2 115 +4 121 +6 143 PMPS 19

balls.jpg
 
Re: 10/19 Garland AMPS 86 +1 95 +2 115 +4 121 +6 143 PMPS 19

Nice numbers today!
What is the ketone situation?.
Keep in mind as Garland gets better the BG/insulin picture may change.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top