Re: 10/12/PowderAMPS356+2 444
Kathy...your SS said that he was getting a dental today...did a miss any posts to the contrary?
I don't have any definitive answers to your questions. Here is your post from last night:
Kathy&Powder said:
Thanks for responding Sienne. I don't think I understand this even though every spare minute is reading info on site reviewing others SS. My life for the last 5-6 weeks has been FD. I'm a nurse so this shouldn't be so hard to grasp. Maybe you can help.
1) If Powder has had to decrease to .10-.25 and his pancreas isn't working really, where are we talking that his optimum dose would be? Higher--lower? He just went up after 10 cycles at 0.1 to 0.25 again then dropped on the second dose and had to decrease again. There can't be that much difference between a skinny 0.25 and 0.10 is there?
2)Before I think it was advised to feed smaller meals more frequently so if he drops he would eat tiny amts of HC and or gravy to get them to surf. How can I do this if I feed him all he wants?
3)What is this protracted lack of regulation doing to his kidneys Is there anything I can do to prevent damage while we wait for the P to wake up besides lots of water?
4)by +4-+5 he is rising that's about 16 hours a day that he's in the potential renal harm range How long can he go like this.
I get what you're saying with the 3 weeks thing but I would have thought that his numbers would be a little more stable .especially with having to decrease so many times. Does this mean he will just go along like this for months in your experience?
1. No, there isn't a great difference between those two doses, but even one drop can pack a punch. I couldn't venture a guess as to what his optimum dose would be at this point in time. It is only time that tells that answer. Time and his BG numbers.
2. You can give him a certain amount of food at preshot and then little addictions at the next testing times....I am not sure of what his eating schedule is like now, but you could take the same amount of food and split it up for those feedings. How much does he eat and is it all in one sitting? A lot of food all at once can be taxing to the pancreas. Smaller frequent meals work well for keeping the BGs steadier.
3. extra warm water mixed in the food can help to keep him hydrated. We do try to raise the dose in order to get them out of the higher numbers. But it is the Liver's reaction to lower uncharted numbers that raise the BGs to those highs as a self protection mechanism. You might find this informative:
http://petdiabetes.wikia.com/wiki/Hyperglycemia
Testing for ketones is important with the higher numbers. but we try to regulate the dose to get them out of the hygher numbers as quickly as we can while trying to not go above the optimum dose.
4. hopefully, his number will fluctuate towards the lower ones as you change the dose. What might not have been a good dose previously can become a better one in the present.
I think that inflammation and or infection can also raise the numbers. If there is gum inflammation after a dental, the numbers usually start coming down. Likewise with any infection...after a course of ABs the numbers usually come down likewise.
I hope people will be by with other thoughts...