Re: 10/12/PowderPMPS398+3 175+3.75 140

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 10/12/PowderAMPS356+2 444

Kathy

I read your questions last night and didn't respond to you because I didn't have the answers and I was waiting to see if someone who knew would respond. I am very interested in the answers to your questions as I have the same questions. Could you repost them today and be sure you put "QUESTIONS" in bold in your header and select the "?" button from above? Then when they respond, you'll have to undo all that and take the "QUESTIONS" out of your header. I thought they were excellent questions. I hope Powder is doing well today. I know you are concerned about his high numbers...none of us like to see those but I'm sure someone will have some good answers for you.

Have a great day, Kathy. (((Powder)))
 
Re: 10/12/PowderAMPS356+2 444

Kathy...your SS said that he was getting a dental today...did a miss any posts to the contrary?
I don't have any definitive answers to your questions. Here is your post from last night:
Kathy&Powder said:
Thanks for responding Sienne. I don't think I understand this even though every spare minute is reading info on site reviewing others SS. My life for the last 5-6 weeks has been FD. I'm a nurse so this shouldn't be so hard to grasp. Maybe you can help.
1) If Powder has had to decrease to .10-.25 and his pancreas isn't working really, where are we talking that his optimum dose would be? Higher--lower? He just went up after 10 cycles at 0.1 to 0.25 again then dropped on the second dose and had to decrease again. There can't be that much difference between a skinny 0.25 and 0.10 is there?

2)Before I think it was advised to feed smaller meals more frequently so if he drops he would eat tiny amts of HC and or gravy to get them to surf. How can I do this if I feed him all he wants?

3)What is this protracted lack of regulation doing to his kidneys Is there anything I can do to prevent damage while we wait for the P to wake up besides lots of water?
4)by +4-+5 he is rising that's about 16 hours a day that he's in the potential renal harm range How long can he go like this.

I get what you're saying with the 3 weeks thing but I would have thought that his numbers would be a little more stable .especially with having to decrease so many times. Does this mean he will just go along like this for months in your experience?
1. No, there isn't a great difference between those two doses, but even one drop can pack a punch. I couldn't venture a guess as to what his optimum dose would be at this point in time. It is only time that tells that answer. Time and his BG numbers.
2. You can give him a certain amount of food at preshot and then little addictions at the next testing times....I am not sure of what his eating schedule is like now, but you could take the same amount of food and split it up for those feedings. How much does he eat and is it all in one sitting? A lot of food all at once can be taxing to the pancreas. Smaller frequent meals work well for keeping the BGs steadier.
3. extra warm water mixed in the food can help to keep him hydrated. We do try to raise the dose in order to get them out of the higher numbers. But it is the Liver's reaction to lower uncharted numbers that raise the BGs to those highs as a self protection mechanism. You might find this informative: http://petdiabetes.wikia.com/wiki/Hyperglycemia
Testing for ketones is important with the higher numbers. but we try to regulate the dose to get them out of the hygher numbers as quickly as we can while trying to not go above the optimum dose.
4. hopefully, his number will fluctuate towards the lower ones as you change the dose. What might not have been a good dose previously can become a better one in the present.

I think that inflammation and or infection can also raise the numbers. If there is gum inflammation after a dental, the numbers usually start coming down. Likewise with any infection...after a course of ABs the numbers usually come down likewise.
I hope people will be by with other thoughts...
 
Re: 10/12/PowderAMPS356+2 444

Thanks Pat for your input I do appreciate it. Powder is at least 3 lbs underweight which is a lot when your good weight is 8 lbs.
He really likes to eat and even at this point he eats a lot more than he did prior to the Lantus. This morning he ate a full can FF lc and begged for more in an hour. I had to go to work so I gave him a container of lc Whiskas. He ate half of it before I left :o By the time my DD came home at 3:00 the bowl was empty and he was crying. He got another can of FF lc and ate 1/2 by the time I got in at 6:15. I picked it up and he is begging. He has to wait for BG test. I had been giving him small frequent meals when I'm home and leaving like a half a can FF when I leave. However after the amount he ate today I don't think that 2-3 cans a day plus snacks was enough. I just ordered one of those auto feeders its on back order until 10/25 then I can control the frequency and amt at a sitting. He won't eat his food with water added to it. He is a really good drinker though and I have one of those waterers that looks like a Poland Springs bottle. His urine done last week was Ketone neg and he's not dehydrated which is good.
I apologize that I didn't get to answer until now but I had a late day after the late start :lol: I will repost as you suggested and see if anyone else has any thing to add.
 
Re: 10/12/PowderPMPS398QUESTIONS

This is a posting that I put on late last night. Any and all ideas are appreciated :smile:

by Kathy&Powder » Mon Oct 11, 2010 10:27 pm
Thanks for responding Sienne. I don't think I understand this even though every spare minute is reading info on site reviewing others SS. My life for the last 5-6 weeks has been FD. I'm a nurse so this shouldn't be so hard to grasp. Maybe you can help.
1) If Powder has had to decrease to .10-.25 and his pancreas isn't working really, where are we talking that his optimum dose would be? Higher--lower? He just went up after 10 cycles at 0.1 to 0.25 again then dropped on the second dose and had to decrease again. There can't be that much difference between a skinny 0.25 and 0.10 is there?

2)Before I think it was advised to feed smaller meals more frequently so if he drops he would eat tiny amts of HC and or gravy to get them to surf. How can I do this if I feed him all he wants?

3)What is this protracted lack of regulation doing to his kidneys Is there anything I can do to prevent damage while we wait for the P to wake up besides lots of water?
4)by +4-+5 he is rising that's about 16 hours a day that he's in the potential renal harm range How long can he go like this.

I get what you're saying with the 3 weeks thing but I would have thought that his numbers would be a little more stable .especially with having to decrease so many times. Does this mean he will just go along like this for months in your experience?
 
Re: 10/12/PowderPMPS398QUESTIONS

I believe in feeding them as much as they want in the beginning. Sounds as if you are doing that already. Their bodies are not nourished without the insulin so they basically have been starving. Once you give insulin, they can use the nutrients a lot better and eventually, their hunger diminishes back to a more normal one. Shadow always got hungrier with the higher numbers too.

When did you shoot after feeding him?
If it was not 2 hours previous to the test, then a food spike might be showing in your number tonight.

Have you ever tried freezing some food in ice cube trays? Some people do that and then leave a few out for when they will be gone for the day. The pucks defrost later on so the kitty has food for later.
maybe something like that will work for Powder. So you can then leave food out when you leave and he will have the frozen stuff for later. Hopefully he will eat at abut +10 or before.

Glad about the ketones....keep testing for that, okay?
 
Re: 10/12/PowderPMPS398QUESTIONS

I pick up the food usually at least two hours before. He was sound asleep when I got home and started meowing when I picked up his food, though he did have an inch piece of ham 1/4 " thick 'cause its hard to say no to the cutie pie. :smile:
 
Re: 10/12/PowderPMPS398+3 175

Powder ate very little dinner. Put a tsp of mc on his lc to entice him hope it works. He's probably stuffed from chowing down earlier in the day.

It's great to see all those surfing kitties today :mrgreen: :mrgreen: Here's for more tomorrow.
 
Re: 10/12/PowderPMPS398+3 175

I wonder if Powder is one of those kitties who needs his dinner and shot and then snack at +1, +2 & +3 to keep him surfing safe numbers. Seems we have a few skydiving kitties here who need that to keep them in a better range for the entire day. You will have to let me know how the auto feeder works for you- I was going to get one last week and life got in the way so waiting until next paycheck now. Which one did you buy?
 
Thanks for checking in tonight I was trying to catch up on others Condos and I decided to give his ears a break the way he's been high.Then I was reading about Gabby and how Sienne tested 1/2 hour in and that made me think hey over 150 pts I think I better recheck especially when he wouldn't eat. Oh yeah still dropping I can't go to bed now. No wonder I'm so tired in the morning ohmygod_smile Got some 9 lives gravy that he loves to get him to eat a little. He loves that gravy and no wheat gluten :-D :-D

I usually give him his food at the same time he gets his shot. If he eats it all I keep giving him a tbsp every hour until I go to bed then I give him a half a can for during the night. If he's not eating I'll try to change up the food to see if he will eat. Then I pick it up around 5:30 AM.

I ordered the Cat Mate C50 it has five compartments from KV Vet $63.95 free shipping. No charge 'til it ships. I don't know if it's less expensive anywhere else. I froze some food tonight but I'm not sure if he'll it but it's worth a try. He's Mr. Picky Pants :lol: My only concern with the auto feeders is it's plastic and I'm not sure he'll be able to eat out of it with his flat little face. He's so funny he usually won't chase the food around the bowl. Powder will chow down when its in the little pile and will walk away when flattened out. I'll scoop it back up and he comes back to eat more. This goes on until he's either full or its gone :roll:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top