Re: 1/30 Pumpkin +2 138, +3 109, +4 116, +5 114, +6.5 148

Status
Not open for further replies.

pumpkins mom

Member Since 2012
Well I am home for the night now and I guess I will be watching Pumpkin closely tonight. 109 is a great number for him. Finally another low number. Should I test in an hour before giving his insulin or skip it? Please give me the general rule. Last time this happened I withheld the shot since I was out of the house all day at work.
 
Re: 1/30 Pumpkin AMPS 315 PMPS 109 - should I give insulin?

I think, if you're going to be home and have all the supplies you need, and are game to watch what Pumpkin can do with a lower number while you are home to watch and test him, that I would give him his insulin.
Since it's been a half hour since you posted last, can you get another test and post that number?
Have you fed him yet?
 
Re: 1/30 Pumpkin AMPS 315 PMPS 109 - should I give insulin?

I meant to say, if you haven't given him his shot yet, then please test again, and let us know what his +12.5 number is.
 
Re: 1/30 Pumpkin AMPS 315 +12 109 +12.5 130

Thanks for your reply. I tested Pumpkin at 12.5 and his BG is 130. I did feed him so I don't know if that matters. I can watch him tonight if the norm is to give him the shot. Please tell me what to do. I am new to Lantusland.
 
Re: 1/30 Pumpkin AMPS 315 PMPS 109 - should I give insulin?

Normally, when stalling (waiting for a while to shoot, because of lower than normal BGs) you don't want to feed, because you want to see whether he's surfing (staying the same), or dropping or rising. The carbs in the food will make him rise.
If you were to wait another half hour and test again (without feeding), are you able to change your shot schedule to be in 12 hours from when you shoot tonight?
 
Re: 1/30 Pumpkin AMPS 315 PMPS 109 - should I give insulin?

Hi Diana. I never thought about not feeding him. I thought it was a good thing to feed. Now I get it. I need to leave at 7:30 am for work so it would be more like 11 hours if I wait another half hour. What do u think?
 
Re: 1/30 Pumpkin AMPS 315 PMPS 109 - should I give insulin?

I really don't think you want to skip, but it's up to you. I would take advantage of being home, to see how he does on a low PS. When you stall like this, you're going to shoot the full dose (normally) when you do shoot.
How do you feel about shooting the insulin? Do you have HC or karo if needed, lots of test strips if needed, and how flexible is your shot schedule?

Can you let us know what his +13 is?
 
Re: 1/30 Pumpkin AMPS 315 PMPS 109 - should I give insulin?

Please answer the questions, so I can help you. :)

If you have to leave in 12 hours from now, then if you are going to give him his insulin, you'll have to shoot now.
It's up to you, whether you want to skip, or see what he does, but you'll need to make the decision quickly.
 
Re: 1/30 Pumpkin AMPS 315 PMPS 109 - should I give insulin?

I am ok with shooting since I am home to watch Pumpkin. I have Karo syrup and can go in a bit late tomorrow if necessary. Is this still the result of the morning shot? I read that there is an overlap. I will test him again at +13 and then give the shot?
 
Re: 1/30 Pumpkin AMPS 315 PMPS 109 - should I give insulin?

I just gave him the shot since I can't push his a.m shot much further. I will keep a close eye on him tonight.
 
Re: 1/30 Pumpkin AMPS 315 PMPS 109 - should I give insulin?

I thought I wrote this already, but I guess I lost the post, somehow.

Please change (Edit) the Subject Line on your first post to say 1/30 Pumpkin +12 109, +12.5 130, PMPS 158
and keep the test numbers current as you go along, tonight. If you run out of room, then delete some of the earlier numbers.

I would start with a +1 and then a +2 test for tonight.

When you have a chance, re-read these links:
Dealing with Low Pre Shots
How to Handle Low Numbers
 
Re: 1/30 Pumpkin +12 109, +12.5 130. PMPS 158

Ok. I will check him at +1 and +2 and change the subject line. I edited my spreadsheet too and hope it is readable. Thanks for all your help.
 
Re: 1/30 Pumpkin +12 109, +12.5 130. PMPS 158

Your spreadsheet is fine. Just manually color the squares to blue, and you're all set. Please post when you get your numbers, okay, so that people watching and helping can follow along with how you and Pumpkin are doing.

Just Edit the first Subject Line (and hit Submit), and then do a Reply to the thread with any comments or numbers or concerns or whatever, so that bumps the post to the top of the page.
 
Re: 1/30 Pumpkin +12 109, +12.5 130. PMPS 158, +1 164

Look at those pretty blues :)
That's good, he's surfing. But, part of that little rise, is food influenced.

Please continue to get your tests and update your numbers in the subject line, and do replys to the thread so it goes to the top.
 
Re: 1/30 Pumpkin +12 109, +12.5 130. PMPS 158, +1 164

Thanks for checking my spreadsheet. I tested Pumpkin and he is 164@ +1. This sure is nerve racking, but Pumpkin looks fine. I guess you are all used to this. Thanks again for watching over us!
 
Re: 1/30 Pumpkin +12 109, +12.5 130. PMPS 158, +1 164

Perfect job with the shot and your SS. The +2 is an important test. If it's markedly lower than your pre-shot, it may mean an active cycle. So, relax for now, eat your dinner, and we'll help you keep an eye on Pumpkin.
 
Re: 1/30 Pumpkin +12 109, +12.5 130. PMPS158, +1 164, +2 13

Ann --

Actually, you want the 158 in your PMPS column. You want to keep the other numbers in their respective columns, as well.

Could you delete the +12 and +12.5 numbers from your subject line so you have room for the other numbers? I'd get a +3 since you're seeing numbers coming down.
 
Re: 1/30 Pumpkin. PMPS 158, +1 164,+2 138

Hi Sienne, thanks for checking up in Pumpkin. His +2 is 138. I will come back with the +3 number later.
 
Re: 1/30 Pumpkin PMPS 158, +1 164,+2 138

Ann

When the +2 is much less than the PS, it's likely to be a very active cycle with an early drop. So Sienne or I will be watching closely for the +3 and be here to help you. If you will just post it in the subject line as soon as you get it, tht will help.

Thank you.
 
Re: 1/30 Pumpkin PMPS 158, +1 164,+2 138, +3 109

Very nice number. IMHO, it's best to do a +4. If he drops into green, it would be a good idea to give him a couple tsp of LC food to see if he will surf there.
 
Re: 1/30 Pumpkin PMPS 158, +1 164,+2 138, +3 109, +4 116

Thanks, Marje. Do I need to continue testing or are we ok?
 
Re: 1/30 Pumpkin PMPS 158, +1 164,+2 138, +3 109, +4 116

If you need to get some sleep, one thing I do is set an alarm, and sleep in segments. I think a +5 or +5.5 would be good to get. If that number is higher, then I think it's okay to go to sleep for the night. If you're worried, then you can keep testing past that too.
 
Re: 1/30 Pumpkin +1 164,+2 138, +3 109, +4 116, +5 114

Oh, I'm sorry, I was only looking at your subject line and did not see the +5 114 test.
Yes, I think it's okay for you to call it a night. Good Job tonight :thumbup
 
Re: 1/30 Pumpkin +1 164,+2 138, +3 109, +4 116, +5 114

Looks like he is surfing. I agree with Dyana about setting an alarm. Since you got a +5 and he's hopefully getting close to nadir, how about a +6.5. You just want to see him rising.
 
Re: 1/30 Pumpkin +1 164,+2 138, +3 109, +4 116, +5 114

Ladies, thank you so much. I will set my alarm for 6.5. I am glad you talked me into shooting and checking Pumpkin. At least now I understand how the insulin works.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top