Re: 1/19 Rocky PMPS 288 +2 332 +4 334 +6 330

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tina & Rocky

Member Since 2013
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=112134




I was able to test Rocky's urine last night, finally, at 2AM. :shock: I sat in the bathroom with him while he ate and then for one hour after that. He wouldn't pee. When I left the room I took the box with me. Once every hour until 2AM I cam into the room and sat with him for about 15 minutes. I would put him in the box. He would immediately jump out of it. Rocky was negative for ketones.

I will start the routine of feeding Rocky 3x a day today. He's just eaten 1/2 can of NVIV, had his insulin shot of .75u, and his Clavamox. I'll feed him a 2nd 1/2 can of the NVIV at either AMPS +3 or +4. I'll feed him his last 1/2 can for the day at PMPS.

Even for his high number this morning he seems active and alert.

How do people change the URL of yesterday's condo and write something for it?

Thanks!
 

Attachments

  • Rocky & Tina at Hospital1.jpg
    Rocky & Tina at Hospital1.jpg
    33.6 KB · Views: 147
Re: 1/19 Rocky AMPS 304 (neg ket)

I'm glad that there are negative ketones! It's frustrating to catch pee sometimes, I hear you :roll: They don't have to pee when you need them to :lol: I hope Rocky slides down for you today.

The format for the link that you can name is:
what you want to name it

Have a good Sunday! :-D
 
Re: 1/19 Rocky AMPS 304 (neg ket)

Good news on the negative ketones. Hopefully it will get easier.

To get at name for the link instead of just showing the link URL:
  • type the name you want
    highlight what you just typed
    click the URL button, this will place the URL code brackets around what you had highlighted [color=#0080BF]name here[/color]
    backspace into the first set of brackets, [urlplace cursor here ]name here[/url]
    type an = sign and then paste the URL
    it will look like this [url= paste URL here ]name here[/url]
 
Re: 1/19 Rocky AMPS 304 (neg ket)

Hi Tina,

Last night in Rocky's condo you mentioned you were delaying his antibiotics because of concern they might drive up his blood sugar. We haven't seen that response from antibiotics in cats and Sienne mentioned that research she's seen doesn't support that theory.

The ECID slogan applies to how a cat responds to insulin, not everything cat-related. I would be very concerned that you are delaying his antibiotics unnecessarily. If he has an infection, that WILL absolutely drive up his BGs. If the antibiotics aren't given as directed, one can end up with bacteria that have become resistant to the antibiotic as well.

Great news on the ketone test! Enjoy your Sunday!
 
Re: 1/19 Rocky AMPS 304 +3 349 +4 347 +8 331

It looks like Rocky is intent on staying in the 300s before PMPS.

I might be able to get another test in by +10 but I'm not sure I'll be home from feeding the community cats by that time.

I won't raise his insulin dose until it is suggested by you advice givers, but the pinky numbers make me scared. Thank goodness Rocky still has his appetite and is not drinking excessive amounts of water. :-D
 
Re: 1/19 Rocky AMPS 304 +3 349 +4 347 +8 331

Negative ketones is wonderful news! That's one less thing to worry about, but do keep testing for them. Now it is important to focus on getting rid of whatever infection he is taking the Clavamox for, which is what, anyway? I must have missed the condo where you posted what he was put on the Clav for, just curious. Once whatever infection it is is under control (gone), and now with him being (and staying) negative for ketones, you should be able to work on getting him to the proper dose and get his #s down. I do not give dosing advice but I do recommend taking the advice of those here that do. Lantus for one thing likes consistency, so even tho I don't give dosing advice I do believe that it is important to follow the protocol and dose consistently, and check BGs often, especially in the beginning until you learn your cat's reactions to the food & the dose.

Incidentally, I also have a cat (civvie) named Rocket, "Rocky" for short!
 
Re: 1/19 Rocky AMPS +4 347 +8 331 +11 328

How many more days of the stinky pinky 300s must Rocky endure before we raise his dose back to 1.0u?
 
Re: 1/19 Rocky AMPS +4 347 +8 331 +11 328

He's still in a bounce from the 113 from day before yesterday. Bounces can last as long as 3 days. We'll know he's cleared the bounce when he comes back down into blue numbers, which he will. Probably we'll see them late tomorrow sometime. I'd continue holding the dose for at least 2 more cycles (tonight and tomorrow morning) and if he's still in pink tomorrow at pmps, i'd hold it then too.

you want him to clear the bounce before you re-evaluate the dose.
 
Re: 1/19 Rocky PMPS 288

Thank you Julie. He just came down a smidgen from one hour ago, now at 288.

I will hold the dose at .75 \M/ u.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top