Re: *1/16 Rocky +7 57 +9 55 (1/16) AMBG 75mg

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tina & Rocky

Member Since 2013
Good morning, ~O)

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=111886

I don't know how or where to post this information. Rocky had NS last night, skipped an insulin dose.

Do you want me to give him the 1.0 u this morning, same as the other morning?

I am going to feed him his breakfast right now.

Thanks!
 
Re: +23 403 AMPS +24 381 Rocky on his way back down

Morning Tina. I believe the suggestion was to continue on with the 1.0 unit. Not a bad number this morning for a skipped shot. :-D
 
Re: +23 403 AMPS +24 381 Rocky on his way back down

From your last condo, you asked:
Do I write the next test in a new thread as:

1/15 Rocky AMPS xxx

Or, do I stay in this thread and write:

+24 xxx,

Or, does this information go into a new thread?
You could have started your condo as: 1/5 Rocky +24 xxx before you inject insulin and then change it to 1/5 Rocky AMPS xxx, once you've done the shot. The +24 lets us know you haven't shot yet and likely have a question about dose. And I answered here in the new condo because it's a new question for today.

Have a great day Tina!
 
1/15 AMPS 381

Good morning Wendy,

Yes, I was surprised his BG didn't go even higher with that NS last night.

Just fed Rocky his morning breakfast and he got the 1.0 u right after he finished it. He is happy. I am happy. I think we are both tired.

We are heading back to bed here at 8:30AM. I will likely not test Rocky again until at least 12PM my time, that's in +4. (I have to count on my fingers and toes all of these number switcheroos haha_smiley)

Rocky has NOT scratched himself all night.

Goodnight for awhile. I-)
 
Re: +23 403 AMPS +24 381 Rocky on his way back down

Hope you enjoyed your btb. You're doing really great with Rocky and all of this! I wish he would stop scratching so much. Poor lil guy.
 
Re: 1/15 Rocky AMPS 381

Hi guys .. best news is when both cat and bean are happy! Hope rocky works his way down today .. have a great day!
 
Re: 1/15 Rocky AMPS 381 +3.5 349

Thank you Mr. Mocha!

AMPS 381 +3.5 349

Looks like Rocky is slowly making his way down today. Not a fall.

Had to do an 11:30AM, or +3.5 instead of a +4. (Is that how you post when it is 1/2 before you would normally do the pokey pokey?) I have a hair appointment at noon and stylist didn't call me until 8:30AM this morning to remind me. Must cover those increasing greys :!: :!: :razz:
 
Re: 1/15 Rocky AMPS 381 +3.5 349

Tina:

Sandy had mentioned testing Rocky regularly for ketones given his recent experience with DKA. There's an alternative to doing urine tests. You can test for ketones in the blood just like you test for glucose. I just posted this in Toonces condo:
You may want to invest in a ketone meter. This is just like a BG meter -- in fact it tests for glucose and ketones. There are different (and more expensive) strips for testing ketones. You can get a free meter from Novamax although it can take a while for the meter to be delivered. The meters are also available through American Diabetes Wholesale and you'll get it a whole lot quicker. Just make sure you order the right meter. It also looks like the meters are available through a number of retail outlets. (The strips will be a lot cheaper if you buy they online, though.)
 
Re: 1/15 Rocky AMPS 381 +4 349 +7 344

Hi,

Rocky seems to be barely floating his way down at all right now, but we have 5 more hours to go before PMPS.

That is a GREAT idea to get a ketone tester that uses blood. There's no way I can do the urine one. Because everyone here is on the same page that I need to test for ketones ASAP, I'll pay for this meter and order it online their the American Diabetes Assoc.

Or, does anyone have a blood ketone tester and strips they would want to donate for Rocky, before I go ahead and order this? Also, can you just put the link in a post of the EXACT one that I need to order from the ADA?

Thank you!
 
Medicine Mama's Bee Magic - HONEY!

GOOD GRIEF I'M SLEEP DEPRIVED IDIOT!!

I was just at the store to buy a few things and checked out the natural healing section. Was hoping to find a product to nourish Rocky's ears while they heal, provide some relief for the itching of scabby, dry skin.

I read the back of this one and fell in love with it so I bought it. It's called "Medicine Mama's Bee Magic."

http://medicinemamasapothecary.com/sweet-bee-magic/

Ok so I got it home and started slathering all over the back of Rocky's ears and he seem to really be enjoying it. I put a little on his balding spots on the top of his head. I started reading the label again.. The ingredients are: CCOF propolis, antimicrobial honey, royal jelly, bee pollen, olive oil, beeswax.

HONEY!!


OMG. Then I went and got a towel and started to rub it off of him. To tell you the truth though, I can't taste any honey in it.

So I looked up if royal jelly is a sugar and found this:

2) Diabetes


"Royal jelly shows promise in the treatment of diabetes, suggests a preliminary study published in the Journal of Medicinal Food in 2009. In tests on 20 healthy volunteers, the study's authors found that ingestion of royal jelly helped decrease blood sugar levels. Although blood sugar control is a key element of diabetes management, more research is needed before royal jelly can be recommended in treatment of diabetes."

Do you think the SKIN CREAM is safe to use on Rocky? It seems to be mainly beeswax and olive oil. I cannot taste anything sweet in it at all.
 
Re: Oops! Honey in Rocky's skin cream OK?

Hi Tina, I sent you a ketone meter in the box of supplie yesterday! There are only the 2 ketone strips that came with it though.
 
Re: 1/15 Rocky AMPS 381 +4 349 +7 344

TinaMarie8 said:
Do you think it's safe to use?

I have no idea, therefore I'm inclined to advise against it. There may be others who are familiar with it to answer your question in more detail.

Have you tried neosporin with pain relief? I believe folks around here use it on their kitties ears to help during poke-a-thons. . . perhaps it would help.
 
Re: Oops! Honey in Rocky's skin cream OK?

Hi: I've been following the adventures of Rocky. Vetricyn is a spray/liquid that works great on dogs, cats and horses. It contains no sugar. I usually put it on a gauze square and apply where needed on the kitties. It is a little pricy but I have had fantastic results with it.

My other thought is, since Rocky drops from 1 unit and he is only receiving insulin once a day, perhaps if you reduce the dose to .5 or .75 you could shoot every 12 hours. Lantus works best in 12 hour doses. If that does not hold him you can increase the dosage in accordance with the protocol. I think this would help prevent the low/high cycles he is experiencing along with missed shots and perhaps level him out. That is just a thought for you to consider. Perhaps others will weight in on the suggestion.
 
Re: Oops! Honey in Rocky's skin cream OK?

I've heard of others using Vetricyn, even for the ear pokes. Might be worth a try if the Neosporin isn't working.

Regarding the dose, I think you should stick to 1.0U tonight. The reason for the dose skips were to drain the 2.0U and 1.5U depots, as those doses were too high. If you continue on with 1.0U, we'll be able to see how this dose works for Rocky.
 
Re: 1/15 Rocky +4 349 +7 344 +11 76

Good evening everyone!

Well, we've fallen a lot lower than 349 over the past 4 hours.

+7 344 to +11 76.

I wonder if it will fall much lower in the next hour? I'm suppose to feed Rocky his evening meal in less than one hour.

I'm sorry if I seem like a real pest and a bother, but I don't know if I'm suppose to give him 1.0 u of Lantus shot if he has a BG even lower than 76mg at PMPS?

Please, experts, guide me though this! :!: I'm still not caught up on my sleep. I had very little energy today.

To me you are all angels and Gods. I wouldn't know how to help Rocky without you. {{hugs}} o:-)
 
Re: 1/15 Rocky +4 349 +7 344 +11 76 PLEASE SHOT ADVICE!

we're not experts. we just have some experience!

please don't shoot him and don't feed him. check him again in 45 minutes, so at +11.75 and post that number. i'll look for you.
 
Re: 1/15 Rocky +4 349 +7 344 +11 76 +11.25 328

Hm..

Looks like some kind of wrong reading at +11. I had just woke him up. Maybe he was super relaxed? Now that he is alert, active, and hungry I get the +328 reading.

Should I go ahead and feed him his dinner and give the 1.0 u?

Thank you!
 
Re: 1/15 Rocky +4 349 +7 344 +11 76 +11.25 328

that does sound like the 76 might've been wonky. if you got a 328, i think you're safe with the same 1.0u dose again.

crazy strip situation.
 
Re: 1/15 Rocky +4 349 +7 344 +11 76 +11.25 328

Tina

Can you please retest before you shoot? Just want to be sure if that is an accurate test.
 
Re: 1/15 Rocky +4 349 +7 344 +11 76 +11.25 328

I feel the same as Julie. You can always test one more time before shooting if it will bring peace of mind :cool:
 
Re: 1/15 Rocky +7 344 +11 76 +11.25 328 AMPS +318

Sandy, Julie, Marje,

Just did a re-check most likely while you were typing. I didn't feel comfortable with that amount of a difference.

He's now at 318mg.

We're good to go now with the plan to feed him his dinner and then give the 1.0u shot? Thanks!
 
Re: 1/15 Rocky +7 344 +11 76 +11.25 328 AMPS +318

Yes...thanks for rechecking. You can give him 1u.

Guess the 76 was a bad test.
 
Re: 1/15 Rocky +7 344 +11 76 +11.25 328 AMPS +318

Thanks everyone. He's eating now. Will give him the 1.0 u.

I think again that there might have been too much blood on that strip, like the night I ran out of strips. Sometimes his ears will bleed a thin blood really fast and then other times I have to squeeze a little just to get something out. I'm learning the ropes.
 
Re: 1/15 Rocky PMPS +318 +5 144 +7 57

Hm.. wondering if I should go btb... 3AM here.. what is wise.

+5 144 +7 57

Rocky gets breakfast and 1.0 u in 5hrs.. Hope his BG isn't too low then at AMPS. I won't know what to do. :roll:

Just up because other kitties in the house woke me up for their breakfast.
 
Re: 1/15 Rocky PMPS +318 +5 144 +7 57

Hey Tina,

Just saw your post. Looks like you posted during some the slow time of the morning when both the east coast and west coast people are asleep.

That happened to me about a week ago when Cobb threw us a curveball by dipping into the 60s for the first time.

To give you some peace of mind and not feel like you're waiting for an answer, I've found that any time you get a reading that low, the people guiding you will recommend to retest in an hour. If he doesn't fall below 50, you don't need to be overly concerned, although vigilant. Retest in an hour and see where he stands. He could be surfing around that number or he could be coming up on his own.

Also, don't stress about what 5 hours will bring. That's almost half a cycle. In BG time (in my experience), it's enough time to go back up to a shootable level. You never know if Rocky will bounce off that 57 and his AMPS be 300.

Just trying to ease your mind!!

~Suzanne
 
Re: 1/15 Rocky PMPS +5 144 +7 57 +9 55 SHOT?

Hi Suzanne,

Thanks for trying to ease my mind. Hopefully the advice givers will be here in 2 hrs time.

It looks like Rocky is still very very slowly coming down. Yes, it's also very possible that he could still bounce right back up to a quiet high number right at AMPS!

So, btb for a few hours for me until Rocky's AMPS. Hopefully someone can give advise whether to shoot or not at that time.

I can't remember how the post subject should look like if Rocky at 50 at AMPS since he might not get the shot. I just remember you use the AMPS if he is going to get the shot. :roll:
 
Re: 1/15 Rocky PMPS +5 144 +7 57 +9 55 SHOT?

Good info from Suzanne.

It looks like Rocky is intent on a green surf. A lot can happen between +9 and AMPS. If you need help at shot time, just put a note in your subject line.
 
Re: **1/16 Rocky PMPS +7 57 +9 55 +12 75 Shot??

Good morning everyone,

At +12 Rocky is 75mg this morning on 1/16. So he is on his way back up.

I was told not to use AMPS unless I have given the shot.

Is this considered still too low to shoot though?

Should I wait one hour and then re-check Rocky? It will push back his shot one hour if I do so. I haven't fed him his breakfast yet.

Thanks !
 
Re: **1/16 Rocky PMPS +7 57 +9 55 +12 75 Shot??

Retest in 1/2 hour. Meanwhile, DON"T FEED. Also please start a new condo so we don't have to wade through all of yesterdays. Thanks.
 
Re: **1/16 Rocky PMPS +7 57 +9 55 +12 75 Shot??

Go ahead and start a new thread and title it "1/16 Rocky AMBG 75 - too low to shoot?" And then put the question icon on it.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top