Re: 07/26 Cheekyface +11.5=85 - PMPS 122, +4~171, +6~142

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lesley & Cheekyface

Member Since 2011
Yesterday:
Sunday's news: viewtopic.php?f=28&t=48320
AMPS~72
retest ~60
Fed and withheld shot as vet didn't get back to me within 2 hours
+2~104
+6~90
PMPS~144
on vet advice, gave half-dose (1u); subsequently ate all her dinner.
+4~70 gave halfcan FF turkey
+6~50 just now. She's awake and alert and not in any distress. I on the other hand am ready to cry.


Overnight:
+6h 45m=67 gave gravy
+7h 45m=67
+8=68 gave 1 tsp HC
+9=83 gave 1 tsp HC

She's due for shot at 7.30 (15mins from now). I withheld yesterday because of a preshot like this but I can't keep doing that and I MUST go to work today.

Advice needed please :sad:
 
Re: 07/26 Cheekyface +11.5=85 - dose advice please

I'm just bumping you up, hoping more people can see your need.

Have you thought about a temporarilly reduced dose (BCS) and leaving extra food out?
 
Re: 07/26 Cheekyface +11.5=85 - dose advice please

This is my first experience with these numbers so I'll be grateful for any suggestions that will keep her safe.

Just retested @ +12=6.9 sorry 124

Have fed her as normal. She's only eaten half so far.
 
Re: 07/26 Cheekyface +11.5=85 - dose advice please

When do you have to leave the house?

I'll go looking for the shooting lower bgs link.

Do you leave out food for her, and does she eat it? Is she the only kitty in the house?
 
Re: 07/26 Cheekyface +11.5=85 - dose advice please

I'm still looking for the link. I just looked at your ss again, and see you shot 122 on the 24th.
 
Re: 07/26 Cheekyface +11.5=85 - dose advice please

I have to leave at 9am (1 hr 30mins) I've read the sticky about shooting lower numbers but as I say this is my first experience with her at this level.

I usually leave tuna freezies out daytime/overnight. My other cat is early CRF and I never know who's eaten what. It's usually gone by the time I get home/get up.
 
Re: 07/26 Cheekyface +11.5=85 - dose advice please

I was going to say let's see where she is in a half hour from the +12, but you already fed didn't you?

We want to let you feel comfortable, too. Would you feel comfortable shooting a lower dose (BCS shot) this morning?
 
Re: 07/26 Cheekyface +11.5=85 - dose advice please

Yes, I fed her, but she hasn't eaten all of it yet (20 mins later). If she finishes it I think I could give a smaller dose...
 
Re: 07/26 Cheekyface +11.5=85 - dose advice please

She was rising before the food, so maybe she's just having a late nadir today, and will continue rising, just like on the 24th.

If it were me, and I was worried about leaving for the day, I would shoot a little bit less and leave extra food out. Maybe even some medium carb food. I freeze food and leave that out so it slowly defrosts during the day. And, I have a timed feeder. You might want to think about those two options for the future.
 
Re: 07/26 Cheekyface +11.5=85 - dose advice please

Lesley --

Can you get another test? It would help to know if numbers are on their way up.

FWIW -- in a situation like this, it's best to hold off on food so you can tell when you re-test whether the numbers are going up on their own or if it's a food spike.
 
Re: 07/26 Cheekyface +11.5=85 - dose advice please

Had she gone up to the 124, before you fed her?
 
Re: 07/26 Cheekyface +11.5=85 - dose advice please

Lesley, would you feel more comfortable shooting just half a dose 0.50 this morning and leaving some extra food out for her? You'll get back to where you are in a day or so, so don't worry about backsliding. You don't need to be all stressed out at work.
 
Re: 07/26 Cheekyface +11.5=85 - dose advice please

Dyana, I was thinking of 0.5u myself, thank you, and I'll leave extra food out--plus I have a friend who lives nearby and works from home, so I can ask him to pop in around her nadir and give her a supervised mini-meal.
 
Re: 07/26 Cheekyface +11.5=85 - dose advice please

Very good. That sounds like a plan, and that's what I would do. Have your friend call you too, that always helps.

Have a good day, Lesley.
 
Re: 07/26 Cheekyface +11.5=85 - dose advice please

Oh, and get one last out-the-door-test before you leave.
 
Re: 07/26 Cheekyface +11.5=85 - dose advice please

Just given the 0.5u, she's asleep already and didn't even stir. I'll test her again just before I leave.

Thank you both for the help. I really wasn't comfortable giving a full dose even with the 124 but I know she needs insulin because she was DKA at diagnosis.

Will post during the day when I hear from my friend.

Better get ready for work now.
 
Re: 07/26 Cheekyface +11.5=85 - dose advice please

@9am = 10.2 sorry 184 and she ate a little more of bf but didn't finish. When I left at 9.05am she was curled up and going back to sleep.

I'm at work now and waiting to hear if my friend can pop in later on to check on her.
 
Re: 07/26 Cheekyface +11.5=85 - dose advice please

In case you haven't seen this post, Libby put together information on how to handle low pre-shots. It's helpful to have this bookmarked or printed out in case there's no one around and you're not sure what to do.

I think if your friend can get a test or two in, it will provide some good info. I think there's a good chance that Cheeky's numbers are heading up and you could have given the full dose. (Of course, I'm saying that with 20/20 hindsight.) Being able to see what happens this evening will help you with future decisions.
 
Re: 07/26 Cheekyface +11.5=85 - dose advice please

Thanks Sienne, yes I have that printed out along with your "How to handle low numbers" and was referring to both frequently last night while you guys were supporting me.

In reality, I haven't been working with the TR because of my work hours, and with her DKA I don't really expect her to go into remission--but she seems to have decided differently over the past few days and it's floored me.

I confess I'm disappointed with my vet's reaction/response to my request for advice even with the data right in front of her, so I'm more comfortable now with taking more control of dosing especially when it's reductions.

I'd rather not have to dare shoot greens though...

But testing today won't happen, I haven't approached my friends yet about being my injections backup, let alone doing ear pricks. I think thats now become a priority ohmygod_smile
 
07/26 Cheekyface +11.5=85 update

Update from friend's check on my girl:

the last of her b/f was still beside her, some tuna had been eaten but no chicken, she scarfed 1/2 can FF chicken and wanted to go outside in the sun. I asked that when they left, they gave her 1 tsp of HC food.

I hope it's enough.

Will test when I get home.
 
Re: 07/26 Cheekyface +11.5=85 - dose advice please

sounds like she's doing just fine. nicely done plan with your neighbor friend checking in. it helps to have friends like that!

the thing i've learned about lantus is that even if you try to give exactly the same food at exactly the same time, with the same dose of insulin, you're cat's numbers will vary. it seems like you have to be ready to change the dosing. once you get the hang of following the protocol it's really very easy and it gives you a successful road map to follow. if you post here every day, or often at least, people will help you with learning it. it does give you a wonderful feeling of knowing what you're doing and feeling a bit more secure in how to take care of your cat once you've learned a bit more.

i don't think the circumstances that Cheekyface had when she was diagnosed would determine whether she might or might not be a kitty that would go off of insulin. really, the kitty's bodies "lead the dance" and we all follow as best as we can!
 
Re: 07/26 Cheekyface +11.5=85 - PMPS 122

+9h 45m = 122
+11.5 = 122

Fed, but yet again did not eat the full amount.

I'm afraid I chickened out big time because I just can't face another all-nighter, so have given 0.5u again, without bringing her forward.

Sorry to be such a wimp.
 
Re: 07/26 Cheekyface +11.5=85 - PMPS 122

Okay. I haven't looked at your ss, as I have to run to work. But, be sure to mark in the units column 0.50 BCS.

I would get a before bed check and set an alarm for a +6 test, at least. Have a good night.
 
Re: 07/26 Cheekyface +11.5=85 - PMPS 122

Oh, there will be a bedtime check, fear not, I was in that habit anyway.

I may even still be up for the +6 despite my brain fog but I'll set an alarm in case I nod off.
 
Re: 07/26 Cheekyface +11.5=85 - PMPS 122, +4~171

+4 = 171

I fell asleep, meant to do a +3

Some of this could be stress--her ear wouldn't bleed and I had to re-try on the other side.

But it looks like I could have given 1u after all.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top