We did a full panel on Feb 25 - his USG was 1.019. This was prior to any medications or fluids. Glucose in the urine was >56. His blood chemistry showed glucose: 22 BUN 12.8 (5-12.5 are normal range)
The notes from the Lab say: Stress lymphopenia - significant hyperglycemia present, with glycosuria - supports DM. Check fructosamine also, low SG related to DM or renal. The fructosamine was only 422 which the lab said indicated that it is a recent onset of DM. Advised rechecking the fructosamine again in 2 weeks (which we tried to do, but could not collect a sample!!) We did check his thyroid, I don't have the number, but it was within normal levels.
Initially when put onto insulin, he seemed to be doing pretty well. He was still eating well and was a little more active. 3 days after starting insulin (Caninsulin at 1.5 units SID) we checked him 4 hours after shot and he was 5.4 - responding well. I then started home-testing and did a curve on March 6 (still on 1.5u SID)= 15.3 AMPS, then 5.7, 6.4, 8.6, 12.1. Vet decided to change to 1u BID. Then I had 10.7 AMPS, 3.7, 8.6 PMPS, then 4.2 on the 2nd day at BID. Vet said that looked good, so continue at 1u BID. Now just in the last few days, my AMPS numbers are still low, so I am skipping the shot. Or yesterday I only gave .5u. This morning it was 8.4 so I didn't give any. The highest he is going is 10-12. He isn't eating much today, and is pretty lethargic. Vet gave him Convenia injection last Thursday in case there is an underlying infection of sorts. He also had me start him on Thera-K potassium supplement, as we are concerned about his kidney. We did another urinalysis on Friday and his USG was still low - 1.018 I think (now on fluids and insulin). There is no vomiting.
Bottom line is we need to do more diagnostics: blood work, etc. But he won't cooperate. He is impossible. I'm feeling very concerned.