SophieFRA
Member
Hi all,
my foster cat Raven has had a high spell of BG numbers recently due to a skin infection he was fighting (which externally looks pretty cleared up) and medication he’s been taking in response since Dec 10.
I just walked into his room and there were 4 different puddles of puke. I suspect something was off wit h the raw rabbit food I fed him. It smelled a little stronger (different brand since my normal delivery didn’t make it in time). He has a very sensitive stomach and occasionally throws up if his food doesn’t agree with him (he has IBD). This morning he is very weak and won’t eat. I got him to drink a little water mixed with fortiflora.
I have not given him his antibiotics which should be given with food, nor his shot since he’s not eating. However his AMPS is very high. For reference when I first got him from a shelter almost 2 years ago his BG was over 500 and he was acting fine. No seizures etc. Since then I’ve gotten him down on green numbers only with occasional blues on a stable dose of 2.25. In response to his recent high numbers I have increased dose to 2.75.
My instinct is to skip his morning insulin (or at least defer until I get him to eat). He has IBD and is on novel protein diet so options to feed him broths etc are limited.
I do have some old Cerenia and Mirtazapine from my foster org. I’ve had it in my drawer fir at least a year, probably longer. So not sure if it would be worth trying that. Doesn’t have expiration date since it’s just a couple of pills they gave me.
Thanks for your help.
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1pw2gozDXz_UhGSs897ptj3iAeUPqD-dGnxrcCwXgfWg/edit
The oral meds he’s taking are Clavicillin and APoquel twice daily as well as topical Animax once a day.
my foster cat Raven has had a high spell of BG numbers recently due to a skin infection he was fighting (which externally looks pretty cleared up) and medication he’s been taking in response since Dec 10.
I just walked into his room and there were 4 different puddles of puke. I suspect something was off wit h the raw rabbit food I fed him. It smelled a little stronger (different brand since my normal delivery didn’t make it in time). He has a very sensitive stomach and occasionally throws up if his food doesn’t agree with him (he has IBD). This morning he is very weak and won’t eat. I got him to drink a little water mixed with fortiflora.
I have not given him his antibiotics which should be given with food, nor his shot since he’s not eating. However his AMPS is very high. For reference when I first got him from a shelter almost 2 years ago his BG was over 500 and he was acting fine. No seizures etc. Since then I’ve gotten him down on green numbers only with occasional blues on a stable dose of 2.25. In response to his recent high numbers I have increased dose to 2.75.
My instinct is to skip his morning insulin (or at least defer until I get him to eat). He has IBD and is on novel protein diet so options to feed him broths etc are limited.
I do have some old Cerenia and Mirtazapine from my foster org. I’ve had it in my drawer fir at least a year, probably longer. So not sure if it would be worth trying that. Doesn’t have expiration date since it’s just a couple of pills they gave me.
Thanks for your help.
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1pw2gozDXz_UhGSs897ptj3iAeUPqD-dGnxrcCwXgfWg/edit
The oral meds he’s taking are Clavicillin and APoquel twice daily as well as topical Animax once a day.