Kris & Rasmus
Member
Hi again!
After having gotten to grips fully with taking bloods and injecting, I had a nice little spreadsheet going. Rasmus's numbers were/are high, even if there was/is a drop after shots. I've increased dosage from 1u to 1.25u and am now on 1.5u. I'm getting much more strict about not messing around with the type of food he gets (different brands of lc wet food) because I am finding it hard to get a pattern.
Even though I'm comfortable with taking his BG and injecting him, I am finding his illness very stressful because, well, I obsess about him. I haven't taken any BG test the last few evenings post shot because I actually had a mini-breakdown and husband ordered me to chill a bit. My mind is clearer now so will start taking his BG readings more often, and in the evening. If those alphatrack test strips weren't so incredibly expensive!
Currently the plan is that I'll be curving him on Friday and then sitting down with the husband on Saturday so we can look at all the data for the week and plan what to do moving forward. As such, I have a few questions.
Thank you,
Kris
After having gotten to grips fully with taking bloods and injecting, I had a nice little spreadsheet going. Rasmus's numbers were/are high, even if there was/is a drop after shots. I've increased dosage from 1u to 1.25u and am now on 1.5u. I'm getting much more strict about not messing around with the type of food he gets (different brands of lc wet food) because I am finding it hard to get a pattern.
Even though I'm comfortable with taking his BG and injecting him, I am finding his illness very stressful because, well, I obsess about him. I haven't taken any BG test the last few evenings post shot because I actually had a mini-breakdown and husband ordered me to chill a bit. My mind is clearer now so will start taking his BG readings more often, and in the evening. If those alphatrack test strips weren't so incredibly expensive!

Currently the plan is that I'll be curving him on Friday and then sitting down with the husband on Saturday so we can look at all the data for the week and plan what to do moving forward. As such, I have a few questions.
- 1. After I've given Rasmus his shot, he spends 2 hours totally zoned out and looking a little under the weather. He doesn't go too low though, so I'm quite puzzled. Is this behaviour normal? Is it just because he has a belly full of food and the injection can make him feel a little weird?
- 2. Rasmus currently gets two meals a day. Is it more likely that this spikes his BG? Would smaller meals 4 times a day give him consistently lower readings? How would that interfere with his BG readings during the day?
- 3. Unless the curve I'm doing on Friday say something different, I think I should up the dose to 1.75u. What say you? Should I curve him earlier? I have time during the week.
- 4. One PM recently, he was below the safe zone of 14 PMPS (he was at 11.7. This was the same day the cat was feed a bit more during the day? Coincidence?) so husband and I were unsure of what to do. We didn't inject him. Should we have injected him with a smaller dose? Is there advise on what to inject when he's between 11-14 (for example 75% of the dose), and if he's below 11 (for example 50% of the dose)?
- 5. We're going to move soon and I want to make the whole ordeal less stressfull for Rasmus. Can I use Zylkene, or does that mess with BG readings?
Thank you,
Kris