Sue and Oliver (GA)
Member Since 2009
I've heard of people who fashion a box with a hole for a door big enough for the cat but not the dog?
Sue and Oliver (GA) said:I've heard of people who fashion a box with a hole for a door big enough for the cat but not the dog?
Becky and Toby said:... I know it's recommended that 11 is safe to shoot at, but because it's so abnormal it certainly doesn't feel it.
Elizabeth and Bertie said:Becky and Toby said:... I know it's recommended that 11 is safe to shoot at, but because it's so abnormal it certainly doesn't feel it.
Hi Becky,
It's not so much that "11 is safe to shoot at" but rather that we don't recommend that folks new to diabetes give shots at less than 11, until they've gathered some data about how their cat responds to shots at lower numbers.... If that makes sense.... Once people have gathered data on how their cat responds to insulin they may well give their cats shots at numbers lower than 11 (I often give Bert shots as soon as he gets above 8).
Your Toby is a tad tricky in that a unit of insulin can drop his blood glucose from 21.7 to 4.7 in 4 hours. That's not what he typically does but we know that it can happen. And neither do we know why it happens. That may become clearer later on....
Have you given Toby insulin this evening yet? And if so, was his preshot number 17.6? And did you give one unit?
You don't have to stick to the one unit dose. If you are concerned (and if you're not going to be around to monitor his response) you could always give a reduced dose.
Eliz
Becky and Toby said:He hasn't been tested - nor received insulin - since yesterday morning due to an issue with his Codefree monitor. We bought an Accu-Chek Aviva today, and just checked him and got 18.6. I chose to shoot him with 0.5 due to his unpredictable nature and not really knowing if the Aviva reads the same. What a strange little gentletom you are, Toby.
Elizabeth and Bertie said:Becky and Toby said:He hasn't been tested - nor received insulin - since yesterday morning due to an issue with his Codefree monitor. We bought an Accu-Chek Aviva today, and just checked him and got 18.6. I chose to shoot him with 0.5 due to his unpredictable nature and not really knowing if the Aviva reads the same. What a strange little gentletom you are, Toby.
Hi Becky,
The Accucheck Aviva is quite popular in the UK (and, just in case you don't already know this, the test strips are usually available on Ebay far more cheaply than in the pharmacies. (Hooray for Ebay!))
Gosh, 18.6 after a day (?) with no insulin? That is quite an improvement, isn't it? Is Toby eating more of the low carb food now..? What sort are you feeding him?
Oh, re your previous post - you don't seem at all "demanding"! :lol: Your pondering of why the blood glucose numbers vary so much is entirely natural and understandable! Bertie had a very similar pattern to Toby for quite a while after he was diagnosed (high numbers interspersed with sudden inexplicable drops. I spent a lot of time puzzling over that.... :roll: )
You're doing a great job, Becky. Toby is very lucky to have you looking after him. cat_pet_icon
Eliz
Wendy&Tiggy said:Can you get a test around PMPS +4 or +5? I wouldn't want to do a dose change without checking how low he is going on this one!
Wendy&Tiggy said:Maybe cos you just gave 0.5?
Becky and Toby said:...I guess intracardiac injections will do that to you =[
Elizabeth and Bertie said:Becky and Toby said:...I guess intracardiac injections will do that to you =[
"Intracardiac injections"...??? :shock:
Becky and Toby said:...That's how bad a shape he was in. I feel guilty as hell that it ever got that far....
Elizabeth and Bertie said:Becky and Toby said:...That's how bad a shape he was in. I feel guilty as hell that it ever got that far....
Oh, (((Becky))), please don't beat yourself up about that. We all have 20/20 vision in hindsight. Your were doing the best that you could for Toby at that time. But now you've found more information and you have the benefit of your own experience of hometesting Toby.
Yes, the blood glucose numbers are looking better and better! Great job! :smile:
Eliz
Elizabeth and Bertie said:Becky,
Just took a peek at Toby's chart and his numbers are just getting better and better! Very exciting stuff indeed! (And those coloured charts are a great way to actually 'see' the progress, aren't they?)
You are doing a fantastic job. You've clocked up quite a bit of hometesting experience now and I get a sense that you're really beginning to develop a 'feel' for what works best for him.![]()
Looking at those numbers, it would seem at the moment that Toby IS doing just fine on Caninsulin too....(so maybe it won't be necessary to switch insulins...?)
How is Toby in himself? Does he seem to be feeling better?
Eliz
Becky and Toby said:...He's eating Butcher's Classic most of the time, with the occasional pate at about 2.7%
I'm still reading up on food and am definitely open to feeding him something else, I'm just slightly overwhelmed by the options. I mean, Toby definitely likes the pates, for example, but I can't really find any information on them.
Becky and Toby said:...Our vet has actually told us that he has some 'skinnier' syringes so that, to the eye, the space between units is larger.
Becky and Toby said:...Now I just need to evaluate what calls for a .25 or a .75 nailbite_smile