Duggles
Member Since 2018
Hi Folks,
I ran out of strips for the alpha trak meter today. I have some on order but they won't arrive until next week, so I decided to buy a human meter from the pharmacy. The price difference was pretty drastic, the meter was 20$ and I got 50 strips for 15$ instead of 50$. I probably should have just bought that one first instead but I wanted my readings to match my vet who uses the alpha trak.
So I'm wondering how much difference in the BG numbers will there be between the human meter and the cat meter? Kali's AMPS test this morning was 100 so I fed her and waited one hour until it was up to 160. I gave her a half dose since it seems like she's been bouncing quite a bit and I didn't want to cause another bounce.
I used my last Alpha Trak strip at +1. Her +6 test was 99 with the human meter. What would that translate to if I were using the cat meter? If she's still in that neighborhood at PMPS time should I skip the shot or perhaps give another half dose?
Also, should I start a different spreadsheet for the new meter? I will probably switch back to the alpha trak next week when the strips arrive in the mail.
I'm hoping this is the beginning of her staying in the blue a little bit more.
Thanks in advance for your help and advice.
I ran out of strips for the alpha trak meter today. I have some on order but they won't arrive until next week, so I decided to buy a human meter from the pharmacy. The price difference was pretty drastic, the meter was 20$ and I got 50 strips for 15$ instead of 50$. I probably should have just bought that one first instead but I wanted my readings to match my vet who uses the alpha trak.
So I'm wondering how much difference in the BG numbers will there be between the human meter and the cat meter? Kali's AMPS test this morning was 100 so I fed her and waited one hour until it was up to 160. I gave her a half dose since it seems like she's been bouncing quite a bit and I didn't want to cause another bounce.
I used my last Alpha Trak strip at +1. Her +6 test was 99 with the human meter. What would that translate to if I were using the cat meter? If she's still in that neighborhood at PMPS time should I skip the shot or perhaps give another half dose?
Also, should I start a different spreadsheet for the new meter? I will probably switch back to the alpha trak next week when the strips arrive in the mail.
I'm hoping this is the beginning of her staying in the blue a little bit more.
Thanks in advance for your help and advice.
