ramone 05/24 amps 228 +6 66

Jerica&ramone

Member Since 2019
hi all

just tested Ramone +6 and he was 3.7 (66)
gave him some high carb fancy feast tested 20 min later and 2.0 (36)

i have now put honey on gums will test again in another 15-20 he seems OK. but I"ll keep checking haven't seen this low ever yet
 
Last edited:
put out more high carb food to snack on and he's gobbling it up

20 mins later BG # 4.9 (88)

how often should I keep checking every 20-30 to make sure # doesn't start to drop again ?
 
Do you have a spreadsheet we can look at?
You need to reduce the dose of insulin.
What type of meter are you using?
Test again in 20 minutes to see the BG is rising. Don’t feed any more at the moment unless he drops again. Keep testing for at least 2 hours after the last lot of food.
 
Do you have a spreadsheet we can look at?
You need to reduce the dose of insulin.
What type of meter are you using?
Test again in 20 minutes to see the BG is rising. Don’t feed any more at the moment unless he drops again. Keep testing for at least 2 hours after the last lot of food.


Sorry I was doing some adjustments to my profile and not sure why SS isn't linked anymore

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1mQDdmbOmowBNoO6LXVNKrny9OOtDhs8Xysc7davixkk/edit#gid=5

Just tested again 5.0

I'll pull up the food now and test again in another 30.

I know we aren't out of the woods just yet...
 
He just told you 9.0 units is too much, your gut was right. Take a look a the Handling Low Numbers Sticky Note. You have to keep testing for a couple hours after the high carb, but if he's high enough, you can back off to once an hour testing.

By the way, the 66 was safe and didn't need high carb since you were using a human meter.

On the signature, looks like you didn't use the link icon to paste in the spreadsheet link.

You don't need a 911, it's not a medical emergency. And he's out of the woods.

Here is the link to your previous post here.http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/ramone-05-22-amps-252-6-90-10-103.229934/
 
911 not needed atm as she has help.
Thanks I can see the SS now. Just confirming the meter is a human one.
You will need to reduce to 8.5 units. The depot will be pretty full. See what the Preshot is.
 
He just told you 9.0 units is too much, your gut was right. Take a look a the Handling Low Numbers Sticky Note. You have to keep testing for a couple hours after the high carb, but if he's high enough, you can back off to once an hour testing.

By the way, the 66 was safe and didn't need high carb since you were using a human meter.

On the signature, looks like you didn't use the link icon to paste in the spreadsheet link.

You don't need a 911, it's not a medical emergency. And he's out of the woods.

Here is the link to your previous post here.http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/ramone-05-22-amps-252-6-90-10-103.229934/



Thank you! Out of the woods! Good ok. I'll continue to monitor for a bit to make sure he's coasting along well ..

for the 66 my meter says Low check 15 min so I kind of panic I think that's why I put out some high carb food.. then tested in 20 and dropped to the 36 - then did honey and put out a bit more food...

Okay so tonight this means reduction correct 8.5 units ?

I'm getting some help on getting my profile set up accurately and my SS link proper. Should be fixed soon! I will get the hang of this page one day!
 
and yes I agree with all no 911 needed. I didn't feel it and honestly don't think I could post if I was in a 911 I'd be off to the emergency!!

Thanks to everyone looking out for us!! !
 
Last edited:
Yes on the reduction for sure! 36 definitely earned high carb food.

If tonight he's still lowish, one option for higher dose cats is to do a BCS (big chicken shot) or one time reduction to help drain the depot. So you'd do a 1/2 or 2/3 dose tonight and go down to 8.5 units tomorrow. You've shot low before, and he could bounce. Just letting you know there is an option at PMPS time.
 
Yes on the reduction for sure! 36 definitely earned high carb food.

If tonight he's still lowish, one option for higher dose cats is to do a BCS (big chicken shot) or one time reduction to help drain the depot. So you'd do a 1/2 or 2/3 dose tonight and go down to 8.5 units tomorrow. You've shot low before, and he could bounce. Just letting you know there is an option at PMPS time.


Okay thank you.... For tonight We will see where he is at.. I don't know if I'd skip fully but half or 2/3 dose sounds like might be a good option... he could climb up a bit yet still got a few hours before pmps

BUT I just checked him again +9 down a bit to 56, I'll check him in another 30 min to see how he's doing... I won't give any food yet.
 
You can still give him some food up to +10, to give him a little boost for PMPS to make sure he's safe to shoot then.
 
You can still give him some food up to +10, to give him a little boost for PMPS to make sure he's safe to shoot then.


yes I did give him some food just before his +10 just did +11 95 doing good!!

so 2/3 of 8.5 units give just over 5.5 units ? correct? I don't know if I have the guts to shoot 8.5 tonight... I don't think his # is going to go up very much... and I don't want to poke him all night long either...

And then start the 8.5units for tomorrow...
 
Back
Top