Ramone 05/17 AMPS 302 - going out of town need dose advice

Jerica&ramone

Member Since 2019
Good Morning,

Ramone has been doing OK, he just vomited up his entire breakfast and treat which is unusual but I think he ate too fast he was bugging me very early this morning, he's eaten again already and seems fine and did see some better #'s yesterday. Up to 9 units now..

Just started him on that on Friday. Yesterday was best #'s yet. I'm going out of town, so now my fur babes are off to the cat hotel. Do you think its safe to keep him at 9 units? I will check him all day today as well so maybe better advice can be given later in day once we see how today goes...

And what would be a safe "no shoot" # for cat hotel ? Last night he was 178 PMPS. I would want her to shoot that but at leats be able to check and get a reading in an hour or 2 to see how he's doing.

OR is it safest to put him back to 8.5 units? and no shoot # under 150 or 200 ? ?
I'm really not sure what is best, I can't guarantee she will do any mid day tests or before bed tests, I have asked and told I would pay extra so hopefully it'll work in my favor.

It will only be Monday PM to Friday AM he'll be in his care. I'll be back to it Friday evening the 22nd.

TIA!!
 
Oh and had his Vet appt on Friday.

Doing the urine cortisol test and then IGF-1/IAA if the cortisol test comes out normal.

I couldn't convince her to do the IGF-1 only, but all the bloodwork was taken so once we get lab results back on urine cortisol and if normal bloodwork off to Michigan.

Can not wait to get some answers!!
 
Sorry the vet is probably wasting your money with the urine cortisol test. At least you won't have to go back for blood work again.

As for dose, it's a bit early to tell. But I think if you don't see any green before tomorrow morning, you are good to stick with 9.0 units. I am wondering about a no shoot of 175. Above that he's been always in nice safe numbers. He's never actually gone below 50 (2.8), so below that would be OK too, but we do add a layer of safety when you are going away and might not get mid cycle tests.
 
Sorry the vet is probably wasting your money with the urine cortisol test. At least you won't have to go back for blood work again.

As for dose, it's a bit early to tell. But I think if you don't see any green before tomorrow morning, you are good to stick with 9.0 units. I am wondering about a no shoot of 175. Above that he's been always in nice safe numbers. He's never actually gone below 50 (2.8), so below that would be OK too, but we do add a layer of safety when you are going away and might not get mid cycle tests.

Thank you! I’ll keep him at 9.0 providing no greens which I don’t think is happening ...

I’m comfortable too with no shoot 175 ...do I tell her to just skip or reduce ? I guess it would be based on how low the PS # was ...

Either way I think it would all be OK. I just can’t wait to find out some results from these tests.

have a good long weekend!
 
Enjoy your out of town time. After so long at home, it must feel strange to be travelling.

If you tell her to reduce, suggest at least a half dose. With the size of his dose, the depot will still make the cycle act like you had shot the full dose, unless you do a sizable reduction. Don't forget to leave a sample syringe filled with coloured liquid so she gets the dose right.
 
Enjoy your out of town time. After so long at home, it must feel strange to be travelling.

If you tell her to reduce, suggest at least a half dose. With the size of his dose, the depot will still make the cycle act like you had shot the full dose, unless you do a sizable reduction. Don't forget to leave a sample syringe filled with coloured liquid so she gets the dose right.



Of course Ramone PMPS was 131 (7.3) tonight

they are going to give 6 units and test again in few hours and make sure not below 180 and monitor from there....

keeping me on my toes!!
 
Ramone has been pulling out some amazing #s but I think we should have reduced and I wasn’t available to give my input.

05/19-
Amps - 93.6 (5.2)
+5.5 153 (8.5)
pmps 277 (15.5)
Gave 9 units
+3 347 (19.9)

05/20
amps - 82.8 (4.6)
+5.5 207 (11.5)
PMPS 320.4 (17.8)
And he was given 9 units. I would have advise atleast 8.5 or 8 he should be down to 8 units based on TR correct any # below 90 calls for reduction right??

just want to be able to advise tomorrow hopefully. Out internet is terrible. Although she says both my boys are doing really well.
 
based on TR correct any # below 90 calls for reduction right??
No, TR says to reduce if they go below 50 on the human meter. SLGS reduces if below 90.

Good to hear the kitties are doing well. Has the petsitter been skipping those lower AMPS?
 
No, TR says to reduce if they go below 50 on the human meter. SLGS reduces if below 90.

Good to hear the kitties are doing well. Has the petsitter been skipping those lower AMPS?


Ok thank you I couldn’t remember with TR. if he’s below 90 (5 ) tomorrow AMPS should we reduce??

no skipping of any dose he’s had 2 units amps..advised by my vet .... and tonight another 9 was given because he was higher Advised by my vet but I think he might drop again tonight to a pretty low #. She won’t test every couple hours though. I’m home by Friday nights PMPS that we can See what his dose should be. I’ll fill out my ss.
By the way urine cortisol test came back nórmal as predicted. Sending bloodwork off to Michigan.

I will get a bed time # though...
 
Ok thank you I couldn’t remember with TR. if he’s below 90 (5 ) tomorrow AMPS should we reduce??

no skipping of any dose he’s had 2 units amps..advised by my vet .... and tonight another 9 was given because he was higher Advised by my vet but I think he might drop again tonight to a pretty low #. She won’t test every couple hours though. I’m home by Friday nights PMPS that we can See what his dose should be. I’ll fill out my ss.
By the way urine cortisol test came back nórmal as predicted. Sending bloodwork off to Michigan.

I will get a bed time # though...


Sorry if I’m not making the most sense internet is spotty and I just want to make sure my message comes through. TIA
 
Your vet is dosing by preshot. :rolleyes: I might lower the dose for the rest of the time you are gone, so you can try to get a stable depot with two shots a day of the same dose.

By the way urine cortisol test came back nórmal as predicted. Sending bloodwork off to Michigan.
Need I ask who paid for the urine cortisol test to satisfy your vet's incorrect hunch. :rolleyes:
 
Your vet is dosing by preshot. :rolleyes: I might lower the dose for the rest of the time you are gone, so you can try to get a stable depot with two shots a day of the same dose.


Need I ask who paid for the urine cortisol test to satisfy your vet's incorrect hunch. :rolleyes:



nooo no need to ask :facepalm: it was only $140.. could be worse.

I will ask to lower dose going forward.
 
Last edited:
Back
Top