Ramone 04/15 pmps 5.4 (97.2) - eyes please

Jerica&ramone

Member Since 2019
Hi ALL!

So this is Ramone's lowest PMPS - and I'm pretty confident its going to be OK and I did give full dose. I did a curve on him today and his +6 was 3.1 and that is the lowest I have ever seen... he very well could dip that low on the days I haven't tested but this AM his AMPS # was a bit lower too.. today's just been all around lower #'s Great #'s but lower than last few days...

I'm prepped for everything and will check him in an hour and then possibly every 2 based on his # ...

Just nice to have some extra eyes just in case...

Also - for his neuropathy I currently give him the Methyl-b12 any thoughts opinions on B12 injections instead? are they more / less effective ?

I've been giving him methyl b12 since December and don't really see anything different, but he does make lil jumps and can get up onto the couch now!!

TIA!!!
 
B12 injections are cyanocobalamin not methyl B12. They treat different things. More time regulated will also help the neuropathy. He's just recently started to get there.

You've shot just a bit higher and had a nice cycle, paws crossed for the same tonight. If he's flat or down at +1, I'd get a +2.
 
B12 injections are cyanocobalamin not methyl B12. They treat different things. More time regulated will also help the neuropathy. He's just recently started to get there.

You've shot just a bit higher and had a nice cycle, paws crossed for the same tonight. If he's flat or down at +1, I'd get a +2.


Ahhh I didn't know that they were different. We will just keep with our Methyl b12 and yes hopefully with these #'s we are getting we will start to see some improvements!!

And yes okay, I'll check him +1 and see how it goes... I think he does tend to go up a bit at this time but yes can never be to sure....

Wendy, you've been an incredible help to me and my Ramone. He wanted me to tell you thank you and he's really grateful for all the knowledgeable advice you give to us!! I don't think we'd ever gotten to this point without your help.
 
B12 injections are cyanocobalamin not methyl B12. They treat different things. More time regulated will also help the neuropathy. He's just recently started to get there.

You've shot just a bit higher and had a nice cycle, paws crossed for the same tonight. If he's flat or down at +1, I'd get a +2.


okkk so +1 4.9 (88.2)
I'll check +2.
 
Keep your spreadsheet update too. Maybe give him a small snack, a tsp or two of his regular low carb food. That can help them surf, or stay steady with the numbers.

You are welcome by the way. There aren't as many people able to help those of us who've had to deal with higher doses - just paying it back.
 
Keep your spreadsheet update too. Maybe give him a small snack, a tsp or two of his regular low carb food. That can help them surf, or stay steady with the numbers.

You are welcome by the way. There aren't as many people able to help those of us who've had to deal with higher doses - just paying it back.


Will do. just gave him a snack. he's gobbling it up.

updated ss too. be sure to stay on it. check +2 in 40 mins
 
Keep your spreadsheet update too. Maybe give him a small snack, a tsp or two of his regular low carb food. That can help them surf, or stay steady with the numbers.

You are welcome by the way. There aren't as many people able to help those of us who've had to deal with higher doses - just paying it back.


so +2 we are 4.7.

I'll get a +3
 
Looking good. :D If you need help later, it’s best to report the blood sugar numbers as mg/dL. The board is hosted in the US and that system is the common way of reporting numbers here. It also helps to keep the subject line up to date with the current numbers, so people can see quickly if you need help.
 
Looking good. :D If you need help later, it’s best to report the blood sugar numbers as mg/dL. The board is hosted in the US and that system is the common way of reporting numbers here. It also helps to keep the subject line up to date with the current numbers, so people can see quickly if you need help.


Ok thank you I’ll remember that!

+4. 5.9

I’ll check on another hour before I’m about to sleep and make sure things are still looking good
 
Looking good. :D If you need help later, it’s best to report the blood sugar numbers as mg/dL. The board is hosted in the US and that system is the common way of reporting numbers here. It also helps to keep the subject line up to date with the current numbers, so people can see quickly if you need help.


So we ended up having a great evening and night and everything worked well and went well. He's doing great.

TONIGHT he's now 5.1 or 92 which will be my lowest to date to shoot... I'll keep a close close eye on him. Im stalling a bit and going to test in 20 just too see.. if he doesn't drop under...
He hasn't ate for about 3 hours so that could be why a bit lower ??.. normally I feed him right at the 2 hour prior mark but today both my boys were just hungry little monsters so fed them earlier.

And with following SLGS protocol if he does go under 90 do you reduce at that shot right there or skip then reduce the next shot ?? I've never been 100% clear on that...

I'm also wondering if/ how it can work is that now suddenly the insulin and his body are working together will and can we eventually work our way back down to say 1 unit of lantus ... just by every time I get a preshot lower than 90 I reduce dose .25 ? I know it can and would take a long time but is that something that can happen and just slowly his body will require less and less insulin...
 
Actually, under SLGS, he earned a reduction yesterday by going under 90 (5.0). So if you shoot tonight, it should be the lower dose. You lower the dose if you see any number at all below 90, not just the preshot.

Whether you shoot or skip depends on your ability to monitor and comfort shooting that low. You do not shoot if under 90.

Probably time to do a new post for today.
 
You don't reduce 0.5 because it's two reductions, but you do reduce 0.5 units because his total dose is over 5.0 units. So yes, 6.5 units.
 
You don't reduce 0.5 because it's two reductions, but you do reduce 0.5 units because his total dose is over 5.0 units. So yes, 6.5 units.

oh wow ok... I have some more reading and studying to do, 6.5 units, I thought i was to reduce .25u if he were to fall under 90 at preshot. never knew that since he's over 5 units i should reduce by .5 each time :banghead::banghead:
 
Back
Top