? Rambo's PMPS is 155 do I still give him insulin?

Karrie Molitor

Member Since 2021
I am still not sure what number I do not administer Rambo's insulin. Tonight he tested at 155 on an alphatrak 2 meter. Do I still give him insulin at 8:30 pm tonight? What is the number range cutoff that I do not administer insulin?
 
Here's your previous post. We ask that you put the link to your previous post in your new one so it's easy to go back and see what's been going on.

How long until 8:30? We all live in different places in the world so when you ask a question like that, let us know how much time until shot time.

If he's still 155 at PMPS, stall. DON'T feed and test again in 20-30 minutes

Also, are you able to test as long as may be necessary tonight? You may not have to test more than a few hours, but IF necessary, could you test longer?

Do you have plenty of strips and supplies like high carb food, Karo/honey/syrup?
 
oh sorry, I always forget that. Central time, Minnesota. I give him a shot in 15 minutes. What is the range cutoff that I do not administer?
 
OK....test him again at 8:30....if he's still over 150, you can go ahead and feed/shoot the scheduled dose. Get a +1 and +2 to start with.
 
Yeah, I am not sure. He has tested weird all day. I will check him again tonight before bed but it seems like he's a normal number and then an hour later he's super high again.
 
Are you using the actual alphatrak strips? How old are they/how long have they been opened? Are you getting a big enough blood drop?
 
Yes, I am using the alphatrak strips with the butterfly. They are brand new and I just opened it last week. I believe I am getting a big enough blood drop. I usually poke him twice if I don't think its enough for the meter.
 
On LLB please post a new condo each day. I see you did shoot which is good. Have you picked a method yet?
 
Which method you choose does not depend on ketones. If feeding dry people follow SLGS. TR gives the best chance of remission but a little more testing is needed. You would need to follow SLGS unless you can get another test each cycle and more if an active cycle. You aren’t getting the extra tests at night when many cats have lower bg. He’s bouncing today from being at 133 yesterday. That can take as many as 4-6 cycles to clear. With SLGS you would continue with 1.25. With TR you could increase. Overall he’s pretty high too much of the time.
 
I should add that many vets never mention ketones or that you should test for them. I remember my vet saying Max did not have ketones and that it was a good thing but he never suggested I test for them and he’s a very careful vet! When in high bg a lot of the time it’s important to test. You can get strips to check the urine. Just because no ketones were found at diagnosis does not mean they never will occur.
 
Back
Top