raised Joe to 3 units

Status
Not open for further replies.

Susan Pomo

Member Since 2021
I have been terrible about checking Joe but can do better for the next few days. This morning I raised him to 3 units
 
Should I raise again?
Did you mean to say test again? Good job testing after the 51.
Since he went under 90, you'd reduce the PM dose back to 2.75.
Is there a good day coming up where you might be able to do a curve? We know he is capable of dropping quite a bit during the day even with a high AMPS. You may be getting nadirs under 150 and just aren't seeing it.
 
I see you are following SLGS
Anytime Joe drops below 90 the Prozinc SLGS says to decrease by 0.25 units
Looking at your SS there were many times he did drop under 90 and you didn't reduce

From the Prozinc link about increasing and decreasing
Increases
Hold the dose for at least a week:
  • Unless your cat won’t eat or you suspect hypoglycemia
  • Unless your kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L). If kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L) decrease the dose by 0.25 unit immediately.
After 1 week at a given dose perform a 12 hour curve, testing every 2 hours OR perform an 18 hour curve, testing every 3 hours. Note: Random spot checks are often helpful to "fill in the blanks" on kitty's spreadsheet. The goal is to learn how low the current dose is dropping kitty prior to making dose adjustments.
  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
  • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit
Reducing the Dose:
  • Anytime the BG drops below 90 mg/dL, reduce the dose by 0.25u at the next shot.
You need to be testing Joe more during the night cycle ,you are only seeing half the picture.
Joe could be dropping lower at night and bouncing, that's why you are seeing high AM numbers
There were no test done from 10-13 thru 10-19 was there a reason why
 
Last edited:
@JanetNJ
Janet can you look at my post #5 and read some of the things I wrote about Joe's doses and take a look at the SS. I don't think Susan is following the SLGS dosing method. Needs to test after PMPS a lot more. I could be wrong, just trying to help her out with Joe. Thanks
@JanetNJ
 
Looking at your SS there were many times he did drop under 90 and you didn't reduce
HI Diane,
Thank you for your input. it is appreciated. I was told the dark green numbers are a good place to be as that would help his pancreas to heal. Maybe I am mistaken about that
 
@JanetNJ , I am having hand surgery on Nov 4th and will have someone to come by and give him his shot as I will be one handed. Not a lot of testing can go on during this time and I wonder if it is safe to just keep him at 2.75 or should I reduce to 2.50 to be on the safe side?
 
HI Diane,
Thank you for your input. it is appreciated. I was told the dark green numbers are a good place to be as that would help his pancreas to heal. Maybe I am mistaken about that
Yes the dark greens are good, what I mean is there were times Joe dropped under 90 which means you should have reduced
Such as on 7-9-21 his BG went down to 61
Since you are following SLGS any time he drops under 90 you should reduce by 0.25 units
So back the you should have reduced from 3 to 2.75 units


On 10-9 21 you should have also reduced
Take a look at your spreadsheet you will see other times you should have reduced
I hope your surgery goes well :bighug::cat:
 
Last edited:
Yes the dark greens are good, what I mean is there were times Joe dropped under 90 which means you should have reduced
Such as on 7-9-21 his BG went down to 61
Since you are following SLGS any time he drops under 90 you should reduce by 0.25 units
So back the you should have reduced from 3 to 2.75 units


On 10-9 21 you should have also reduced
Take a look at your spreadsheet you will see other times you should have reduced
I hope your surgery goes well :bighug::cat:
Hi Diane,
So what is the ideal #? If the dark greens are good but 90 (on the high side of the dark green) means to reduce? Is it only ideal from 90 to 99?
 
Last edited:
Yes I do understand. Diane, I was looking at it differently, I guess. If the goal is to get him and keep him in the dark green but when he is in the dark green, you reduce, aren't I just defeating my purpose? My thinking might be way off and either way I will follow the Prozinc methods
 
Yes I do understand. Diane, I was looking at it differently, I guess. If the goal is to get him and keep him in the dark green but when he is in the dark green, you reduce, aren't I just defeating my purpose? My thinking might be way off and either way I will follow the Prozinc methods
I always aimed for 80-100 (alphatrack) but i didn't follow a specific protocol.
 
Yes I do understand. Diane, I was looking at it differently, I guess. If the goal is to get him and keep him in the dark green but when he is in the dark green, you reduce, aren't I just defeating my purpose? My thinking might be way off and either way I will follow the Prozinc methods
@JanetNJ
Hi Janet maybe you can explain this better than me. Isn't she supposed to decrease anytime Joe drops below 90?
 
Last edited:
@JanetNJ
Hi Janet maybe you can do pain this better than me. Isn't she supposed to decrease anytime Joe drops below 90?
if she's following the slow go protocol yes. it's intended for people who are either nervous or maybe can't test as often. I tested a lot so felt confident in letting my cat get lower than that. It would be susan's call on what she's comfortable with and which protocol she wants to follow.
 
if she's following the slow go protocol yes. it's intended for people who are either nervous or maybe can't test as often. I tested a lot so felt confident in letting my cat get lower than that. It would be susan's call on what she's comfortable with and which protocol she wants to follow.
Thank you Janet she's following SLGS it's in her signature
I meant to write explain in my post instead of do pain lol
@JanetNJ
 
OK. I get it now. I did hear that about the greens then.
In essence, I guess I was doing a combo of two different methods. Confused mind.
I will follow the SLGS to a T going forward.
Thank you Diane for persisting in getting me to see my error.
Thank you Janet for clarifying.
 
OK. I get it now. I did hear that about the greens then.
In essence, I guess I was doing a combo of two different methods. Confused mind.
I will follow the SLGS to a T going forward.
Thank you Diane for persisting in getting me to see my error.
Thank you Janet for clarifying.
Hi Susan no problem at all :cat:
If you're not sure about anything just ask. I hope you and Joe have a good day.
By the way he's so adorable :cat:
 
if she's following the slow go protocol yes. it's intended for people who are either nervous or maybe can't test as often. I tested a lot so felt confident in letting my cat get lower than that. It would be susan's call on what she's comfortable with and which protocol she wants to follow.
Thanks for clarifying this. At this time in my life (surgery) and trying not to bother him too much I am going to follow SLGS and do a better job of it.
I cannot thank you both enough for checking in and getting me straightened out
 
Hi Susan no problem at all :cat:
If you're not sure about anything just ask. I hope you and Joe have a good day.
By the way he's so adorable :cat:
thank you. He is my boy and I am amazed at how much better he is looking these days. I saw him run, not jog or trot, but RUN to catch up to the dog and me as we were walking. That kind of running where it seems they are almost flying with just their feet barely touching down. It melted my heart. I thought those days were over for him. Glossy coat and always tormenting the dog.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top