Rainbows are pretty, but not on our ss!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marcy & Klinger (GA)

Member Since 2010
Klinger was doing awesome and then he started throwing yellows. I've been playing with his dose in both directions to see if I could get him back on track. Yesterday I decided to go back to the last best dose.
This morning his
AMPS 305
+3 274
+4 207
+5 149 - playing, running, having a grand ole time
+6 121
+7 88
+8.25 59 :shock:
+9 53
+9.5 44 he ate a little of his lc food and I gave him dehydrated chicken treat
+10 68

So, since I just reduced him to this dose yesterday morning, should I hold the dose or reduce it a smidge more to 1.50? I know 59 is still safe, but that's a big drop from 305 and can't feel very good. He's now hanging out in the basement. I'm going to check him again in 10 minutes.

Thinking about everyone on the east coast. When we were little, my mom used to throw hurricane parties. It was just us, but looking back, I guess it was her way of making the situation less scary for her kiddos. She is a big time baker and we would always have lots of treats to get us through the storm. So, I whipped up a batch of banana muffins with chocolate chips for Irene! Baking makes me a tad homesick.... ;-)
 
Yikes Marcy, I hope someone comes by soon to help out. Doesn't it make your heart smile when they play like kittens again.

Baking always makes me a little homesick too. I always loved baking with my gramma.
 
Klinger just came upstairs and headed right for his food. So glad he came up. It worries me when he hangs in the basement. I'll get in another test soon.

Robin, when he started to play earlier, I just took a moment to watch him - partly I couldn't really believe my eyes and wanted to make sure I didn't distract him. It was really cool!!!!!!!! :-D
 
Glad Klinger is Playing!!!

Don't be homesick this weekend......I wish I was in Colorado!

Send some muffins!
 
Sorry I didn't drop by last night.

Yes, you might want to shave a bit off that dose, because he probably had some kind of bounce to create that 305 in the first place.

I forget who mentioned it, but some kitties like the lower numbers, some don't, meaning some are more apt to bounce if BG even gets to the 60s. Shaving a bit off the dose might level out the curve better. If it hadn't come from a 300 preshot, I would say that's an excellent cycle.

Another thing you might try is feed at +6 or +7 to slow the drop rather than waiting to see if it goes lower. And not that it's proven or anything, but sometimes the expenditure of a lot of energy can make their BG go lower than it would if they were just lying around. Not that you don't want him to play, you do, but that's another reason why I say "shave" the dose a bit rather than drop it a quarter unit as the play could have been a factor in going to 44 rather than just the dose alone.

Otherwise nadir hit exactly where I would expect it to on a good dose.
 
Glad to hear Klinger was playing and running! Go Klinger...and yeah I like rainbows too, and unfortuately Ms. Musette seems to like them too well on her spreadsheet. <sigh> Tell Klinger Musette has an excuse for them, she is a tortie so she is use to being multicolored, but they just don't look good on an all white kitty... :lol: Plus Blue and Green are BOY colors... :-D

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Klinger needs a stern talking to! What is he doing to you?

He may simply need time to get the bounce hormones out of his system. I don't think it's wise to lower the dose further, because you don't want a repeat of a month ago where we lowered dose and he had reds for a while. Those 400s last night sure look like a reaction to the 44. They don't always rebound the next cycle. That's what makes this so challenging sometimes, 'cause it's like where the H*11 did that come from??

He did really well on the skinny 2U, not saying you should go back up there just yet, but it seems evidence for not lowering the dose. hang on for a bit to see what he decides to do.

And if the conversation did any good.....
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top