Rain - 5/11 PM - UPDATE: 156 PMPS, 169 20 min, 158 40 min - Skipped Shot

Status
Not open for further replies.

Wulfwin

Member
So after Rain's eating issues, diagnosis of and treatment for chronic pancreatitis (we're still monitoring to see what kind of maintenance regimen she'll need going forward; right now she hasn't had anything since cerenia and mirtazapine on 5/6, and a bupe dose on 5/7 that should have worn off last night), problems monitoring over the weekend, and diet change (she's been solely eating low carb Fancy Feast since Sunday night, and eating it well - still can't believe it), I've been going pretty cautiously with the insulin. I only started back up with 0.1 unit in the evening on 5/9. She's been hanging out in the low 200s (with one high 100s, that fell after stalling instead of raising so I skipped the shot) for her pre-shot numbers, and her last 2 PM cycles showed nice curves down into the low 100s (not sure why today seemed pretty flat - bounce? Or I could have given a fur shot without realizing it, since the amount is so small). I'll be able to monitor her for most of the cycle tonight, and I'm wondering if I should stick with the 0.1 unit for a while longer, or try 0.2 unit. Obviously, this might change once we're closer to shot time and I test her (got about 1.5 hours til then). Thoughts?
 
If she were mine, I think I'd stick with the 0.1 a few more cycles. Since you've had to skip a few times, the cycles are pretty hard to decipher or use as a pattern moving forward.
 
Rain's PMPS was 156. after 20 minutes with no food, she's at 169. Should I shoot? Delay more? Skip tonight? I'm working late tonight, so I should be able to monitor her through most of the cycyle.
 
I can't give advice.
I thought with Prozinc you don't shoot below 200 if fairly new.
My understanding is wait another 20 minutes without feeding and if rising and above 200 ok. If you can monitor Check with Sue or Rachel.
Better to be safe
 
Ah, good call, Deb - I somehow forgot the part of the line in the protocol sticky about waiting 20 min without feeding, then if the BG is rising "and above 200" to shoot. Whoops!
 
That'sok there is so much to learn and remember. Its better to run high later then chance hypo.
Those are nice numbers, but at the same time scary. Try again in 20 and see if yhe numbers are rising;)
 
Just tested again, 20 min after the last test with no food - she's at 158. Looks like I'm skipping tonight. I think Rain's getting awfully miffed at me for not feeding her yet - she's alternating between walking on the keyboard, and lying forlornly next to where her food bowl goes.
 
Good job, ladies. That is exactly what I thought. Skip tonight and maybe reduce a smidge in the am. Time to practice giving a drop of insulin.....
 
Hi Sue when you get time could you look at Fritz SS PMPS 252 so I did 4.25 @2.5 323 wondering if giving the 4.25 was a bad choice
 
Great job! Sorry, I was out like a light early last night. Spent the morning at the vetty bean with a sick kitty, so I was pretty exhausted.

Have we mentioned the drop method? You can pull up to the lowest level you can see (0.1?) and then let out one drop at a time until it's all gone. Then pull up again and let out all but one drop. You can practice wtih some colored water. :)
 
Thanks for the explanation, Rachel! I tried it this morning - we'll see how Rain does on it.

Hope your sick kitty is doing ok!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top