Rags vomiting

Status
Not open for further replies.

Becki Orr

Member Since 2016
This a.m Rags only ate 1/2 can of FF and I think some dry food. I gave him 1 unit of Levemir. When I got up there was vomit all over and he missed his litter box having a bowel movement.
I think he wants more to eat, can I feed him ?? Have any idea why he is throwing up ? The last time he threw up like this I watched him. He looked like he was having a seizure. He fell on his side and ran all around the living room vomiting.
No, I have not taken his BS.
 
Last edited:
Yes, I would feed him, he will need food when the insulin begins to take effect in a couple hours. Think of it as a do-over on breakfast-- and keep an eye on him to make sure he doesn't vomit again. There may be something brewing, esp. with the litter box issues at the same time I'd be a little suspicious.
 
Yes, I would feed him, he will need food when the insulin begins to take effect in a couple hours. Think of it as a do-over on breakfast-- and keep an eye on him to make sure he doesn't vomit again. There may be something brewing, esp. with the litter box issues at the same time I'd be a little suspicious.

Thank you for responding right away.
The litter box issue is nothing new. He does not like the litter it gets stuck in his fur. He has long hair. He usually misses the box when he has a bowel movement ! Ugh !!
I'm going to feed him now, he did eat almost a bowl I had left down for him.
Thank you again !!
I just tried to feed him but he will not eat. He is drinking alot of water. I think I should take his BS as he is probably high.
He is the opposite of a Normal diabetic cat.
 
Last edited:
Feed him -- but do so in small amounts. Cats can get a GI bug just like humans but you will need to keep an eye on Rags. You may want to also get a few jars of baby food -- either Gerber or Beechnut Stage 2 or any brand that is just a protein and broth. (Some brands contain cornstarch but it's still LC.) Baby food is easy on the tummy.

Just as an FYI, dry food is far more prone to recalls due to spoilage. (The fat in the dry food can easily go rancid.) You might want to check to see if there are any recalls for the dry food you're using.
 
Feed him -- but do so in small amounts. Cats can get a GI bug just like humans but you will need to keep an eye on Rags. You may want to also get a few jars of baby food -- either Gerber or Beechnut Stage 2 or any brand that is just a protein and broth. (Some brands contain cornstarch but it's still LC.) Baby food is easy on the tummy.

Just as an FYI, dry food is far more prone to recalls due to spoilage. (The fat in the dry food can easily go rancid.) You might want to check to see if there are any recalls for the dry food you're using.
No recalls on dry food. I really do not let him eat dry food at all. Vet said keep it down in case he needs it.
He will not eat anything.
Last night he was on my lap before I fed him. I didn't think he felt good then and asked him if he was sick. He only ate 1 can of food, he usually eats 1 to 1 1/2.
My poor boy. He will not eat baby food, this cat will NOT eat anything but what HE wants. Salmon patae or Cole's salmon shredded ( giving him that for pancreatitis ). I am trying to get to the store to get him some, but I'm afraid to leave him.
 
Please get a blood glucose test in-- the information you have added to the posts above is very worrying.

12:16 BS 369. 6:30 a.m 1 unit given.
I know from this number he will be low tonite. I cannot get him to eat. I am trying to get to the store to get the food he likes, but I'm afraid to leave him.
 
OK. And, it's not clear from the posts-- when did he eat the 1 can of food, was it this morning or last night? What other food, if any, has he been able to keep down today so far? Does he seem to be feeling better now?

Without a spreadsheet, it's hard to tell, but Levemir tends to act later in cycles than other insulin, he could do some dropping from here. If you are out of the food he likes to eat I'd think it would be better to run out now while he's in high numbers so you are prepared.
 
OK. And, it's not clear from the posts-- when did he eat the 1 can of food, was it this morning or last night? What other food, if any, has he been able to keep down today so far? Does he seem to be feeling better now?

Without a spreadsheet, it's hard to tell, but Levemir tends to act later in cycles than other insulin, he could do some dropping from here. If you are out of the food he likes to eat I'd think it would be better to run out now while he's in high numbers so you are prepared.

As I stated in my first post at 5:30 a.m. he only ate 1/2 can of FF patae and some dry food. Last night at 5:30 p.m. he ate 1 can of FF patae. I also add water to all wet food he eats.
I cannot post a SS as I do not test regularly. My Vet said not to test to do a curve in two weeks as he is new to Levemir. I do test when I think it is necessary. I do know he goes low at 5:30 p.m. This insulin works alot later than the Lantus. I did take his BS the first two days he was new to Levemir. He always went low at night. He was taking 2 units B.I.D. The Vet lowered it to 1 unit B.I.D.
He will get his curve on the 27th. He has kept 1/4 can of FF with water down at 10:30 a.m. I don't think he is feeling to good. I also think his sugar was very high this a.m. He does not eat when it is high. He is opposite of a diabetic cat. He is a VERY different
 
As I stated in my first post at 5:30 a.m. he only ate 1/2 can of FF patae and some dry food. Last night at 5:30 p.m. he ate 1 can of FF patae. I also add water to all wet food he eats.
I cannot post a SS as I do not test regularly. My Vet said not to test to do a curve in two weeks as he is new to Levemir. I do test when I think it is necessary. I do know he goes low at 5:30 p.m. This insulin works alot later than the Lantus. I did take his BS the first two days he was new to Levemir. He always went low at night. He was taking 2 units B.I.D. The Vet lowered it to 1 unit B.I.D.
He will get his curve on the 27th. He has kept 1/4 can of FF with water down at 10:30 a.m. I don't think he is feeling to good. I also think his sugar was very high this a.m. He does not eat when it is high. He is opposite of a diabetic cat. He is a VERY different

Nan & Amber, I just got back from the store. I reread my post to you and I do apologize if it sounded rude, it was not meant to be. I am just very upset, again I'm sorry if that is how it sounded .
 
No, not at all! I was confused, but your response clarified things. I just don't have a lot of advice to give at the moment-- it seems like things are just in wait-and-see mode, see if he's just feeling a little yucky because of high numbers, or if he has some kind of bug or something else brewing.

Hope he's feeling better soon!
 
No, not at all! I was confused, but your response clarified things. I just don't have a lot of advice to give at the moment-- it seems like things are just in wait-and-see mode, see if he's just feeling a little yucky because of high numbers, or if he has some kind of bug or something else brewing.

Hope he's feeling better soon!

Nan & Amber, thank you so very much for all the help you have given me today.
When I got home from the store I gave Rags a bowl of the shredded salmon at 2:29 p.m. so far so good. He has been sleeping. He wanted more but I was afraid he would throw up and its getting almost time to feed him again.
Should I take his BS before he eats at 5:30 p.m. ? Or should I just proceed as usual ?
One more thing, I never new if Levemir is given before or after he eats ???
 
One more thing, I never new if Levemir is given before or after he eats ???
with both lev and lantus because they are slow acting insulins the normal routine is T/F/S
test, feed and shoot, all within about 10min, I used to give George his insulin while he had his head in the bowl.
 
My Vet said not to test to do a curve in two weeks as he is new to Levemir.
I'm sorry to have to disagree with your vet on this, but this advice is just plain dangerous.
There are many stories here of kitties who came close to being lost, and sadly a few who dropped too low and never recovered.
Please don't heed your vets advice on this one issue and test regularly, at least just before giving insulin and once midcycle. What harm could it possibly do? and it could just save your kitty.

Ask your vet if his child was diabetic would he shoot blind and not at the very least get a test before giving insulin and at least a couple of spot checks during each cycle??

Additionally I would like to add that if the vet is performing the curve in the surgery, you would be better off doing it at home, the results would be more significant, as cats often suffer with raised BG at a vets office due to stress, so if your vet is basing dosing on curves done at the office this can be a problem.
George's BG goes up by about 80pts when he visits the vet, and that isn't too bad compared to some.
 
Gill & George, thank you . In ten minutes ? I thought it was an hour. I cannot feed him in ten minutes. I have to hold each bowl of food or he won't eat it. (Spoiled)
He watched me take care of my Girl, Freeway before she flew to the Bridge, October 12, 2016. She went deaf and blind ( over 20 years old ) so I held the FF can and fed her with a spoon. Also, I go through the food to get bones and other nasty stuff out of it. When he eats the shreds, I cut and mash them up and add water. He usually gets his injection an hour after he eats.
He is now always waiting and watching for me to give him his shot so he can jump. He is a character, he doesn't even know when I actually give it to him. lol !!!
 
Gill & George, thank you . In ten minutes ? I thought it was an hour. I cannot feed him in ten minutes. I have to hold each bowl of food or he won't eat it. (Spoiled)
He watched me take care of my Girl, Freeway before she flew to the Bridge, October 12, 2016. She went deaf and blind ( over 20 years old ) so I held the FF can and fed her with a spoon. Also, I go through the food to get bones and other nasty stuff out of it. When he eats the shreds, I cut and mash them up and add water. He usually gets his injection an hour after he eats.
He is now always waiting and watching for me to give him his shot so he can jump. He is a character, he doesn't even know when I actually give it to him. lol !!!
You made me laugh.

How often is he getting fed? just twice? or is he getting regular mini meals?
 
I'm sorry to have to disagree with your vet on this, but this advice is just plain dangerous.
There are many stories here of kitties who came close to being lost, and sadly a few who dropped too low and never recovered.
Please don't heed your vets advice on this one issue and test regularly, at least just before giving insulin and once midcycle. What harm could it possibly do? and it could just save your kitty.

Ask your vet if his child was diabetic would he shoot blind and not at the very least get a test before giving insulin and at least a couple of spot checks during each cycle??

Additionally I would like to add that if the vet is performing the curve in the surgery, you would be better off doing it at home, the results would be more significant, as cats often suffer with raised BG at a vets office due to stress, so if your vet is basing dosing on curves done at the office this can be a problem.
George's BG goes up by about 80pts when he visits the vet, and that isn't too bad compared to some.


No, No, I have ALWAYS done my own curves. They get enough money and I don't have a problem doing them. I am a nurse, so that helped alot. However, kitties are alot different than people. Kitties sometimes are not co operative eating, Rags isn't. As far as not testing, I test when I'm in doubt. I used to test twice a day and in between but I stopped doing that after 2 years. Now I test when I think I should. I really go by how he eats. When he was first diagnosed 3/2013, he ate three cans of FF Patae twice a day and nothing in between. Now if I can get a can in him twice a day I feel lucky. Of course I add water to every bowl. He won't eat it anyother way. He was 13 lbs. And now he is 17 lbs. even though he doesn't eat as much. Doesn't make sense to me.
 
You made me laugh.

How often is he getting fed? just twice? or is he getting regular mini meals?

He gets fed twice a day. When I think he will be low, I give him a couple of treats.
Depending on how he eats in a.m. I usually leave a bowl for him when I go to work and there is also dry food out. I don't like the dry but I have another kitty, Miki and she only eats dry. No win situation. If he appears hungry during the day (I only work 5 hours four days.)
I will give him a bowl, which is a 1/4 can of FF with water.
 
I'm glad doing your curves at home.
Though I would still recommend you testing before your shot, wouldn't you always advise your patients to do that?

With both lantus and lev we have found that cat's do better with small regular meals through the day.
As an example, when George was on insulin (lantus) I would feed at shot time about 3ounces, then he would get 2 teaspoons at +2 +4 and +6. With lantus onsetting at about +2 and nadiring typically around +6 I would try not to feed after nadir, as it can put the brakes on the insulin as the insulin action is wearing off, and I would weight the bulk of his food in the first half of the cycle to counteract any sharp drops.


With Lev having a later onset it makes sense for kitty to have food on board a little later in the cycle. If you are feeding at shot time, by the time the Lev is onsetting at around +5, he will have digested and metabolized the meal you fed him some 6 hours prior, so he may be prone to large drops when Lev onsets.

Feeding small regular meals may also help with the vomiting some kitties can get acid tummy if they go for extended periods without eating, George gets snacks every 3 hours so that I can stay on top of this.

How long has he been on Lev?
What other insulin was he on before?

I am just really speaking in very general terms because without being able to see any data for Rags its impossible to be more specific. We are very data driven on this board, and the patterns of rises and falls on the ss can to those of us that have become accustomed to looking for these patterns be very revealing, and with time most of the members are able to read their own ss and spot their own kitties patterns.
Personally I wouldn't rely on kittys behaviour to asses BG, George would get hungry if he was low, but he would also get hungry if he was high:rolleyes:
 
I've just been looking at your previous posts, I see that Rags was on 3u of insulin prior to the move to Lev.
What sort of numbers were you getting when you run curves, got spot checks on Rags when he was on Lantus.

I'm sorry for the loss of your sweet girl.:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Thank you for Freeway, she was the ONLY kitten I've ever had in my life that was all mine and I loved her VERY VERY much !!
December 2016 - Rags was on 5 units ( which I just HATED, never wanted him on that much ) B.I.D. His curve was as follows ;

6:00 a.m BS 113 ( Doc told me to shoot him. That was against my better judgement. )

10:30 a.m. BS 143

2:30 p.m. BS 49

5:00 p.m. BS. 354. he was vomiting & and have a bowel movement. That was when I thought he was having a siezure. He would fall on his side and going around the living room. Took him to Vet. She did not impress me at all and as far as I'm concerned did nothing for him. She did lower his dose to 3 units.
February 2016 Lantus 3.5 units, curve;
6:30 a.m. BS. 339
10:30 a.m. BS 229
2:30 p.m. BS. 285
6:00 p.m. BS 324
For the most part this is about how most of his curves looked.
I bought him a new bottle of Lantus, January 2017 and broke the bottle. Started him on Levemir around the 5th of January at 2 units. His BS would be around 65 at 6:00 p.m. She lowered it to one unit, curve due 2/27/17.
5:15 p.m. BS 238, Only ate two bowls but mostly just the water. I think he had another siezure this a.m
He is not feeling too good. I will give him his shot and keep trying to feed him, right ??
 
Becki -

I have to say that I agree with Gill when it comes to testing. Cats and humans are not all that different. The one big difference is that cats can''t directly tell you if their BG numbers have dropped or are in the process of dropping into a low range. From my perspective, the best way you can keep your kitty safe is by testing. In this case, having the knowledge of where Rags numbers are is power. It allows you to intervene if numbers are low or to go about your day if numbers are in a safe range. Having a spreadsheet will help you to identify patterns.

I'd encourage you to take a look at several of our spreadsheets. I admit -- I was a testaholic. Not everyone tests as aggressively as I did. (Gabby was prone to unexpected, early drops so I tested accordingly.) Many vets eschew home testing for a lot of what amounts to assumptions about how a cat will react. If you were to post a question and ask the members here how their cat responds to testing, the vast majority will tell you they do not run away or hide. Some will run to their testing spot and patiently wait, purring the entire time. They do understand that what we are doing helps them to feel better.

One thought -- could the vomiting be related to either numbers dropping or spiking upward? Rapid changes in BG, just like with humans, can make a kitty feel pretty lousy.
 
I have my own SS on paper as I have no way right now to do one on the board.
Yes I tested Rags everyday for two years and was yelled at for doing that. He said I cannot give insulin according to his BS, which is what a Doctor told me to do. I do not hurt Rags when I take his blood, I rub his ear and hardly stick him at all. He doesn't even know I do it. He does run when he sees me coming. I hide the meter. Sometimes I have to chase him all over the house, by that time his sugar is up. You really have to understand Rags. He is a very high stressed cat, everything scares him. A car going by our house. As I've said I do not know what happened to him before he came to my house at about 7 months of age. He never left, so I think something must have happened to make him this way. He swats and tries to bite me if I try to rub his head and tell him he is a good boy after eating.
I have thought about the vomiting if he is high. He was acting sick last nite. I really think he siezed this am. He did this once before as I watched and it was horrifying !!!! I don't know what to do for him when this does happen. It is the second time.
I signed into the board when Rags was diagnosed 2013. His spread sheets and picture was on here. He started out on Novulin until he went down to 35. Then I had him changed to Lantus with a different Vet because his Vet wouldn't do it. The new Vet said I couldn't talk with the board anymore. She didn't have a clue about Lantus and neither did her partners. They were the ones that told me to test and shoot accordingly. Wrong !!
 
This a.m Rags only ate 1/2 can of FF and I think some dry food. I gave him 1 unit of Levemir. When I got up there was vomit all over and he missed his litter box having a bowel movement.
I think he wants more to eat, can I feed him ?? Have any idea why he is throwing up ? The last time he threw up like this I watched him. He looked like he was having a seizure. He fell on his side and ran all around the living room vomiting.
No, I have not taken his BS.
Hi, I am new here and not an expert by any means as my last diabetic cat was years ago. Getting ready to possibly have my next cat diagnosed as well. The luck of the draw, I guess. That's okay, though because I love my animals and will do all that I can to help them. But back to your cat! I just thought I would forward this article on diabetes with ketone bodies because vomiting and not eating are typical signs shown here. You can ask a vet a question no charge, too! https://www.vetary.com/cat/condition/diabetes-ketone-bodies I hope Rags gets better soon!
 
Becki, I'm really concerned about that behavior that you think may have been a seizure this morning. What do you think caused it? I'm guessing if you are a nurse you may have some ideas. I've only seen it happen in diabetic cats when they had a hypoglycemic episode, but perhaps there are other causes.

The first thing I would do if I saw any odd behavior would be to immediately test his blood sugar.

I'm not sure if I understand correctly, but are you saying that Rags has been diabetic for several years?
 
Becki, I'm really concerned about that behavior that you think may have been a seizure this morning. What do you think caused it? I'm guessing if you are a nurse you may have some ideas. I've only seen it happen in diabetic cats when they had a hypoglycemic episode, but perhaps there are other causes.

The first thing I would do if I saw any odd behavior would be to immediately test his blood sugar.

I'm not sure if I understand correctly, but are you saying that Rags has been diabetic for several years?

Yes. Rags has been a diabetic since 2013. I was on the site then with a SS and his picture.
He went down to 35 when he was first diagnosed, but no siezure. He has not been having bowel movements for 6 to 7 days at a time. He does pull his long hair out. If I see him doing that I get the hair out of his mouth. I took him to the Vet four times for this. Her answer was Mirilax and Mineral oil in his food which I had been doing with no results. Today I found a piece of stool in my back room that had something sticking out of it about 2 inches long. It looked like his hair all twisted up. Before the bowel movement he would throw all his food up. I had him to the Vet for that. This was before I had him their for the BM. 's. I have stopped the mineral oil and mirilax and tried pumpkin but he will not eat that. I really think that is what this is all about. I didn't want him to get a bowel blockage. I am at a loss !! This morning at 5:45 a.m. his BS was 429. Last night he did not eat well.
5:45 last night BS 248
He only ate 3/4 of a can of FF with water at 6:09 a.m. I tried to feed him more at 10:00 a.m. but he refused. He is drinking water.
 
Last edited:
Hi, I am new here and not an expert by any means as my last diabetic cat was years ago. Getting ready to possibly have my next cat diagnosed as well. The luck of the draw, I guess. That's okay, though because I love my animals and will do all that I can to help them. But back to your cat! I just thought I would forward this article on diabetes with ketone bodies because vomiting and not eating are typical signs shown here. You can ask a vet a question no charge, too! https://www.vetary.com/cat/condition/diabetes-ketone-bodies I hope Rags gets better soon!

Thank you for your post. Please read the post I sent to julie & punkin.
 
I have stopped the mineral oil and mirilax and tried pumpkin but he will not eat that.
Some folk here that have kitties with constipation issues keep their cats on a maintenance dose of miralax and routinely add a small amount of pumpkin to their regular food, mixed in.

I take it the numbers you quoted are just prior to shooting?
Though they seem high I would again reiterate that you cannot tell how well he is doing on this dose without routinely getting a midcycle test on each cycle, I would start by testing at around +7/+8 (given that he's on Lev and onset and nadir are later in the cycle) i, he may be plummeting and then bouncing up high by next PS. Some of the signs/behaviour you note of late are rather worrisome.
 
His behavior has always been like this. I tell you "He is a STRANGE kitty ". If he had been the First kitty I ever had, I would have never had another one !!
Don't get me wrong, I love him, he is just VERY hard to take care of. Even without Diabetes !!
I will get another number as soon as I finish this post. I have tried to feed him more this a.m. and he just will not eat anything, not even his treats which he just loves and never turns down.
I need strips to do his curve because I am almost out of them. I DO use a Human meter, I thought I was using the feline meter. I'm not using that one because the price of the strips are outrageous and I just don't have the money. I am using the "Relion " meter, strips are cheaper on line.
Does anyone on this site sell strips that you know of ??
As for the Mirilax, I just stopped that too. He was eating that twice a day, everyday. I also ran out of that. When my Girl, Freeway got sick and had to fly to the Rainbow bridge it kinda put me in alot of debt. Blood pressure meds., Pain meds ($100.00/mo.) Vet visits, Flying charges, abd Creamation etc. I am on a fixed income and having a very hard time paying all the bills and added bills for Rags. When I get caught up I can get all the things we need. I'm sorry didn't mean to throw that out at you. Just trying to say why I can't do certain things .
I have to get Rags back on Mirilax because his stools are very dry and hard. I also need to get him a haircut. I usually get him shaved. I don't like that and neither does he. He is VERY Vain !! That will also help his stools. I'll be back with his number. Hang around, o.k.????
+7 @ 1:15 BS 390. I Just do not understand. He is hardly eating.
 
Last edited:
I've always used the human strips, not the relion, I'm in europe so not available here. You can monitor just as effectively with them, so I agree save your money for the important things.
There's a supply closet, sometimes folk sell stuff there, and I have heard that folk sometimes purchase in bulk on ebay for greater savings.

Becki, we would really really love to help you more with Rags, even if he is a bit of a pickle and a difficult cat to deal with, it would really help us to help you if you could set up the ss that we use so we can take a look at the data you have on the curves you run, you say you keep a paper record so if you could pop some of his lantus curves onto the ss it might really help us help you with his Lev dose.

Here is the link on how to set up the ss, if you are have technical difficulties setting it up, please do just holler we can get someone to help you with it and it will be up and running in a jiffy.

You say he was on 3u lantus BID, IF he was doing relatively well on that dose, then when you made the switch to Lev what folk here usually do is reduce the dose so that you shoot 70% of what the lantus dose was. So my maths makes that 2u BID, IF
the 3u was a good dose for him, chances are that the 1u BID of Lev you are giving him is not enough insulin, you may have started him on too low a dose.

I say the above with great hesitation, because I cannot see his numbers, on Lantus, I am just going of the vague description you have given. I am still of a mind that he may have at times been going too low and that may explain some of what you see from time to time.

IF he is not on enough insulin and he is not eating or if something else is indeed going on with high numbers in the picture, I would also start to worry about Ketones, so if you have Ketostix available I would try to lurk by the LB and check his urine for ketones, (sorry Rags the humiliation of it, I know).

Finally, with the pooping issues he may well be in discomfort and many here have noted that BG can really be affected by that.

:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
His behavior has always been like this. I tell you "He is a STRANGE kitty ". If he had been the First kitty I ever had, I would have never had another one !!
Don't get me wrong, I love him, he is just VERY hard to take care of. Even without Diabetes !!
I will get another number as soon as I finish this post. I have tried to feed him more this a.m. and he just will not eat anything, not even his treats which he just loves and never turns down.
I need strips to do his curve because I am almost out of them. I DO use a Human meter, I thought I was using the feline meter. I'm not using that one because the price of the strips are outrageous and I just don't have the money. I am using the "Relion " meter, strips are cheaper on line.
Does anyone on this site sell strips that you know of ??
As for the Mirilax, I just stopped that too. He was eating that twice a day, everyday. I also ran out of that. When my Girl, Freeway got sick and had to fly to the Rainbow bridge it kinda put me in alot of debt. Blood pressure meds., Pain meds ($100.00/mo.) Vet visits, Flying charges, abd Creamation etc. I am on a fixed income and having a very hard time paying all the bills and added bills for Rags. When I get caught up I can get all the things we need. I'm sorry didn't mean to throw that out at you. Just trying to say why I can't do certain things .
I have to get Rags back on Mirilax because his stools are very dry and hard. I also need to get him a haircut. I usually get him shaved. I don't like that and neither does he. He is VERY Vain !! That will also help his stools. I'll be back with his number. Hang around, o.k.????
I've always used the human strips, not the relion, I'm in europe so not available here. You can monitor just as effectively with them, so I agree save your money for the important things.
There's a supply closet, sometimes folk sell stuff there, and I have heard that folk sometimes purchase in bulk on ebay for greater savings.

Becki, we would really really love to help you more with Rags, even if he is a bit of a pickle and a difficult cat to deal with, it would really help us to help you if you could set up the ss that we use so we can take a look at the data you have on the curves you run, you say you keep a paper record so if you could pop some of his lantus curves onto the ss it might really help us help you with his Lev dose.

Here is the link on how to set up the ss, if you are have technical difficulties setting it up, please do just holler we can get someone to help you with it and it will be up and running in a jiffy.

You say he was on 3u lantus BID, IF he was doing relatively well on that dose, then when you made the switch to Lev what folk here usually do is reduce the dose so that you shoot 70% of what the lantus dose was. So my maths makes that 2u BID, IF
the 3u was a good dose for him, chances are that the 1u BID of Lev you are giving him is not enough insulin, you may have started him on too low a dose.

I say the above with great hesitation, because I cannot see his numbers, on Lantus, I am just going of the vague description you have given. I am still of a mind that he may have at times been going too low and that may explain some of what you see from time to time.

IF he is not on enough insulin and he is not eating or if something else is indeed going on with high numbers in the picture, I would also start to worry about Ketones, so if you have Ketostix available I would try to lurk by the LB and check his urine for ketones, (sorry Rags the humiliation of it, I know).

Finally, with the pooping issues he may well be in discomfort and many here have noted that BG can really be affected by that.

:bighug::bighug::bighug:

I started Rags on 2 units of levemir and his BS at 5:30 p.m. were 65, he was always low. That is why dose was decreased to 1 unit. Myself, I would have done 1.5 units.
His Lantus BS was always running high, in the 3 to 400 's.
I do not have internet at home to do a ss.
I do this on my phone and run out of minutes. If I can go to someone's house and use their computer, I would happily do a ss. I had one on here in 2013, do you think it is still here ?
 
I do not have internet at home to do a ss.
I do this on my phone and run out of minutes. If I can go to someone's house and use their computer, I would happily do a ss. I had one on here in 2013, do you think it is still here ?
Yes, it should be. Sign into Google Docs on a computer or download the app Google Sheets on your phone. You can just start a new SS on a different tab of the old one for 2017. Someone here can help you with how to do that if you find yours. You just have to give them access.

You say Rags won't eat the pumpkin? You might try getting a container of baby food squash. I used to mix that in Cinco's food and he never noticed. About a tablespoon a day for maintenance.

If he is very constipated, he will not eat. You don't want him to go too long without eating, as he risks getting hepatic lipidosis, which is very, very serious.

He could be dehydrated, especially since he's not eating and is vomiting. To check for that, pull up the skin on his scruff and let go. If it snaps back quickly, he's fine. If it goes down more slowly, he's dehydrated. Also, his gums should be smooth and damp. If he's dehydrated, they're tacky. Dehydration can contribute to constipation.

Do you have a good enough relationship with your vet that he would give you a prescription for a bag of fluids, admin set and needles without seeing Rags, if you feel he is dehydrated? You can get them at most pharmacies. If you've never given fluids, we can give you a link to a very helpful video that walks you through it.
 
Becki

It will take me about two minutes to do a spreadsheet for you and link it to your signature. Then you can enter the data. I will send you a private message. In a few minutes, check your inbox in the up right corner of this page. Click on it and there will be a message from me.

A couple things I'd like to mention:
  • When you say he is the "opposite of a normal diabetic cat", he's probably not :). I'm not sure that one could unequivocally say there is such a thing as a "normal diabetic cat" and we have a saying here that "every cat is different" (ECID) because they are. We've seen quite a diversity in glucose curves in the cats here.
  • If he were my cat, I'd be thinking along the lines of an intestinal issue because the things you describe...constipation, vomiting, hairballs...shouldn't be happening. Healthy cats, including those with diabetes, don't have those issues. The symptoms you are describing, except the seizures, sound a lot like inflammatory bowel disease. IBD also makes cats very picky when it comes to food.
 
Yes, it should be. Sign into Google Docs on a computer or download the app Google Sheets on your phone. You can just start a new SS on a different tab of the old one for 2017. Someone here can help you with how to do that if you find yours. You just have to give them access.

You say Rags won't eat the pumpkin? You might try getting a container of baby food squash. I used to mix that in Cinco's food and he never noticed. About a tablespoon a day for maintenance.

If he is very constipated, he will not eat. You don't want him to go too long without eating, as he risks getting hepatic lipidosis, which is very, very serious.

He could be dehydrated, especially since he's not eating and is vomiting. To check for that, pull up the skin on his scruff and let go. If it snaps back quickly, he's fine. If it goes down more slowly, he's dehydrated. Also, his gums should be smooth and damp. If he's dehydrated, they're tacky. Dehydration can contribute to constipation.

Do you have a good enough relationship with your vet that he would give you a prescription for a bag of fluids, admin set and needles without seeing Rags, if you feel he is dehydrated? You can get them at most pharmacies. If you've never given fluids, we can give you a link to a very helpful video that walks you through it.

I have a bag of fluids, but he is not dehydrated. I do know how to check for these things. We have been thru alot in the last 3 years.
He will not eat any baby food, he doesn't like too much. I'm having a hard time just getting his regular food in him.9
He just went to my bed and will not stop crying cause he wants me there. He is a trip !! I know he can't go too long without a BM, that is why I had him to the Vets four times. For all the good that did.
 
Becki

It will take me about two minutes to do a spreadsheet for you and link it to your signature. Then you can enter the data. I will send you a private message. In a few minutes, check your inbox in the up right corner of this page. Click on it and there will be a message from me.

A couple things I'd like to mention:
  • When you say he is the "opposite of a normal diabetic cat", he's probably not :). I'm not sure that one could unequivocally say there is such a thing as a "normal diabetic cat" and we have a saying here that "every cat is different" (ECID) because they are. We've seen quite a diversity in glucose curves in the cats here.
  • If he were my cat, I'd be thinking along the lines of an intestinal issue because the things you describe...constipation, vomiting, hairballs...shouldn't be happening. Healthy cats, including those with diabetes, don't have those issues. The symptoms you are describing, except the seizures, sound a lot like inflammatory bowel disease. IBD also makes cats very picky when it comes to food.

He is the opposite of a diabetic cat !! I know there are no normal diabetic cats.
I told a new Vet the same thing I just told you and he also didn't believe what I was saying until Rags got Stomatitis and had to go into the Hospital to have a feeding tube put in. The Doc actually called me and apologized to me for not listening to me when I told him that !! He said he has never seen a cat like Rags, the way he re acts to things.
At this moment I cannot give you numbers for a ss. As I have not done a curve yet and I do not take his BS everyday yet. I ran out of strips. When I can get more I will be testing him regularly. I will let you know.
 
He is the opposite of a diabetic cat !! I know there are no normal diabetic cats.
I told a new Vet the same thing I just told you and he also didn't believe what I was saying until Rags got Stomatitis and had to go into the Hospital to have a feeding tube put in. The Doc actually called me and apologized to me for not listening to me when I told him that !! He said he has never seen a cat like Rags, the way he re acts to things.
At this moment I cannot give you numbers for a ss. As I have not done a curve yet and I do not take his BS everyday yet. I ran out of strips. When I can get more I will be testing him regularly. I will let you know.
I don't need the numbers for the SS as I don't add those for members. I just do the SS form and you enter the numbers when you get them.

Most vets wouldn't know whether a cat's BG patterns are normal or not because they don't see spreadsheets with data.

And to be quite frank, without better data, I don't think you can make the statement that he is the opposite of a diabetic cat. If he was, he'd be in all green numbers.
 
Last edited:
I don't need the numbers for the SS as I don't add those for members. I just do the SS form and you enter the numbers when you get them.

Most vets wouldn't know whether a cat's BG patterns are normal or not because they don't see spreadsheets with data.

And to be quite frank, without better data, I don't think you can make the statement that he is the opposite of a diabetic cat. If he was, he'd be in all green numbers.

I know that I add the numbers. Yes, I CAN say he is opposite a diabetic cat. I know my cat and so does the Doctor. He didn't believe me when I told him that either. He soon found out I was right and apologized to me.
 

When I
I don't need the numbers for the SS as I don't add those for members. I just do the SS form and you enter the numbers when you get them.

Most vets wouldn't know whether a cat's BG patterns are normal or not because they don't see spreadsheets with data.

And to be quite frank, without better data, I don't think you can make the statement that he is the opposite of a diabetic cat. If he was, he'd be in all green numbers.

When I took Rags to the new Vet I took two years of SS with me. He almost had a heart attack. He said, NO,NO do not do that, this Ss is very good but you do not need to test him everyday. He asked me if he could keep them to show his Collegues.
He was very impressed but insisted I not do them anymore. Leave kitty alone. Of course I didn,t listen to him. I believe as all of you do about testing. Rags runs all over the house if he knows I am going to test him. Then sugar is high. Now I don't let him know and I do not hurt him. He never even knows I did it. I do know what everyone is saying on here because I was hère when he was first diagnosed. Did my SS and followed all insructions. His skin turgor is good.
I promise if I can use someone's computer I will do a SS. I Just do not have internet at home to do it all the time.
 
JD is the name of Dyana's cat.

Here's the link Dyana posted:
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1Gw1u6ZL7LFmMeKXZhYL3zX29JFVSlQQCkbXp6mS6kG8/pub?output=html#

She's asking if it's your Rags' spreadsheet. The timing looks the same. Was Rags on Humulin N insulin originally?

Yes he was on Novulin for about two weeks, not long. He crashed at 35, had him changed to Lantus and that is when I stopped coming to this site. My Vet made me promise I would not go back on this site if she put him on Lantus. One of the girls from this site called her to find out if she would see Rags and if she would put him on Lantus. She evidentaly asked her alot of questions. I should have never left the site because the Vet had No clue about Lantus or diabetes. Neither did her
JD is the name of Dyana's cat.

Here's the link Dyana posted:
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1Gw1u6ZL7LFmMeKXZhYL3zX29JFVSlQQCkbXp6mS6kG8/pub?output=html#

She's asking if it's your Rags' spreadsheet. The timing looks the same. Was Rags on Humulin N insulin originally?

Yes, that is his SS. He was on Novulin and hypoed at 35, that was enough. One of the girls on this site called a Vet that I knew and asked her if she would see Rags and change him to Lantus. After the Vet spoke with her she did see Rags, and put him on Lantus. She said she would take care if him if I promised to stay off this site. I wish I had never done that. She knew nothing about Lantus and neither did her two Partners. So off we went to yet another Vet.
I did not see a SS that Dyna found. I had nothing in my in-box. I thought she was asking about what I was reading. Sorry.
I'm glad she found it, now all I need is a computer. Well I do have a computer, no internet.
 
Well I finally figured out why Rags wasn't eating well, are you ready for this ? I was putting too much water in his food. Last night he ate 6 bowls of food. 1 1/2 cans of FF. God I was so happy. His BS at 5:30 p.m. last night was 237, great ! This a..m. he ate four bowls, 1 can of FF. He would never eat it unless I had alot of water in it, now I just put about 1 tsp. I am so happy. He even had a tiny bowel movement this a.m. Of course I gave him mineral oil last night.
 
Well I finally figured out why Rags wasn't eating well, are you ready for this ? I was putting too much water in his food. Last night he ate 6 bowls of food. 1 1/2 cans of FF. God I was so happy. His BS at 5:30 p.m. last night was 237, great ! This a..m. he ate four bowls, 1 can of FF. He would never eat it unless I had alot of water in it, now I just put about 1 tsp. I am so happy. He even had a tiny bowel movement this a.m. Of course I gave him mineral oil last night.
I'm glad you were able to get some food into him! Cats are so finicky sometimes.
 
You know, if he wasn't eating much, you can think he's constipated, but he might just not have enough waste to create poo! That happened with one of my cats. Let's hope this all being resolved now that the mystery of inappetance is solved!
 
That's great he's eating. What a relief!
You can add a new sheet to your current spreadsheet and call it 2017 and then add that 237 in there. It's a start.
Sending more good appetite and eating vines, and good poo vines, to Rags.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top