Rags, Newly diagnosed.......Vineland, N.J. USA

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: Rags, newly diagnosed....Vineland, N.J.

We're here for you Becki.

Calm down, do like Hope said and test again in 30 minutes and post. Please stay logged on. We will be watching for your posts with eagle eyes.

Did not see your 911 and I have been on this board since about 7:45 this morning. When you post a reply, there are icons at the top with little round buttons (radio buttons). The default is none. If you need to post a 911, then click on the button just to the left of the 911 icon. Try that now so you know how it works.
 
Re: Rags, newly diagnosed....Vineland, N.J.

Yes, it has been more than 1/2 hour. Don't know where Becki is. Hopefully, she is testing right this minute.
 
Re: Rags, newly diagnosed....Vineland, N.J.

I took his BG Two and a half hours after he ate. I had trouble with the machine running out of strips, so it backed me up.

I live in the USA.

Do I give him anything to eat now ? I don't want it to go any lower. I do not give insulin tonite. ???

I don't understand your chart, I told you I am NOT smart !!! What does +.25 fed 1.5 oz. (The + 25 ? )
+.75 ?
+2 is two hours, right ?

At 7:15 his BS was178.
7:30 he ate .50 of ff
8:15 - 2 units of Novolin-N given
10:39 - BS 106
THATS the only way right now that i know how to write it, but i'll learn !!!

Should i let him have some fancy feast or give him a little karo, dry food, WHAT ????? Please Advise.

11:50 a.m BS 110. SORRY couldn't find him. Had to look all over the basement, everywhere and I am keeping doors closed.
 
Becki, please respond and post numbers....

we keep checking on you and you haven't responded. If he was 106 at +3 he shouldl have been tested again in a 1/2 hr. He isn't in any danger yet.......not till he gets to 50 or lower. Some cats can go even lower but we don't have enough info on him to determine that so we would help you to keep his numbers up. Thank God you didn't give him those 5 units.
 
Re: Rags, Vineland, N.J....possible hypo...start with Sun. p

I have been posting all new numbers on my first message this a.m cause "the post reply". Wasn't coming up.
10:39 BS 106

11:50. BS 110

What do I do now ?

Sorry, but I could not find him and I had basement and bedroom doors closed. He is a VERY good hider !!

When do I take it again ? I'm gonna run out of strips.
 
Re: Rags, Vineland, N.J....possible hypo...start with Sun. p

110 is a perfectly safe number right now.
You're doing great and so is he.

Just feed him a teaspoon of low carb canned food and test in 30 minutes.
 
Re: Rags, Vineland, N.J....possible hypo...start with Sun. p

How many strips do you have left?
 
Re: Rags, Vineland, N.J....possible hypo...start with Sun. p

Becki, it's okay.....you will catch on. His number at +3 1/2......is 110 so he is basically holding and not going down. That's good. Willl he eat more than 1/2 can of FF when you do feed him? Mainly because 1/2 a can isn't much food for a newly dx kitty.

I would want to see another test in an hr....max...and see where he is. The N is fast but short. As for tonight I would suggest you test him then post what his number is. We'll be waiting and can advise as to whether to shoot 1 unit or not shoot at all. Until he starts to level out please do not shoot that N insulin unless he is 200 or more.
 
Re: Rags, Vineland, N.J....possible hypo...start with Sun. p

Can you possible get more strips today once he is okay and you can leave the house?
 
PM messages......pls check for them.....

I believe Deb sent you some and I just sent you one. It should pop up on this board to let you know and also will show in your e-mail that you have received a private message. All you have to do to reply is write you message and hit submit. It will go back to the person writing to you. It is another way to get quick attention from us.
 
Re: Rags, newly diagnosed....Vineland, N.J.

yo hon said:
I took his BG Two and a half hours after he ate. I had trouble with the machine running out of strips, so it backed me up.

I live in the USA.

Do I give him anything to eat now ? I don't want it to go any lower. I do not give insulin tonite. ???

I don't understand your chart, I told you I am NOT smart !!! What does +.25 fed 1.5 oz. (The + 25 ? )
+.75 ?
+2 is two hours, right ?

At 7:15 his BS was178.
7:30 he ate .50 of ff
8:15 - 2 units of Novolin-N given
10:39 - BS 106
THATS the only way right now that i know how to write it, but i'll learn !!!

Should i let him have some fancy feast or give him a little karo, dry food, WHAT ????? Please Advise.

11:50 a.m BS 110. SORRY couldn't find him. Had to look all over the basement, everywhere and I am keeping doors closed.


In our language this is how what you wrote looks:

AMPS = 178 (2 units)
+2 = 106
+3 = 110

So what this means - AMPS - morning preshot BG
+2 = 2 hours after shot time (shot time was 8:15, test taken at 10:39)
+3 = 3 hours after shot time (shot time was 8:15, test taken at 11:50)

Does this make sense....Think of the clock not in actual time, but rather as hours with 12 being the AMPS or PMPS (evening preshot) and everything goes based on the number of hours after shot time.

So, it looks like he is maintaining, so there is no need to panic. Feed him some low carb food, if you have any gravy food - put a teaspoon of gravy on the low carb food and let him eat some.

Test him again and tell us what the number is.

AND BEFORE YOU GIVE ANY INSULIN TONIGHT - TEST HIM, TELL US THE NUMBER AND if nobody answers immediately and you feel nervous use this for your rule -

If the BG is under 200 -

1) do not give the insulin or
2) wait 30 minutes test again see if it goes up if not do not give insulin and skip the shot

If the BG is over 200 - give 1 unit of insulin only, then test in 1 hour and see what is happening


Does that make sense for you?
 
I called Becki and talked to her. There are several issues that I helped her with.

1. Understanding/navigating around this board and updating the user control panel. We updated so her city and state will now appear on all her posts, updated her signature so there is some basic information there.
2. Explained how her post had gone to a second page and to be sure to go to that second page for more advice from us.
3. told her to feed more than 3 ounces to food to Rags. Her vet told her she could not feed more than this. He was starving. She will feed more.
4. Explained what AMPS, PMPS, +1 +2 etc meant and how to put that in her post.
5. Tried to reassure her that the 110 number is a good number for now.

She will be testing again before the PMPS and will not give any insulin until she hears from us on this post.

Does anyone here have more experience setting up a spreadsheet? She is having problems doing that. I could set one up for her but that would be in my google account. I don't know how to set one up that she could access and update. Any help available for this?
 
You must get him to eat, he is not throwing up is he? Offer him food to see if he will eat anything.

Terri
 
Rags just ate a little over 1/2 can of fancy feast beef at 5:30 p.m. YEAH !!!!!!!! He is scared to death of me. I tried to pet him and tell him he was a good boy, and hev ran from me. he watches my hands constantly. he is afraid i will be testing him.
 
Don't worry - he'll get over it.
I had to drag my cat out from under the bed by the scruff for the 1st 2 weeks - now she jumps on the bed for her treat and test.
 
Becki

I'm going to send you a private message so I can help you with your SS okay? So look for it at the top left of the Forum under the kitty's picture. You'll see "User Control Panel (1 new message). Click on the "1 new message" and you'll see the message from me.

Thanks, Becki.
 
7:14 - PMPS-,464 ate 1/2 can fancy feast wants more. can he have more ? How much insulin do i give him tonight ?

I'd like to give insulin by 8:00 p.m. eastern time tonight, one unit if possible.

Becki & Rags




'
 
Re: Rags, Newly diagnosed. Needs dosing help

Diabetic cats that are not regulated are often very hungry. I feed my cats 6-8 ounces of Fancy Feast/Friskies over the course of a day. I would suggest feeding Rags as long as he is hungry. He may eat a lot of food right now because his body is not processing the nutrients correctly right now.

My diabetic cat who weighed 12 pounds was eating 8-11 ounces of food a day. Hope this helps you to decide how much food to give him.
 
Becki - I have sent messages to a few people to come over and advise dose so wait for now. I imagine it will still be 1 unit though. Was that BG taken before he ate?

How is he doing? is he still hiding?

Wendy
 
Becky,
At 7:14 you got that 464 test and fed. Before that, when was the last time he ate?
 
7:14 - PMPS-,464 ate 1/2 can fancy feast wants more. can he have more ?

I think yes, you could shoot 1u. And yes, you can give him more food if he's still hungry. The other half of a can would be fine.
 
Regarding food - feed him as much as he wants. Please don't limit the amount of food that he can have. While he is unregulated his food needs are much higher than a cat that is not diabetic.

For example, when Maui started out she could eat 2-3 cans of fancy feast at one sitting. She could eat this amount 3 times a day. Now she eats 2 cans of fancy feast a day.

Also you can feed him several meals throughout the day - say 1/2 can 5-6 times a day. Or more food and more frequently as needed.

If your cat is a grazer you can put out canned food, with water added and leave it out all day long - by adding water it keeps it moist longer.
 
ok, I gave him one unit. It was like giving him nothing. he ate another 1/2 can.

Now, when do I check his sugar again????? Will it be high in the a.m. ??
 
You can check him two hours after the shot. The insulin should have started working by that time.


Unfortunately, there's no way to know for sure if he'll be high in the morning. I think a lot of us have crystal balls, but none of them seem to work really well. ;-)
 
You might want to warm up the ear to help with your testing and get Rags to cooperate more.

You can use a sock filled with rice and warmed in the microwave for 15-20 seconds. Hold on the ear for a minute or too to warm.
You can fill a pill bottle with very warm water. Hold on the ear to warm it.
You can vigorously rub the ears to warm them up and get the blood flowing.

This link gives more testing tips so check it out. Click on the title that is underlined and in blue and it will take you to the page with the testing tips.
https://docs.google.com/document/d/13c_CPZVKz27fD_6aVbsguadJKvjSrSAkD7flgPPhEag/pub
 
That's really not bad considering where he was at shot time.
 
Be interesting to see what the morning brings and remember, food spikes them up so if you could hold off feeding him anything for at least the next 2-3 hrs. he may reach his nadir (peak) and start moving back up. ECID (every cat is different) and N does not give long duration. Have you heard back yet from the woman on Supply Closet? I even PM'd her last and haven't heard a thing.

Are you going to talk with the younger vet tomorrow and try and get a better insulin for Rags?

How about in the morning you start a new thread......click on New Topic and put "Rags, Monday morning" in the subject line so we all will see it?
 
no i haven't heard anything either. i e-mailed her about the insulin today and left my address.

where is new topic located ?
 
There should be a "New Topic" button on the left side of the screen on the index page right above all the topics, and below the link that says "user contol panel".
 
Becki,

I have to sign off and get some shut eye. I'll be back on tomorrow around 7 am so be sure to post first thing. I'll be around until about 11 am but then I have to get ready to go to work and will not be back until after 6 pm.

Yes, please post a new topic tomorrow in the Feline Health forum. You should see the New Topic button at the top of the list of the posts, before the section titled "Announcements". It's also at the bottom of the screen.

I know you have a tough time navigating around here but we are slowly teaching you how to do things on the board and for Rags.

Take good care of yourself. You need to stay healthy and calm so you can help Rags - and the rest of your gang of four. We'll work on getting your signature updated to add your "civvies" to the list. I remember there was Freeway, Mikey and Whiskers but forgot the last cats name.

A "civvie" or civilian is a non-diabetic member of your family. There is a glossory somewhere around here that tells you what all our abbreviations mean and some of the terminology used here. See if you can find it on your own. Don't spend too much time hunting but I think the practice navigating would be a help to you. Besides, who knows what else you might discover on this site. :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top