Shirley and Ragnar
Member Since 2010
Adding the new stuff before the old:
Down to 61 today at +7, up a little to 68 +8. Hastily concocted excuse for a spreadsheet at http://valkyriepub.tripod.com/spreadsheet.pdf. (If anyone needs it in jpg, I can do it.)
Dr. Jen said to shoot a "fat 1u" tonight at 12:30. I am scared! But I trust her - she doesn't want to go way down because she doesn't want to "bounce him up and down."
But these numbers are weird. Something is happening; he may be making his own insulin again. When he started at 1.5u, he may not have filled his shed yet. But he was thriving at 1.5u for a week, even when is was given at +11 to work back to civilized hours. Today he shows some mild hypo symptoms - a bit lethargic, poor appetite. (He was eating well when we got the 74 yesterday.)
Now, this is the kind of thing I joined the Lantus forum for. I've got numbers (even if the form isn't ideal - I made the spreadsheet, which starts when he went up to 1.5u, in 20 minutes after his 8:30 test). Need support. I certainly plan to do as Dr. told me, but oh boy am I scared.
Earlier post:
Last night's preshot at +11.5 was 143 (up from 74 at +6). It was 1 AM; when I'd shot at 193 he went up to 228 at +2 before starting down, so I figured it was OK. I wasn't totally comfortable shooting that much that low, though - I've seen lower preshot numbers here, but those people might have been shooting microdoses, not 1.5u.
Dr. Jen said today that it was OK - he had a skinny 1.5u in a Hocks syringe at 12:30 PM, and I will test him at +7 today. He might be making more of his own insulin already, so we will watch that boy as closely as we can. I'm not posting his numbers for +4 and +5 from his first day or two on 1.5; they are unreasonably high and he was probably still filling his shed.
No more hiding - at least none that can't be overcome by a bruised catnip leaf! Sigh (a Thank Heaven sigh). He's back to lap-sitting, too. The syringes from Hocks are even better than BD; fine, sharp, and shorter needles; he didn't seem to feel this shot at all.
I can't use the Google spreadsheet, nohow, because it won't work with my browser, IE7 is no longer available, and my OS won't support IE8. Upgrading that browser would require a new OS, which would probably require a new computer, and certainly new versions of Finale (the full version; I use it professionally), Adobe Acrobat (full version), Microsoft Office (full, not Small Business), Sony Sound Forge (use professionally) and others - and my photo software probably wouldn't work either, including my Canon Utilities. That's too much (at least $2-3K for the software alone) to get a "free" spreadsheet!
I *can* put it into a Word table (simpler than using Excel), turn that into PDF, and FTP it to my web space. If anyone has problems with Acrobat Reader, I can turn the PDF into a JPG ("photo"). Linking it to my signature would be no problem. Would this work for everone else if I do it? (My reporting will probably be spotty, though, because I have more to do than I have time to do, extremely so; and when I have a minute, Himself would rather have me spend with with him than on the rival laptop. I'm using his rival right now because he's asleep on my bed.)
Blessings!
Shirley and Sleepyhead
Down to 61 today at +7, up a little to 68 +8. Hastily concocted excuse for a spreadsheet at http://valkyriepub.tripod.com/spreadsheet.pdf. (If anyone needs it in jpg, I can do it.)
Dr. Jen said to shoot a "fat 1u" tonight at 12:30. I am scared! But I trust her - she doesn't want to go way down because she doesn't want to "bounce him up and down."
But these numbers are weird. Something is happening; he may be making his own insulin again. When he started at 1.5u, he may not have filled his shed yet. But he was thriving at 1.5u for a week, even when is was given at +11 to work back to civilized hours. Today he shows some mild hypo symptoms - a bit lethargic, poor appetite. (He was eating well when we got the 74 yesterday.)
Now, this is the kind of thing I joined the Lantus forum for. I've got numbers (even if the form isn't ideal - I made the spreadsheet, which starts when he went up to 1.5u, in 20 minutes after his 8:30 test). Need support. I certainly plan to do as Dr. told me, but oh boy am I scared.
Earlier post:
Last night's preshot at +11.5 was 143 (up from 74 at +6). It was 1 AM; when I'd shot at 193 he went up to 228 at +2 before starting down, so I figured it was OK. I wasn't totally comfortable shooting that much that low, though - I've seen lower preshot numbers here, but those people might have been shooting microdoses, not 1.5u.
Dr. Jen said today that it was OK - he had a skinny 1.5u in a Hocks syringe at 12:30 PM, and I will test him at +7 today. He might be making more of his own insulin already, so we will watch that boy as closely as we can. I'm not posting his numbers for +4 and +5 from his first day or two on 1.5; they are unreasonably high and he was probably still filling his shed.
No more hiding - at least none that can't be overcome by a bruised catnip leaf! Sigh (a Thank Heaven sigh). He's back to lap-sitting, too. The syringes from Hocks are even better than BD; fine, sharp, and shorter needles; he didn't seem to feel this shot at all.
I can't use the Google spreadsheet, nohow, because it won't work with my browser, IE7 is no longer available, and my OS won't support IE8. Upgrading that browser would require a new OS, which would probably require a new computer, and certainly new versions of Finale (the full version; I use it professionally), Adobe Acrobat (full version), Microsoft Office (full, not Small Business), Sony Sound Forge (use professionally) and others - and my photo software probably wouldn't work either, including my Canon Utilities. That's too much (at least $2-3K for the software alone) to get a "free" spreadsheet!
I *can* put it into a Word table (simpler than using Excel), turn that into PDF, and FTP it to my web space. If anyone has problems with Acrobat Reader, I can turn the PDF into a JPG ("photo"). Linking it to my signature would be no problem. Would this work for everone else if I do it? (My reporting will probably be spotty, though, because I have more to do than I have time to do, extremely so; and when I have a minute, Himself would rather have me spend with with him than on the rival laptop. I'm using his rival right now because he's asleep on my bed.)
Blessings!
Shirley and Sleepyhead
