Shirley and Ragnar
Member Since 2010
Ragnar's sugar was 410 today at 3:16, a little less than 4+ hours - he'd had his AM shot at 11:30.
Yesterday he also had AM shot at 11:30, and a check at 3:50 was 418. He seems stable now, though stable with high numbers. When I have more strips and a reliable meter so I can keep better tabs on him, we will increase his dose.
Oddly, his *first* dose brought him down from 500 pre-shot, to 193 just before his next shot 12 hrs later, and 232 5 1/2 hours after that. I thought Lantus took time to build up - but it seems it's become less effective than at first, though it's leveled off now.
He's eating like crazy, and at least some of that food is being used because he's gaining a little weight! I wondered if food went straight to fat w/o insulin, but Dr. Jen said that, in a sense, they need to process it with insulin before they store it as fat, so evidently he has some insulin activity (from his 1/2 unit perhaps - I hope there's still at least a little of his own!).
Blessings!
Shirley
Yesterday he also had AM shot at 11:30, and a check at 3:50 was 418. He seems stable now, though stable with high numbers. When I have more strips and a reliable meter so I can keep better tabs on him, we will increase his dose.
Oddly, his *first* dose brought him down from 500 pre-shot, to 193 just before his next shot 12 hrs later, and 232 5 1/2 hours after that. I thought Lantus took time to build up - but it seems it's become less effective than at first, though it's leveled off now.
He's eating like crazy, and at least some of that food is being used because he's gaining a little weight! I wondered if food went straight to fat w/o insulin, but Dr. Jen said that, in a sense, they need to process it with insulin before they store it as fat, so evidently he has some insulin activity (from his 1/2 unit perhaps - I hope there's still at least a little of his own!).
Blessings!
Shirley