Gurkan&Raffy
Member Since 2017
Hello; u can see the previous data at SS . But things are going bad.
I need immediate adviceses.
I need immediate adviceses.
It's time to increase the dose to 4 u twice a day. You're able to test enough to follow the Lantus/Levemir TR dosing protocol. It would allow you to escalate the dose more quickly to get Raffy into better BG numbers sooner.Hello; u can see the previous data at SS . But things are going bad.
I need immediate adviceses.
Here is the link to your previous post, it will help others see what's been going on: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/i-can-not-find-the-dose.181605/#post-2016501
Last night he couldn't go outI think you can increase to 4.0 units. I strongly urge you to try to get both AMPS and PMPS tests each day.
I wonder if he's finding some dry food in the afternoon before PMPS.
Deae Ovi, thx for reply......or, maybe, you started with a too big dose. As far as I know bigger or smaller looks the same....like it's not working. With Lantus, for Rafy's weight (5,2 kg) a dose of 1.3u should be the start for the Tight Regulation ("the formula is 0.25 unit per kg of the cat's ideal weight"). For the Start Low, Go Slow even less.....05/1u for start. I don't know too much about Lavemir, though. Maybe you should chat about it with Rafy's vet.
This morning i ve cancelled everything.....or, maybe, you started with a too big dose. As far as I know bigger or smaller looks the same....like it's not working. With Lantus, for Rafy's weight (5,2 kg) a dose of 1.3u should be the start for the Tight Regulation ("the formula is 0.25 unit per kg of the cat's ideal weight"). For the Start Low, Go Slow even less.....05/1u for start. I don't know too much about Lavemir, though. Maybe you should chat about it with Rafy's vet.
I made a dose reduction because we ve never used doses below 3u...You do enough testing for us to know that the lower dose is not enough. Neither was 3.75 units. Don't waste your time going backwards. The protocols allow for people being on a different insulin and switching to Levemir or Lantus. Neko started on Caninsulin and I made a huge mistake starting back at the beginning in dose instead of taking the dose of the previous insulin in mind. I wasted months getting to better numbers. In the 5 1/2 years I have been on the board, I have seen many a caregiver do a "recheck" by going backwards in dose. All it does is waste time getting to a good dose. In the worst case, I have seen a kitty develop ketones when the dose was lowered. Please make sure to test for ketones daily since you lowered Rafy's dose so much.
Dear Nat, with your kind support, i hope we will find the doseYes it is normal, the depo needs to build and that can take up to 6cycles (3 days). Also, he may also just be a cat that needs more insulin than others. When you get closer to a good dose you will see more of a difference. The good thing is you didn't see and black numbers the last few days. You may want to go to 3.5 units tomorrow, if you do not see any lower than normal BG. Some cat are difficult to regulate, but you will get there![]()
Me too, Raffy is so adorable. I am going to talk with @Wendy&Neko as she is very experienced and see if Raffy would be a good candidate to fast track a little or not. What would help to decide is if you could try and get some BG test in the PM cycle. Example a +2 and and one when you go to bed. This will help just in case he has better numbers at night.Dear Nat, with your kind support, i hope we will find the dose![]()
This evening i could not make a test before PM ShotMe too, Raffy is so adorable. I am going to talk with @Wendy&Neko as she is very experienced and see if Raffy would be a good candidate to fast track a little or not. What would help to decide is if you could try and get some BG test in the PM cycle. Example a +2 and and one when you go to bed. This will help just in case he has better numbers at night.
We are on 3,5 ... And PMPS was 378, i am do happy when i see numbers starting with 3 .Mr Raffy doesn't like being tested
Agree with Wendy, if you can monitor all day tomorrow try 4.0u, If you can not monitor 3.5u may be better.
Good luck and let us know how Raffy is doing and feeling.
No dosing advice, just a bit of support for you, and to say I understand how happy you can feel to see numbers starting with 3We are on 3,5 ... And PMPS was 378, i am do happy when i see numbers starting with 3 .
Hope to see numbers with 2 digits.
I ve done +3 test, but not so good... Again 472.I am happy too.let's see how he does next few cycles. Of you can get a plus 2 and bed time test that would be good. If Raffy let you
![]()
Yes, that's possible. Keep the dose the same for the next few cycles.I ve done +3 test, but not so good... Again 472.
Is it a reaction of a higher new dose?