Pearl and Emily
Member Since 2018
Okay, I posted nearly the same thread a few days ago, but realized I didn't get an answer regarding feedings and feeding times:
In order to keep a steady BG, I have been feeding Pearl every 4 hours a quarter can of her LC food. This has worked great because it prevents her blood sugar from dropping too low or spiking too high if she were to have a larger meal every 12 hours. However, now that she seems to want to reduce insulin dose, I believe that the feeding is keeping us "too" level.
The system I've created works for her safety but may be muddling her true nadirs and therefore may impact dose reductions.
*She is not super carb sensitive, her food is 9% carbs by dry matter. ie: If I test her prior to her usual feeding time, and she is trending downward at +4 (let's say she's 80 at this time), she is scheduled to get fed, that will raise her otherwise natural nadir at +6/7 (possibly to 100). If she were fed less frequently, her nadir may drop into the 50/60 range, calling for a dose reduction.
The TR protocol doesn't really highlight different feeding styles or frequencies. If she were fed twice daily her nadir may naturally plummet.
What are your thoughts? How often do you feed your cats? For those that have seen quick reductions, what feeding schedule would you recommend?
In order to keep a steady BG, I have been feeding Pearl every 4 hours a quarter can of her LC food. This has worked great because it prevents her blood sugar from dropping too low or spiking too high if she were to have a larger meal every 12 hours. However, now that she seems to want to reduce insulin dose, I believe that the feeding is keeping us "too" level.
The system I've created works for her safety but may be muddling her true nadirs and therefore may impact dose reductions.
*She is not super carb sensitive, her food is 9% carbs by dry matter. ie: If I test her prior to her usual feeding time, and she is trending downward at +4 (let's say she's 80 at this time), she is scheduled to get fed, that will raise her otherwise natural nadir at +6/7 (possibly to 100). If she were fed less frequently, her nadir may drop into the 50/60 range, calling for a dose reduction.
The TR protocol doesn't really highlight different feeding styles or frequencies. If she were fed twice daily her nadir may naturally plummet.
What are your thoughts? How often do you feed your cats? For those that have seen quick reductions, what feeding schedule would you recommend?
