quick question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Taintedhalo

Member Since 2013
I just took Patches BG its +11 after a no shoot and she is at 271. I know that's not a great number but with it being a shot 11 hrs overdue its better than she has ever been in the past. The other night she was only 308 after a no shot too. The only 2 other times we had a fur shot she was way higher in the 300's. My question is could this be a sign that her body is starting to get the idea of how it should be working? I just ask cause if so that would be very encouraging and I was curious.
 
It sure sounds encouraging!

I'm not great at this but have you considered lowering the dose? That's what got Gypsy down. It does work for some cats...if her number is lowing with no insulin..

Anyway you might want to get input from the more experienced before taking my advice. I'm still trying to learn from all of you...just in case I ever have another cat with FD.
 
Ok just took her BG again getting ready to give her shot and its now 242. How is she dropping even lower when she missed a shot? Shouldn't her BG be going up instead of down 30 points in an hour??


Edit: ah ha I just figured it out...waited 20 mins and retested and it was back up to 272. It dawned on me that I had taken the earlier readings from different parts of the ear the first from the top part and the second from closer to the bottom. So I retested near the bottom part and it was 248. So apparently it matters where on her ear I test too.
 
Could be you are getting some pancreas action. Nagging again, but more midcycle numbers will really help us see whether we need to go up or down or stay here. She's in fairly regulated numbers. The skipped shots definitely throw things off too.

Is Mom better?
 
Check:

Is the low number * 1.2 greater than the high number * 0.8?
242 * 1.2 vs 272* 0.8
290.4 vs 217.6
Yes it is, so its possible that its just the 20% meter variance.
 
Sue am I am I not doing the midcycle numbers right I usually get them at +6 or sometimes +5 I thought that's was the midcycle numbers? Or am I confused again? I can change the time I check if I need to. I agree I hate skipping the shot but figured since it was so overdue it was better to skip and keep her on schedule than to have to readjust it every shot till I get back to the schedule. Was that not right? I know I still have lots to learn. I couldn't avoid it being that late since they took forever in the ER. Would be better if I could get my oldest son to give the shots too but he is terrified of giving them. He thinks he is going to puncture something. I thought about having him practice with water in the needle on an apple.
Mom is ok and home again tonight after 12 hrs on the heart monitor. Turns out the visiting cardiologist said she was on too many blood pressure meds (3) and what she had been feeling was the extra leaving her system. He took off the one she was out of.
BJ yeah I remembered when that happened when it was different on each ear. That's what made me think to recheck on the bottom to see if it was the same. Thanks for teaching me that. :-D
 
No, I know you couldn't help skipping. :-D We just need to take that into consideration when looking at her numbers.

I am wondering whether you should raise the dose. It does seem that she stays in the same range through the whole cycle. I wonder if you have caught the lowest point in the cycle or if it is hidden between the numbers you've gotten. I think I would raise the dose on a day you can monitor, maybe to 1.25.

Rachel could be right. Patches has numbers higher midcycle than preshot some times, which is confusing. If the increase doesn't lower the numbers, then we could try lower......

And a curve some day would be wonderful. :mrgreen:
 
I was thinking the day I start the increase do a curve. Not saying the day because I swear when I do something happens and I am now paranoid about it. :lol: Oh I knew you were just letting me know that it hurts her progress. I am just frustrated with myself that it happened 2 days in a row.
Yeah I wondered why her numbers were higher then too but figured there was probably something I wasn't understanding. Whatever you think is best you ladies know much more than I do about it. A dosage change should be held for 3 days to see if it will work though right?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top