Quick look at curve & low amps, high pmps q's

Status
Not open for further replies.

cmw

New Member
Hi,

Just started here the other day and am very grateful for the information, support, and general attitude. Posted in Health and got some much needed encouragement.

Don't have a profile or SS yet, but the merest basics:
Four cat household
Dusty, 14yo female, lifetime of dry food, ~3wk dx with PZ 1u BID rx
Started TR but it just didn't seem right (kept doses small .75 to 1.25)
All low carb canned now, home testing
No known ketonuria to date

Just finally convinced myself she was rebounding half the time I was chasing her BG with increased doses, or that at least we were getting nowhere and needed to drop back and settle things down.

So the last few days have been 0.7u:
12:30am 321 0.7u
1:30pm 236 0.7u

12:00am 406 0.7u
11:30am 292 0.7u

10:30pm 438 0.75u
~+12 231 this am

Did a 2hr curve today ~small servings of Fancy Feast whenever she wanted them
9:45am 231 0.7u (231 in left ear, 246 in right ~overnight I woke wondering if the swings might be influenced by the ear, left is very hard to get)
+2 249 11:50am
+4 234 1:45pm
+6 140 4:00pm
+8 206 6:00pm
+10 313 8:00pm
+12 333 10:00pm

About to do her +12 / PMPS and wondering if there is any established suggestion for the swings AM vs PM
Her AMPS is such that I want to think the night goes well ~but then again she's starting in the 400's...
How about "shorter" days ~like a 10hr day and a 14hr night?
From what I've read about doing a curve, she mostly looks like she needs a higher dose...

Given the primary differences between night and day are activity around the house and availability of food we probably need to get her on a feeding schedule but right now she just doesn't eat much at a sitting and is not gaining weight.

Thanks for any and all comments or suggestions.

Chris

ETA the +12 BG
 
Glad to see you made it to PZIville, Chris and Dusty! cat_pet_icon

What we try to do, especially in the beginning, is get data from a 12/12 schedule and keeping the dose the same, unless a drop is needed. Without the data we're only guessing at what may or may not work for our kitties. The .7u seems to be working well, based on the one curve. What I would suggest - keep with the .7u and gather data, putting into the spreadsheet and attaching it to your signature. This way the data you gather is available to anyone able to help. And it may even help you! :-D

The spreadsheet is great when looking for trends - which is what we do when questioning doses and where to go with dosing. If you need any help with the spreadsheet, don't hesitate to holler. :-D

Many kitties do seem to run different AM and PM cycles. We think mostly it's due to activity, or lack thereof, and food, to name a couple. ECID (each cat is different), another reason the data is so important. :-D Some due change from the 12/12 schedule, or address it with food, but more data is needed before contemplating those ideas for Dusty.

Please let us know how we can help you with Dusty. :-D
 
Hi Chris - Curve looks great! If only we could all have one that looked so good! Sometimes it takes a little while to settle into the insulin (some say as much as 45 days), so don't worry if things aren't all perfect right away.

Grayson had LONG cycles initially... as long as 24 hours on that 12 hour dose. So we tweaked it down as low as .2 units, then the high numbers and the alignment of the moon & stars (and a bunch of other factors), and I had a ketone scare. We increased the insulin and he's been on SubQ fluids 1x or 2x/day since Feb 23rd.

My wisdom to share is TEST! TEST! TEST! (for ketones). Best little $6 bottle of insurance you can get! Especially when the numbers are higher, but it's a good thing to do at least once a day. Anything more than NEGATIVE or TRACE needs immediate attention. Failure to do so can put your kitty at risk as well as your bank account! :shock:

It looks like you're already ahead of the game, getting started. You'll be amazed at the collective wisdom here that you'll be able to benefit from. Ask questions, read threads, review spreadsheets & ask some more questions! Welcome!

Lu-Ann
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top