QUICK Assistance, PLEASE - Hershey BG 43?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Doug N Libby

Very Active Member
Upped dose .9 this morning. Tonight at +6 had trouble getting enough blood for a reading. 3rd try said 43. Was afraid to keep testing (to double-check) so went ahead and fed him - no walking first. What now? Maybe the 43 wasn't accurate? Should I test after he finishes eating or just watch and retest later?

Thanks -

Libby (and Hershey, too!)
 
Check again in 15-20 min. If high, could be food spike. If low, need to watch carefully until he is clearly rising.
 
:15 retest with larger blood sample BG (47) - fed, again. Seems extra hungry, but don't see any other symptoms
 
Hi Libby,
If you test again within 30 minutes of eating, the number shouldn't include any boost from eating if it was just his normal food, so it should tell you if he's rising or falling on his own.

Carl
 
Oh - the walking is - he hasn't been interested in much of any kind of exercise. So, at mealtime he'll follow me around the small island in our kitchen 25 times. Figured it was better than no exercise at all. Often he'll start without me when he sees me going that way.
 
Yes, retest as soon as possible.

What do you mean by ....no walking?

It will be okay, just stay calm and post your test results.
 
"Hey Mom, I'm HUNGRY HERE" is a symptom... they are amazing, they tell us they need a boost in case we don't know already!

Try not to let him eat too much, in case you need to feed him more to get his numbers up.
Carl
 
LOL I remember Libby telling that story a while back. And Hershey started walking around the island in circles because he figured it would get him some food. Smart little guy!
 
Keep checking every 15-20 min until we know he's rising. Normal number for non-diabetic, just not what we're used to. May not see any symptoms until much lower; the other night Cass threw a 33 with no signs. Just be glad you're testing.
 
Libby, when you have time, let us know what he ate, and about how much so we can figure out how much "boost" is from the food.
 
Initially at +6 Tested 43 - then he ate Wellness Chicken - 1/4 of 5.5 oz can
:15 later tested 47 - fed additional 1/8 can Wellness Chicken & Herring
:15 later tested 61

Should I feed again, or just wait and test again, or??

Sorry, a little nervous - THANKS for being there everybody!!!!
 
I am with Carl,
61 is a safe number and he just ate quite a bit...
I would wait and retest in about 20 or 30 minutes
 
I would not feed any additional...wait 15 mins and check again.....you are doing Great!

It will be okay!
 
It's been about :15 since I tested, but think I'll go with the suggestion to retest :20 - :30, esp since testing is not my forte and Doug isn't home. I'll spare him, if I can. I'll let you know -
 
Looking at your SS
I see that you gave the same dose into the 201 pmps you had tonight
that you would have given into a higher number
Just thinkig that if you see a low preshot , say around 210 or below maybe you should reduce a little
In the future....
also I know you are switching your shot times but PLEASE remember that
he will be a lot more sensitive to insulin so you will want to, depending on his prehsot,
reduce or dont shoot in the am...
 
You're at +7 now? I would wait 30 min and check one more time (but I may be paranoid, see what Denise says).
 
He's been at the same shot time the last day or so (3:30), but we were hoping to get him back to 2:30 in the next few days. I was worried about his preshot number this afternoon. We haven't been changing the dose according to the preshot number, but you saying that if it's closer to the 200/210 we should reduce it - by how much?

About tomorrow morning, I had just told my daughter it made me afraid to leave him to go to church. We leave at +6 but have no idea that would be his lowest point, you know? So, we shouldn't give any shot if he's how low?

Sorry to still be so ignorant, I feel like I should have a better grip on all of this by now. Been reading, trying to catch up, but still feel so far behind -
 
I agree with Lisa,
He is rising now, he might drop a little lower later
after the food wears off, but 30 minutes is good.
Sorry I cant remeber , does he free feed, if ot you might want to leave a little food out
tonight if you plan on sleeping
Waht time do you shoot?
 
Libby,
I'd test one more time, like the others said, in 30 or so.

You shoot at what times? 3am and 3pm eastern? If so, that's the same time Lisa shoots Cass, so maybe you can be on around the same time and answer each others questions while the rest of us are in dream land? Lisa's sort of in the same boat at this point....has to wait until shot time to figure out how much to shoot....

Carl
 
GOOD JOB LIBBY!!!!! Don't worry about that 'ignorant' feeling, it's only because of nerves right now - you'll feel more in control tomorrow and realize it wasn't THAT hard!!!

BIG HUG!!!!
 
On tomorrow's shot -
I'd probably skip if below 200, or shoot a tiny dose like a .4, just because he is likely to be more sensitive to insulin after the low tonight.

Of course, if his liver reacts strongly to this low, then he might be pretty high in the AM.

On adjusting the dose to the preshots.... some of us have used what we call a sliding scale, where we assign specific doses to a given range of preshot numbers.

Like for instance -
BG above 350 shoot 1.25
BG between 300-350, shoot 1.0
BG between 250-300 shoot . .75
BG between 200-250 shoot .5
BG below 150-200 shoot .25
Below 150, no shot
That tailors the shot to the reading, and helps stop unexpected lows.
Robin has been the "sliding scale" designer for several kitties.
Carl
 
No, he doesn't free feed, but he will eat all the food available, no matter how much or how little. I can try leaving some food out, but the chances are good that Oreo will eat it. Even though he gets the same food, he thinks what's in Hershey's bowl is better somehow - just like kids ;-)

Yes, it's 3:30 Eastern. How do I figure out how much to shoot? This is brand new territory for us

Yes, by all means y'all go to bed. I am usually up until 1am or so, then try to take a nap until time to test - feed - shoot. I try to go to bed earlier on Sat so I can stay awake in church, but should I skip the nap tonight and just stay up with him.

I tested him about :15 ago, so should do once more in :15 or so? He'll want to know how many more tests he has to look forward to; I told him I thought we were finished...oops...We're :10 away from +7.5...Don't worry, Lisa, I'm paranoid, too :cool:
 
I would skip below 200. You are having low numbers and with the meter variance, I would not feel safe shooting under 200-- especially with the near hypo numbers tonight.

Just my thoughts!
 
Thanks for all of the hand-holding, assistance and encouragement.

Lyresa - I hope you're right and this looks easier in hindsight. :smile:

Carl - Is the Robin who has been the "sliding scale" designer for several kitties, like Rob & Harley?
 
Thanks Carl for the info...

Ihave a feeling he might go high from the food, but I still would not shoot the normal dose
as Kim said they are more sensitive to the insulin after the hypo. Depending on his pmps
(or amps, what ever the 3:30am shoot time is)
I might skip or shoot a very reduced shot and this way if he goes high tomorrow
you can shoot at 2:30 without worrying

I would listen to Carl and his suggestion on what to shoot
when he has low numbers, you dont have to follow that exactly
as you will learn what to shoot when as you continue on this journey
It is all about trial and error
 
Libby,

Tomorrow morning, if Hershey is below 200, just skip the shot. Go with your family to church and enjoy a peaceful Sunday morning (just like in the pre-diabetes days!). It isn't worth the stress and worry, and it will let everyone get a good night's sleep. When you get home from church, check him, and then post something. We can help you plan for tomorrow's PM shot then.
If he's above 200, but below 300, then just shoot .25 if you can eyeball that. Above 300 then .5. That should let you all sleep well, and keep him safe. Then just wake up when the alarm goes off (or somebody wakes you up!) and check his BG while the coffee is brewing. I'll check in between 10-11 am eastern, but I am sure the members of the Breakfast Club will be up and online much earlier than that.

Carl
 
Doug N Libby said:
Thanks for all of the hand-holding, assistance and encouragement.

Lyresa - I hope you're right and this looks easier in hindsight. :smile:

Carl - Is the Robin who has been the "sliding scale" designer for several kitties, like Rob & Harley?

Libby, Doug and Hershey....you are very welcome. This is what we "do". Everyone of us has been in your shoes, and people did the same for us when we were "new to the dance". Having a diabetic cat has changed every one of us, like it will change you. And one day, you'll be doing the hand-holding, assistance and encouragement.
Lyresa is 100% right. It will, in hindsight, look easy. Some day, go back and read your very first post on the board. Even if you did that right now, you'd see how far you have come since that day.
And yes, Robin is "Rob and Harley". She's really good at looking at history on a SS and figuring out logical doses based on historic data. And once the scale is created, it can be tweaked as needed as the numbers come down (which they will).

You're doing a heck of a lot better than you might believe you are!
Carl
 
ok folks..now that Hershey is in the clear I have to go to bed
I will be up ina few hours, so I need my beauty rest
I would listen to Carl's advice on the shooting
and get some rest tonight and enjoy church tomorrow and we shall
meet here again then
 
Thanks, Denise. Sleep well. I think I may check him once more before I go to bed or else I know I won't sleep.

Thanks, everybody. I hope you all have sweet dreams!

Libby (and Hershey, who doesn't know what all of the fuss has been about but appreciated the extra food!)
 
ha, always keep in mind that Hershey has no clue that he's "sick", just some days he feels good, other days not so good, but for some strange reason, he's been getting a lot more attention and love lately, so to him, this dancing thing is "all good".

I'll be on for a couple hours probably, so I'll check back for the next number if you post one by then.

Carl
 
I didn't think you'd post that soon!!! Yes, Libby, that number is very nice. Looks like he's good to go.

For 3am....See if Lisa is online if you need help or advice.

If under 200, skip it and go back to bed
201-300 then shoot .25u if you can eyeball that.
301 or higher, shoot .5u.
Then go back to bed, sleep till woken up, test him when the coffee is going, post a number, and hopefully the Breakfast Club will be online to give you some feedback.

Then proceed like a normal Sunday. I hope it's a great one for all.

Carl
 
Thanks, again, Carl - adrenaline gone and I'm more tired than usual. Think I'll try to take a longer nap than usual...

Goodnight...
 
Sounds good. The high is probably a bounce & expected. He got lower than usual so his liver dumped extra sugar into his system. May take a couple days to clear but don't increase the dose.

Did you get some sleep?
 
I did get a couple of hours of sleep, Lisa, thanks for asking. Eventful evening, but glad it went as well as it did. So glad I had found this site, done lots of reading (I think it's spilling out of my ears!) and that y'all were there with me!! I'm going to take Carl's advice, go on to church with my family and try not to stress too much about Hershey while I'm gone. Doug is programming the auto feeder, so they'll eat just before +6. We usually test, then feed at +6, but won't be here and they have to eat...

Just a little past +4 his BG was 333. Carl suggested I post whatever numbers from this morning and when we get back so y'all could help me figure out how much to give him at his next dose - sure do appreciate it!!

I hope you slept well and all is calm and quiet at your house this morning :smile: It's mornings like this that make me wish I drank coffee...

Libby (and Hershey, too!)
 
Just after +5 (308)

Out the door - running late - daughter overslept and we didn't realize it until about :30 ago...so, typical day :-D
 
Glad you went witht he token dose, so you can go to church with no worries
we can figure out the dosage later
You did great last night!
 
:thumbup on last night. Sorry we weren’t around to hang out with you. Token doses are good. Keeps things moving forward but allows you to have some hours without worry.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top