He is refusing food now but may eat later on.3.75 on a higher yellow gave you a decent amps the next cycle. But today's pmps is lower and you said he wasn't eating well. What do you think about 3.5 and getting a test in before bed - just to be sure he isn't dropping. If that makes you nervous, maybe 3.25. Always better too high a cycle than too low.
His numbers are gradually lowering, especially at night. This is good news.
Would 3.0 be reasonable in case he doesn't eat?He is refusing food now but may eat later on.
Retest 236 just now.Would 3.0 be reasonable in case he doesn't eat?
Unfortunately, he has never taken to treats. For awhile he was responding to Pure Bites ground on top of his food but tired of that after a month or two. Now he won't touch it. He is resistant to every trick we have tried. He gets appetite stimulant medication daily. Can't imagine what he would be like without it, but the last couple of days have been worse. ThanksWill he eat any treats or anything? I've crushed up freeze dried chicken treats on top of food to coax mine into eating.
Urine negative now.. Not surprising.PMPS 163 and 165. Ate better today but didn't urinate much, so not sure if he went very low. How long should we wait to retest, and how high should he be to get insulin, or should we skip dose?
After 35 minutes he is up to 295 and 303. Will give a low dose again (2.5u) and retest later.Urine negative now.. Not surprising.
The 303 was before food. May have caught him at the beginning of a bounce, or not, I'm not sure what happened, but we went with the 2.5 to be safe. Still reluctant to eat this evening, but ate pretty well today in spite of the numbers.Now I see the 303. Is that after food or not? Did you give 2.5?
OK. Will see what happens. Hope the lower numbers continue, but worry about his appetite. Thanks for keeping an eye on things.Yes, could be a bounce or the insulin could just be gone. 2.5 sounds good.
If this pattern continues, you could consider shooting 11/13 instead of 12/12. So plan to test at +13 at night, giving him time to rise if he is lower. And give the shot in the am at +11, catching him before he goes higher.
It's quite possible with his changing numbers, that you won't get a consistent enough pattern to try this. But it's something to think about.
And the changing numbers are great news! He is needing less insulin and getting some nice numbers.
He has a very high WBC count and a fever, which means he has an infection somewhere. Not sure where, so an ultrasound is recommended tomorrow to rule out an abscess. He will be staying in the hospital until then, precisely what we feared most. This will be harder on his mommy than it will on him. Will keep you posted.Sluggish all day and not eating on his own. Headed to ER for check up.
Oh my goodness. I am so sorry to hear that he has multiple issues. You might post on Health listing the kidney + heart + pancreatitis and see if anyone else has dealt with these combinations and might have ideas for you. The wealth of knowledge and people who deal with multiple issue kitties is amazing.