Quick Advice:

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cassis

Member
PMPS is 232 after 4.5u in AM. Last night got 4.0 for 575 and dropped to 294 at 6+ and up to 403 at AMPS this morning. Should we go with lower dose now? He hasn't been eating well today.
 
3.75 on a higher yellow gave you a decent amps the next cycle. But today's pmps is lower and you said he wasn't eating well. What do you think about 3.5 and getting a test in before bed - just to be sure he isn't dropping. If that makes you nervous, maybe 3.25. Always better too high a cycle than too low.

His numbers are gradually lowering, especially at night. This is good news.
 
3.75 on a higher yellow gave you a decent amps the next cycle. But today's pmps is lower and you said he wasn't eating well. What do you think about 3.5 and getting a test in before bed - just to be sure he isn't dropping. If that makes you nervous, maybe 3.25. Always better too high a cycle than too low.

His numbers are gradually lowering, especially at night. This is good news.
He is refusing food now but may eat later on.
 
Went with 2.5u. He's really not interested in eating now and quite sluggish. Not sure what the problem is. Maybe not used to the lower blood sugar? Will test him early to see where it's going. Hopefully won't be getting too much lower.
 
Will he eat any treats or anything? I've crushed up freeze dried chicken treats on top of food to coax mine into eating.
 
Will he eat any treats or anything? I've crushed up freeze dried chicken treats on top of food to coax mine into eating.
Unfortunately, he has never taken to treats. For awhile he was responding to Pure Bites ground on top of his food but tired of that after a month or two. Now he won't touch it. He is resistant to every trick we have tried. He gets appetite stimulant medication daily. Can't imagine what he would be like without it, but the last couple of days have been worse. Thanks
 
PMPS 163 and 165. Ate better today but didn't urinate much, so not sure if he went very low. How long should we wait to retest, and how high should he be to get insulin, or should we skip dose?
 
PMPS 163 and 165. Ate better today but didn't urinate much, so not sure if he went very low. How long should we wait to retest, and how high should he be to get insulin, or should we skip dose?
Urine negative now.. Not surprising.
 
Wow! I imagine some of the low number could be not eating, but it is very good news. If you shoot late tonight, will you be able to shoot 12 hours later from this shot.
 
Urine negative now.. Not surprising.
After 35 minutes he is up to 295 and 303. Will give a low dose again (2.5u) and retest later.
Now I see the 303. Is that after food or not? Did you give 2.5?
The 303 was before food. May have caught him at the beginning of a bounce, or not, I'm not sure what happened, but we went with the 2.5 to be safe. Still reluctant to eat this evening, but ate pretty well today in spite of the numbers.
 
Yes, could be a bounce or the insulin could just be gone. 2.5 sounds good.

If this pattern continues, you could consider shooting 11/13 instead of 12/12. So plan to test at +13 at night, giving him time to rise if he is lower. And give the shot in the am at +11, catching him before he goes higher.

It's quite possible with his changing numbers, that you won't get a consistent enough pattern to try this. But it's something to think about.

And the changing numbers are great news! He is needing less insulin and getting some nice numbers.
 
Yes, could be a bounce or the insulin could just be gone. 2.5 sounds good.

If this pattern continues, you could consider shooting 11/13 instead of 12/12. So plan to test at +13 at night, giving him time to rise if he is lower. And give the shot in the am at +11, catching him before he goes higher.

It's quite possible with his changing numbers, that you won't get a consistent enough pattern to try this. But it's something to think about.

And the changing numbers are great news! He is needing less insulin and getting some nice numbers.
OK. Will see what happens. Hope the lower numbers continue, but worry about his appetite. Thanks for keeping an eye on things.
 
I know the appetite has to be worrying. I don't really have any advice about it...but I do have hugs for you!
 
I know the eating situation is worrying. You seem to have a good handle on what will help and what won't and when to offer what. Have you read through some of @Carol & Murphy threads? Murphy has lots of eating issues and she has tried lots of things.

Big picture - the colors on his spreadsheet are looking so much better overall. It is nice to see lowering pink preshots and some yellows - so much better than the blacks and reds.
 
About the same as last night 301 vs 303. Sticking with 2.5 tonight. Not much improvement in appetite. Getting fewer ounces than before. Wonder if the lower sugars are responsible in some part. Might not test him until morning unless he seems off. Ear is getting pretty messy.
 
Didn't test his blood today except for the preshots, but his urine was negative at 6 hours, so he must have been low or normal before then. Still eating less and prefers to be fed rather than going to the dish on his own. Somewhat listless today, but awake or at least rousable nevertheless. Still wonder if he needs to adjust to lower glucose levels. Not much of a change in his PMPS, so we are staying with 2.5u this evening.
 
I wish he'd eat better at night so you could increase the dose at pmps. Stabilizing the amounts am and pm would help.. Sending good eating vibes.
 
Not eating tonight and more lethargic than usual. Blood sugar is lower than usual at this time but not at a dangerous level (234). Still wonder if he needs to adjust to lower levels or if something else is going on. Doesn't seem to have any discomfort or other symptoms, just sluggish.
 
Still requires hand feeding this morning. Therefore, stayed put with the insulin despite a 410 AMPS. Will try to get a couple of levels later on.
 
We are concerned about that, but so far he hasn't been vomiting like he did when he was diagnosed with pancreatitis, and his abdomen is soft and not tender, but it is hard to tell. He will eat what's put in his mouth but won't go to the dish on his own. He also seems more wobbly when his glucose is in the 200s than when it is 300 and above. Is this something you have seen in other cats as their levels come down?
 
I do think their bodies can get used to higher levels. That's why lowering slowly and avoiding those drastic drops from lows and back up to highs can make them feel better.

I think you are between vets? Asking the vet for some pain meds and an appetite stimulant might be useful if he hasn't been using them.

Your midcycle numbers looks good. He definitely is dropping into nice numbers.
 
Sluggish all day and not eating on his own. Headed to ER for check up.
He has a very high WBC count and a fever, which means he has an infection somewhere. Not sure where, so an ultrasound is recommended tomorrow to rule out an abscess. He will be staying in the hospital until then, precisely what we feared most. This will be harder on his mommy than it will on him. Will keep you posted.
 
So sorry that he is feeling poorly! I think a vet visit was a good plan though. I know how tough this is, but you did the right thing. Please update us tomorrow on what the vet finds. I'm sending you tons of healing vines and hugs! Know that we're thinking of you.
 
Thanks for your support. It's looking more complicated with the discovery of a pleural effusion and a possible infiltrate in the lung, which translates into possible pneumonia or heart failure, more likely the former.
Leaving him in the care of others is especially difficult, but we must trust he is in good hands.
 
Worse than expected. Cassis has cardiomyopathy and congestive heart failure, advanced chronic pancreatitis, and chronic kidney disease, as well as aspiration pneumonia. Seems the fluid we have been giving him for his pancreatitis has overloaded his heart, and either his pills or assisted feedings or both have caused him to aspirate and contaminate his lung. Not surprisingly, euthanasia was recommended, but his mommy is not ready to give up. Wants to find a cardiologist for second opinion. That we will do tomorrow with the fate of a very sick cat depending on us. Don't know how we will manage his insulin when discharged, not to mention all of his other meds. He has been getting regular insulin IV PRN while in the hospital. Doesn't look like his levels have been much better than he was having at home, but of course he hasn't been eating while in the hospital.
 
:bighug: Oh my goodness. I am so sorry to hear that he has multiple issues. You might post on Health listing the kidney + heart + pancreatitis and see if anyone else has dealt with these combinations and might have ideas for you. The wealth of knowledge and people who deal with multiple issue kitties is amazing.

I do know the general advice is to deal with the issues and then give the insulin that is needed. At this point, it is probably best not to worry about remission, just plan to keep him below the renal threshold when possible.

He is lucky to have parents who care so much and are willing to give him a good chance.
 
Oh my! That is a lot going on. I'm so sorry to hear that. I know that's got to be overwhelming for you.

I think a second opinion is a great idea. See if anyone has any ideas on how to deal with things and get him feeling better.

I also like Sue's idea of posting on Health. I've done that several times for just other health issues.

Hugs to you!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top