Questions with dabey on lantus doing curve

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kathy & Dabey

Member Since 2011
Dabey is currently taking 2 units of lantus. Doing a curve today to let vet know and this is what it is so far
9:30 am 202
11:30 am 60
2:00 pm 23

I got scared when I seen that low figure, but he is acting the same and no difference. On my next test, if it is low, he shouldn't get insulin?

Thanks for help
 
23 is way too LOW...you have a kitty going into Hypo!!!! Do you have any high carb canned food in the house? Something in gravy, perhaps? You are going to need to eat and test often right now, you need to get his numbers up and fairly quickly. How long ago did you get that 23?

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
when was the insulin given? thats a pretty big drop between 930 and 1130. 2 units might be too big of a dose for him

definitely give the kitty some food right away if you havent already and test again to make sure his blood sugar is going back up
 
The low score was almost 2 hrs ago, so he just ate some food and I will retest him at 4:00 or so. I think he needs less insulin also.. will be back with scores later. thanks
 
23 is way too low.
With a 23, I would feed high carb food and/or give Karo syrup, and test again in 15 minutes, and repeat that until she comes up to around 70, and then you can go to testing every 30 minutes. Please do this in the future.

The dose you are giving is too high.
 
Ok I just tested him and it was 65. At what score should I give him more insulin? Or shouldn't he get any at all? If he was taking 2 units should I go down to 1 or 1.5 when he needs it..??

thanks
 
Hi Kathy. I'm going to post over in the Lantus forum for some more experienced "eyes" to come over and look in on you.

How many hours has it been since you shot the insulin this morning?

By the way, Dabey is so cute.
 
Kathy & Dabey said:
He is back up to 70. I will keep testing, but at what score would he need to be before giving anymore insulin?

thanks
Hi Kathy. I know you're new to all this. I copied and pasted your post from your other condo here, so that we keep all of the information together in one spot. I want others looking at your posts to see how your day has been so far.

How many hours has it been since the last insulin dose?
 
I'm too new to be giving advice on dosing but don't shoot until we do have an answer. That 23 is just deathly low - can't have Dabey going that low again...period. There's no one online right now that's a Lantus guru but hopefully someone will be along shortly.

What time is your next shot scheduled? (include time zone please)
 
Normally we recommend for someone like you who is just starting out not to shoot below 200. Personally, even if he gets over 200 tonight and he may go sky high because he is going to rebound off that 23 today I wouldn't give him anymore than .5u. 2u is definitely way too high of a dose for him.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Here is a link with a lot of information in it LANTUS & LEVEMIR - NEW TO THE GROUP? PLEASE READ. It is written for newbies to the Lantus forum. There is alot of information here, and it can be overwhelming, so read a bit and ask whatever questions you have, and eventually read it all, if you can.

For right now, I'll try to answer your question the best I can. And hopefully, some others will chime in.
I think, since you have very little data, that you should not shoot insulin unless the BGs are over 150, and even then, you may be advised not to shoot. If you get a test that is over 150, please post first for advice before shooting. And, do not shoot 2 units. It is too high of a dose. The 23 this morning proved that. We usually do a dose reduction if a cat new to Lantus (less than 1 year) has a BG of under 50.
I think, if Dabey's BGs go over 150 and it is advised that you shoot, that you should start over again at 1 unit, and test as much as you can, and please post your numbers. That 23 you wrote about earlier, scared not only you, but a lot of us that read your post. We were all waiting for anxiously for an update.
Also, Lantus is a 12 hour insulin. That means the insulin needs to be given every 12 hours. What I'm trying to get at is, if someone says to go ahead and shoot at 3:00pm, then you will need to know that your next shot will at 3:00am, and then 3:00pm and 3:00am, so consider the timing too, when would be the best shot schedule to work into your life.

I hope that helps you for now. I would advise setting up a spreadsheet and starting to post over in the Lantus forum, as it is usually very busy and active over there, and lots of people experienced using Lantus are there to help you.
:-D

Edited to add link :roll:
 
Hi, Kathy! Quite the low number there today... definitely means that you guys are done at 2u!!

What time did you give the shot this morning? Just want to get a sense of when that low number hit in the cycle. Also, are you using a human meter or an Alphatrak/other pet meter?

We typically seek to intervene once our cats get into the 40s, getting out high carb foods and/or karo syrup to bring the numbers up into at least the 50s, preferably the 60s. A 23 is generally a number that would force us to remind ourselves to breathe! High carb food and karo have different advantages/disadavantages in these types of situations... karo or other sugar syrup will get numbers up very quickly, but will not keep them up for very long. If you're early in the lantus cycle, numbers can continue to drop. High carb food won't work quite as fast, but still pretty quickly (especially if you're primarily giving the gravy), but is a bit more substantial, so the numbers will go up and will stay up a little longer. Monitoring is still critical as the numbers can drop.

With all that out of the way, welcome!! You'll find this place to be a valuable source of information and support... the people here are very generous with their time and knowledge and will help you become a great advocate for dabey's care, and will help you become more self-sufficient in handling the day to day aspects of his diabetes management.

I'd try to get an ear poke maybe a half an hour before your shot time, and post here. I'll do my best to stick around to help provide you some guidance on how to proceed! My cat Willie has been on Lantus since December, so we've got a bit of experience.
 
I'm a little confused. Are there two threads on this topic? Here's the other thread.
Kathy & Dabey said:
talked to Bj and will keep testing tonite but recommends not giving any insulin tonite. will lower dose when he needs insulin. He was 75 at 6:30

thanks to all
It sounds like you decided to skip Dabey's shot. Is that the case?
 
Yes, since so low I didn't give him a shot. will be testing him soon and will let you know. He is his normal self.

I do notice his hair thinning out alot, does anyone know if that is part of diabetes?
 
Sometimes when their numbers have been high for a while, their hair gets kind of unruly, and spikey looking. They'll also get dandriff. When J.D.'s numbers are good, I'll notice a change in his fur. It becomes super soft, and shiney.
Or, Maybe Dabey is just getting ready to shed for his new winter coat.
 
I also posted in the lantus, but just an update on Dabey, he was back up to 244 at 9:30 this evening so I will test him again before bed and in morning before his shot...
 
Kathy & Dabey said:
talked to Bj and will keep testing tonite but recommends not giving any insulin tonite. will lower dose when he needs insulin. He was 75 at 6:30
thanks to all

Just as an FYI folks - I requested she post about our conversation, so it would be on the record. When I saw the low numbers she had posted, I was very concerned and called her to make sure everything was OK, and also to reiterate she should check in here for review of numbers as she got them, so everyone could give feedback. I concurred with the posts I had seen about reducing the dose way down from the 2 units.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top