Here is a link with a lot of information in it
LANTUS & LEVEMIR - NEW TO THE GROUP? PLEASE READ. It is written for newbies to the Lantus forum. There is alot of information here, and it can be overwhelming, so read a bit and ask whatever questions you have, and eventually read it all, if you can.
For right now, I'll try to answer your question the best I can. And hopefully, some others will chime in.
I think, since you have very little data, that you should not shoot insulin unless the BGs are over 150, and even then, you may be advised not to shoot. If you get a test that is over 150,
please post first for advice before shooting. And, do not shoot 2 units. It is too high of a dose. The 23 this morning proved that. We usually do a dose reduction if a cat new to Lantus (less than 1 year) has a BG of under 50.
I think, if Dabey's BGs go over 150 and it is advised that you shoot, that you should start over again at 1 unit, and test as much as you can, and please post your numbers. That 23 you wrote about earlier, scared not only you, but a lot of us that read your post. We were all waiting for anxiously for an update.
Also, Lantus is a 12 hour insulin. That means the insulin needs to be given every 12 hours. What I'm trying to get at is, if someone says to go ahead and shoot at 3:00pm, then you will need to know that your next shot will at 3:00am, and then 3:00pm and 3:00am, so consider the timing too, when would be the best shot schedule to work into your life.
I hope that helps you for now. I would advise setting up a spreadsheet and starting to post over in the Lantus forum, as it is usually very busy and active over there, and lots of people experienced using Lantus are there to help you.
Edited to add link :roll: