Questions re:switcing to Lantus

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kathleen and Fred

Member Since 2009
Hi! I'm working on the ProZinc side, but wondered if someone over here would take a look at Fred's SS to see if we might want to switch to Lantus -- probably not tight regulation. I' not unhappy with ProZinc, but he's been diagnosed for quite a while and I'm just learning to monitor his progress -- my vet recommended testing once a month! Unfortunately, we might have been able to get OTJ is we had worked on it properly in the beginning.

Oh well...here we are now and I want to help Fred the best I can. So, if switching to another insulin is indicated, I may want to know more. There's not much information on his SS for you to go on, so I may have to test a while longer, but some ideas about direction would be helpful. Someone on the PRoZinc side thought it might be a possibility.

Also, I feed wet food, but probably not the lowest carb content. I'll correct that today.

Thanks,
 
Kathleen:

I'm hoping that Carl is around and can offer some input. I've not used Prozinc so it's hard for me to be able to give you feedback regarding whether what Fred's SS looks like is typical for what you'd expect. There are certainly people here who have switched their kitties over to Lantus and they've been happy with the switch.

With tight regulation, we'd be looking to see more numbers below 200. I'm not sure why you wouldn't want to try TR. You are testing more than enough for TR to be feasible.
 
Morning......

I'm no pro but most of the experienced people on here would want to know the exact type of food you are feeding Fred and I looked at your SS and wonder why you are reducing the dose when the testing is high and not in the preferred range to earn a reduction........

In the main forum there is a health topic and in there is Lisa's Food chart.........that shows all the best foods to use (we mostly use Fancy Feast and Friskies) with the carb percentages shown

Others will join in later to offer you more help.

Good luck

Shawna
 
Hello.
Your numbers and dosage look to me like you still have an excellent chance at remission. Each cat is different - as we say around here.

Here's a shortcut list where you can check what you've been feeding and find others.

shortcut shopping list


I hope you'll join us every day in the TR forum.
 
(Couldn't figure out how to do the "quote" thing) but would like to know what you meant by not reducing the dosage until earned. Could you look at the SS again and tell me how you would have administered the insulin. The ProZinc people were advising me not to give too much and cause a low number when wouldn't be around to test during the day.

I'm feeding, Fancy Feast Classic, Sheba, and Friskies shreds. I plan to take the shipping list with me today and start using the lower carb canned food. Thanks for the shopping list!

As far as remission is concerned, I would love to be hopeful, but I thought this would only be possible in early days. He's been diabetic a long time!

Thanks
 
With Lantus, a dose is "earned" if BG numbers drop below 50 in a kitty that's within the first year since diagnosis if you're following TR. If you are using the "Start Low Go Slow" (SLGS) approach, the reduction occurs if numbers drop below 90.
 
The dosing adjustments over the last couple days were an effort to try to help Fred settle down the bouncing a bit. It looks like he was having high flat cycles in response to some low numbers. On the PZI board, we've been trying to help develop a sliding scale for Fred to help him get better cycles, and hopefully, less bouncing. Hence, the differing (and lower) doses over the last few days. :smile:
 
The sliding scale dosing is one of the big differences between Lantus and Prozinc. I'm not in the least be versed in what the best strategy is with Prozinc and I'm very glad there are folks over on the PZI board who are helping out.
 
oh GREAT!! I do have some Fancy Feast Classic, but the rest of my stash is Friskies Filets - are they any better? Guess it's rotisserie chicken until I can get to the store! ohmygod_smile Do you think this food is causing his bounces?
 
it would depend on how carb sensitive he is.

My cat doesn't seem to be.... she eats 8 % and 9% which isn't that different from the old turkey and cheese shreds....
I think what got her were teeth issues and all those treats.... I gave her greenies and friskies, pounce, etc.... almost like dry food.... but way higher in carb values I suspect.


I accidentally grab wrong cans all the time at the grocery store and I just go in and trade for the right ones without a receipt.
You can probably go do the same at one of your local stores... just make an exchange.
 
the fillets listed on that chart are all higher....
that might be enough to make a difference....


Turkey Dinner in Gravy 14%
With Chicken in Gravy 18%
With Beef in Gravy 19 %
Chicken & Tuna in Gravy 18%
With Whitefsh & Tuna in Sauce 18%
With Salmon & Beef in Sauce 19%
 
I wanted to link your last post on the TR forum. I think there are some answers on there to the questions you're asking today. Take a peek and see if it helps some: 2/19 Fred.

Some kitties are carb sensitive enough that a little bit of carb variation makes a difference in their BGs. Some are less so. I'd try to go for the 4-5% and then maybe test to see if the higher carbs increase the BGs.

just want to say welcome again to you and Fred, Kathleen! Glad to have you here.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top